Body Check: How Surfergirls Keep In Shape | Proving The Effectiveness Of Watersports 💪steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

What is your definition of an attractive body?

A lot of women like to be super skinny, but I don't want a child's body. I want a woman's body that is extremely fit. - Ashley Greene

I couldn't agree more, Ashley. Strong is the new skinny!

When girls talk about being in shape, then they often aim to become as tiny as possible. I've really never understood that tendency. To me a healthy body is a strong, vital and energetic body.

Here's to importance of a healthy fitness concept and the magical power of watersports!

@surfermarly keeping in shape through watersports

Staying in shape through watersports

During my yesterday's surf session I had a nice conversation about fitness with one of the other surfers paddling around. That inspired me to write this article.

We both agreed on the effectiveness of watersports. Especially surfing is one of the most integrated sports of all.

When you paddle out into the Ocean in order to catch some waves you will enjoy a great challenging workout no matter how many waves you ride in the end. The moves you excecute will hit your shoulders and your back while trying to jump up on the board. They mainly get at your core and legs (quads, hamstrings, glutes).

While the pros probably burn more with their fancy tricks and big-wave surfing, newbies can count on shredding around 208 calories an hour catching waves. (Source: shape.com)

Now considering that an average surf session might take about 2-3 hours, you can easily burn 600 calories in one afternoon.

That's equivalent to 1.5 donuts with sugar if you need a reference :-)

To prove the effectiveness of surfing, I digged out some pictures from the time when I started. Now comparing them with my latest photographs, the body transformation is really appreciable:

Yet my major success doesn't lie in the fact that I can wear a smaller size now. What really counts is that: I've become much stronger!

Physical strength is one of the core drivers for mental balance.

If you feel healthy, vital and energetic, your overall behaviour will mirror that. That's why trained people tend to show an especially developed self-esteem.

I swear that I'm much more confident now than I was back in 2013.

Sports make you confident and prepare you well for life!

This life requires tough sailors who don't give up when the first heavy storm hits them hard.

That's why I can only recommend everybody to find their favourite type of sports - and then practice it as often as you can.

One of the most important things about sports is surely that you fully enjoy doing it. It doesn't make much sense if you actually don't like to go to the gym but then force yourself to do it anyways.

There is an activity designed for everybody in this world. You only need to find yours.

Stay healthy and strong, steemians!

Hugs & kisses, Marly -


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Quote found on pinterest.com.

Sort:  

Awesome!

Surfing has been for me the only effective "health and strength" program that I've ever been able to find. Every other attempt I've made (jogging, swimming laps, calisthenics) has ultimately failed.

For me, the simple reason is that the fundamental joy of surfing gives it built-in motivation to "get me out there."

Thanks for another great article, Marly! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes, yes, yes! I completely agree my friend :-)

For me, the simple reason is that the fundamental joy of surfing gives it built-in motivation to "get me out there."

It's more than that. It's irresistible. Then you don't even notice that you're doing a workout, because you get lost in your peak experiences and that 'flow'...:-)

Cheers to one of the most beautiful ways of making an effort!

Happy weekend, honey!

Sweetie, you got me going... You inspired me to write a haiku!

"The Joy of Surfing"

Thanks so much, my dear friend, and you have a lovely weekend too! :D

Oh that is too lovely!!! 💙
Have a wonderful weekend, too :-)

surfing combined with some other sports or stretching and yoga is the best for my body. whenever I got no waves to surf for a longer period I go into the gym and I never get in such a good shape like with surfing. it feels like it trains every single muscle in my back and soon as you´re able to actually ride the waves you'll train your whole body.

keep surfing!! 🤙

surfing combined with some other sports or stretching and yoga is the best for my body.

You just reminded me of something! I definitely need to start to do yoga again. It's the very best way to get your body prepared for the moves in the water. I stopped practicing it a couple of years ago, but now I have some issues with my back, so I definitely need to start doing it again. Thanks for the hint :-)

Keep rocking, too!

yoga is so good for your back. especially the shoulders and the lower back need some attention when surfing a lot. forgot to mention a good massage every now and then :)

you´re welcome. ☺️

Yes, you are right 100%! It was amazing for me to compare the pictures of 2013/2017. The improvement is evident. Congrats! There are many kinds of sports that shape the whole body. For me as a runner, I have to train the upper body and the arms separately as to obtain a entire harmonic body shape. But I confess: I like running much more than doing exercises for the rest of my muscles.
At last, dont forget to train your brain muscles ...

Thanks for your lovely words and the congratulations :-)
I've never been a great runner but I truly admire those who run.

At last, dont forget to train your brain muscles ...

Haha, as a steemian you do that 24/7 :-)

Enjoy your weekend!

Up-vote for muscles!

Strong is deffo the new pretty 👌🏽

I hope everyone had a great time yesterday!

2 more sleeps til Portugal 😁

Haha, thanks for supporting the muscles :-)
We had a blast yesterday. If there hadn't been these nasty African winds, it would have been even nicer. But in the water it was really great!

For me it's 3 more sleeps :-) See you on Wednesday evening for welcome drinks!

I would love to learn how to surf. I need to move to a place with warmer water and waves first though :)

That's equivalent to 1.5 donuts with sugar if you need a reference :-)

I got a good laugh out of this! You really do love your doughnuts don't you. Hopefully the store you get them from reads your other article and they're making that process for you to get them more efficient.

Enjoy your Sunday!

and kudos for launching the new charity, very cool and inspiring!

You really do love your doughnuts don't you.

Everything in life can be measured with doughnuts, haha!
I'm kidding. But it's almost an addiction I guess...:-)

I would love to learn how to surf. I need to move to a place with warmer water and waves first though :)

To me surfing in cold water is not too much fun either. I'd always prefer the warm spots an wearing short suits.

and kudos for launching the new charity, very cool and inspiring!

Thank you!!! Stay tuned for the making of video which I will present at steemfest :-) Link to the life stream: https://www.youtube.com/steemfest/videos?view=2&flow=grid

See ya around!

@surfermarly - You are absolutely right. I personally never appreciated the 'size 0' figure promoted by Super models. I always thought they looked emancipated and unhealthy rather than looking attractive. A fit body is always beautiful
You look great and obviously are very fit. Steem on & Surf on!!

Upvoted.

Hey - by the way, I mentioned you in my funny Sci-Fi post as one of the brand ambassadors of my company. (It is a scenario when I open a factory on moon and have a panel of expert advisors). I realize that I did it without seeking your permission. My apologies. Please let me know if it is Ok or I should remove the reference. Thanks

Regards,

@vm2904

I personally never appreciated the 'size 0' figure promoted by Super models. I always thought they looked emancipated and unhealthy rather than looking attractive.

Size Zero wouldn't match with my doughnut addiction, so it's never been an option to me, lol!

Thanks for the mention, I had no time to read it yet. But will do that later. Am finishing my steemfest presentation right now :-)

See you around!

Have always enjoyed swimming. Don't always have good access to a pool, but it works for the muscles. Strong wins every time. The surfboard and I don't get along very well. Lol🐓🐓

Haha, it doesn't have to be a surfboard. Swimming is also GREAT. I'm not very good at long distance endurance sports like running, swimming, etc. I'm rather the action and adventure sportswoman. But as mentioned in the article: there is an activity for everybody :-)

Thanks for stopping by and sharing yours!

Some things. Really nice. Keep it up. Have a great day enjoy steemit

I find girls who regularly surf so attractive, whatever their body shape! I think its a combination of what you say about strength and tone and also that deeper love and appreciation for the ocean, now that is sexy as hell :D

Hahaha, thanks for the compliment :-)
The moment when a wave hits you hard you don't look THAT sexy, but I agree on the rest! :-D

Health is wealth,wonderful post,very good job,thanks for great sharing
I appreciate your post,Thanks

"Health is wealth". Nicely said :-)
I fully agree on this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16