Flashback Friday Fotos - even more pics from my mother's side of the family

in #flashbackfriday5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Flashback Friday Fotos - even more pics from my mother's side of the family


I've moved my content from this centralized platform to the truly decentralized (and wicked awesomesauce) #Hive community. Feel free to follow me there. #CantBuyCommunity #StealingIsBad #JustinSunForPrison2020

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You have a good looking family!
Your mom was so cute as a young girl!
Was it just your mom and her sister as kids in that family?
So much fun looking back at old photos!
Thanks for sharing!

Yes, it was just my mom and her sister, and all these years later, they're still very close. You're welcome, and thank so much in return, @porters!

Old photos are treasures. Your mother is very beautiful and her portrait photo has a certain kind of glow.

Thanks, @watersnake101! I'm a tad bit biased, but I agree about my mother's glow. And I'm so happy I came up with an excuse to go through my treasure trove. 😊

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thanks, as always, @miti!

Hey, I've been meaning to do this every since I saw your first comment with, "Let's make STEEM great again!" I made two versions, and please feel free to use them if they strike your fancy. 😊
 
 
Make Steem Great Again.gif
 
 
Make Steem Great Again with Steem Icon.gif

Wow, thanks Traci!!!! I'll definitely put them in my new posts! ;-)

You're very welcome, @miti! Glad you like them! 😊

Sure! They are already in my daily posts :D

@traciyork

These are wonderful photos and I am so glad you are doing this while some of the people in them are still alive. After my mom died, we found lots of photos but my Dad (as men often can't) couldn't remember or didn't know who was in some of those photos - and 11 months later he was gone. Nothing was written on the back. That was nearly 20 years ago, and became obsessed with writing on the back of photos, who was in them, when, where, etc. they were taken.

Then came digital and I ended up, because there seemed to be two kodak folders on the computer, deleting a whack of photos including of my one and only visit to Manhattan.... It's one of the things I really like about Facebook and the cloud.

That said, I do love these old memories and must do some more, myself. Thanks for these, and I look forward to the next batch.

Thanks, @fionasfavourites! I've been meaning to do this for years, but I kept putting it off until I got a better scanner/computer/editing software. Then recently, I decided enough was enough and I should just do it!

I thought my Nana was writing on the backs of photos, but at the moment, I'm not finding many with her handwriting. I've found a few that no one seems to know the story behind - including one that looks like she was posing, with some other women, for an ad for a local clothing store!

And yes, I will concede that FB is cool when it comes to the photo thing. And I hear you on the loss of digital photos - I did something similar around 2007, only I was trying to move folders of photos between computers, and hit "cut" instead of "copy" and lost so many pictures of the kids when they were little. It's heartbreaking when it happens, but I try to remind myself that in the end, it's only stuff. Sometimes I even believe it...😜 💜

hit "cut" instead of "copy" and lost so many pictures of the kids when they were little. It's heartbreaking

Heartbreaking. Yes and no-one to blame but one's self.

Yeppers, which makes it so much worse - I already yell at myself enough for mistakes like this, so it would be nice to have someone else to yell at, for a change of pace... 😉 😂

🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83