Learning How to Run

in #fitness6 years ago

Last night I challenged myself in a new and wonderful way. I signed up for the Endurance session at Hoosier Athletic Club. This is a win because it was a financial and time commitment I had to save and plan for, and it requires me to be physically scrutinized in a group setting. Part of learning to run is learning to run, which means seeing what my body is doing when I make my running attempts.

It shouldn’t surprise you that I run all wrong--heels first. Last night I received instruction on my foot strike. I’m learning to be lighter on my feet, which immediately translated to 1:18 shaved off my one mile run time.

IMG_0683.jpg

My last one mile run was about two weeks ago. Shifting the the balls of my feet meant I wasn’t knocking my breath out with each step. Which means I had better breathing control. Which meant I could push harder. My run wasn’t perfect or probably even pretty, but it was better. That’s what I’m aiming for: better.

Speaking of which, I’m doing this for asthmatic recovery. I want to delay the onset of attacks and regain my breath more easily when they do happen. I imagined it would all be about fitness. I should know better by now. Fitness includes function. How I move is no small part of my overall fitness.

I’m feeling good and tired. Just how I like it.

Cheers to taking care of ourselves in the best ways possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87