Sort:  

"So it's little wonder that the flat-earthers, who maintain that the Earth is not moving, try to discredit the experiment. There are tons of YouTube videos taking on the subject with fervor and their explanations may sound convincing to the uninformed, but they are either half-truths misrepresenting the facts or out-and-out malarkey"

https://www.quora.com/How-do-flat-Earthers-explain-the-Foucault-pendulum

All red herrings should be respected for the distraction they are intended to be. Testimony is not evidence. So what is the causal link that provides the evidence that the Foucault Pendulum experiment, when setup and performed correctly, demonstrates the rotation the Earth by swinging a weight in a fixed plane of oscillation while the Earth slowly rotates under it.
The only answer I ever got was "What else could it be", which I note is not a causal link.

I don't know what shape the earth is.

I don't believe in using the associates of the systemic liar's as proof of anything.

One of those experiments I haven't gotten around to doing for myself is Foucault Pendulum experiment.

I will say this to @dwinblood whom I have a deep respect for. In the past I made the mistake of using the claims from the systemic liar's and there associates. The result has been enough egg on my face to feed thousands of people scrambled eggs for breakfast. In the last ten year's I have not once had scrambled eggs. Maybe I am wrong to think that is because I, have not listened at all to the systemic liar's or their associates. Then again maybe I am not.

I am always looking out for experiments that I can do to prove what shape the earth is. Haven't found one in two years of looking. This doesn't mean the Earth is Flat. What it means is I don't know.

The Flat earth fantasy, it doesn't deserve to be called a 'theory', is beyond stupid.
Ancient sailors knew better...and by ancient I mean thousands and thousands of years ago.

The gravity caused by mass fantasy, it doesn't deserve to be called a 'theory', is beyond stupid.
Ancient Tibetans knew better... and by ancient I mean thousands and thousands of years ago, they had books that were thousands of years old on the subject.

I know it is the modern sport to deride opposing theories as stupid and unthinkable,
however, it will come to pass, probably in less than two generations, that the ENTIRE modern science book will be thrown out. It will be so bad as not to be even considered a good joke.

So, remember this when you poke fun at people questioning things.
And the flat-earth people have some good questions.

I'm an Electric Universe Heretic myself.

I'm a flat moon guy.

Flat in the minds of the Earth Flats is like what? If the Earth is flat and thin as a dish. Why are there mountains? During this time, the mountain structure believes that lava is the magma fluid that comes out of the magma chamber, near the Earth's core. Should the Earth form is not flat? Instead box, or round?

Those are some of the mysteries of flat earth that can counteract the understanding of flat earth which is often the subject of debate. Arguing such a thing is very difficult, because the opinion giver also has a strong reason to support his opinion. However. the Earth Flat theory will still be considered psudoscience, as long as the End of the Earth is never found!

This is pretty much saying, that tides prove the flat-earth theory wrong.
Both theories have an explanation for this phenomena.

Really? What is the Flat Earth theory for Focault's Pendulum?

The same as the coriolis effect.
The moon and sun are much closer, like 3000 miles, and their paths cause these rotational effects

I suppose not...

All red herrings should be respected for what they are.

@martinmcfly Bet your one of those guys who think 2 2 = 4

Or that 10 x 96120 can be math.

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 200+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 8

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

So this topic is still around, huh?

Quite interesting how hard it sticks around even to this day.

My favourite heresy is the Electric Universe Theory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83