The Mouse

I have been struggling recently, my mind as slow and unmotivated as molasses. This is distressing to me! Pinpointing why I feel this way has so far proven to be impossible, but I have a feeling deep in my belly that if I could just write something I would feel better. My mind would be sharper.

My usual long form writing has been daunting to me and as I cast my mind around for inspiration it came to me. Following the 99-word flash-fiction prompt Charli puts up every week at the Carrot Ranch Literary Community is just the thing! Without further ado, I give you “Mouse.”



Photo by Ryan Stone on Unsplash

Fast as lightning, she wasn’t even sure what she had seen!

There it was again, a little brown mouse running across the kitchen. Running away from her room.

How should she react? Women in the movies jumped up on things and lifted their skirts.

She was wearing her favorite purple nightgown, clearly dressed for the occasion.

She jumped up on to the couch, lifted her nightgown daintily, and gave a little shriek.

“It’s okay, Genevieve,” Dad said, sighing a little bit. “It’s only a mouse.”

The wind taken out of her sails, Genevieve sat down, quiet as a mouse.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2019/03/12/the-mouse/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85