DO NOT BE AFRAID, GOD IS WITH YOU

in #flaminghelpers6 years ago

Recently, during one of my readings, the author of the book came to ask the following question: "Do we know the command most often given by Jesus? ". Burning with desire to know the answer, I took the time to think for a moment before reading the answer, because I had never asked the question. I was thinking of a commandment about love such as "love the Lord your God with all your heart" or "love your neighbor as yourself". But the answer was not this one. The Lord gave many commandments, but he repeated it more often than any other: "Do not be afraid."


My first reaction was to remind myself that the phrase "Do not be afraid" is a commandment that Jesus gives us. And like all other commandments, it is not optional.

Fear is one of the first consequences of the fall. In Genesis 3v10, only 3 verses after the man and woman have eaten the fruit of the tree and transgressed the order of God, Adam expresses to God a feeling he feels for the first time in his life: " I heard your voice in the garden and I was scared. We, for our part, are familiar with this feeling which is an integral part of the life of every man and woman and affects all areas of lives: school, professional, relationship, sentimental, family, and sometimes even the spiritual field. Surely the will of God in creating man and woman was not that they experience such a feeling of fear that, if not channeled, can lead to inhibiting or even devastating effects.

Fear, anxiety are among the negative emotional consequences of falling. That is why the Lord Jesus has so often given us this word full of tenderness and love, "do not be afraid", and which was the subject of great comfort for so many people of his time but also through the centuries. If Jesus has said these words so many times, it is because He knows how anxious we are. But his word reassures us and soothes us.

Moreover, this word reassures us, not only because we must not fear, but because we can have full confidence in the one who tells us not to fear. Indeed, if Jesus commanded us not to fear, he also asked us to believe, Mark 6v36: "Do not be afraid, just believe". If fear dominates our life, faith does not dominate it. But if faith dominates our life, then fear will not dominate it and its hold on our life will cease.

" THE BIBLE ALSO TELLS US: "DO NOT WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING, BUT IN ALL THINGS MAKE YOUR NEEDS KNOWN TO GOD BY PRAYERS AND SUPPLICATIONS, IN AN ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE. AND THE PEACE OF GOD, WHICH GOES BEYOND ALL THAT CAN BE UNDERSTOOD, WILL KEEP YOUR HEARTS AND YOUR THOUGHTS IN JESUS CHRIST "PHILIPPIANS 4V6-7. HERE IS GOD'S REMEDY FOR OUR FEARS AND FEARS: TO MAKE HIM KNOWN."

When did we take the last time to truly make God aware of our needs, our fears? When did we last pour out our hearts before Him for such a situation? When did we beg for a situation that seemed impossible to us? If we take the time to do it today, the promise of God is there for each of us: the peace of God will keep our hearts and our thoughts in Jesus Christ. What promise. What calm than in our thoughts. And what a rest for our soul.

A prayer for today: Lord, you see this situation, this difficulty that for too long has created in me this fear and anxiety. Fear has dominated me too long. I desire your Lord's rest. I give you what makes me captive, which invades my thoughts, and now I want to receive what is due to me because you promised it to me in your love: your peace, the peace of God who keeps my heart and My minds. Amen.

Thanks for reading.
Remain blessed.
Shalom.

Image by Geralt on Pixabay


A Selfless Service! @Altruisticbot. Join Us On Discord Today


Support @godwaves. God-Waves-Christian-Network on Discord


Support @christian-trail


FlamingHelpers-7.jpg


itestify banner.jpg A support project for those that testify in the christian community.

seyiodus.png

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 17.09% upvote!
I was summoned by @seyiodus. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22