Flood in My New Neighborhood + Little Story You Would Definitely Want to Know.

in #flood6 years ago

Good day to all Steeming and I wish you're reading this in good health.

It rained in the early hours of yesterday morning throughout 3am to 8:30am here in Douala, Economic capital of Cameroon. I took it as an advantage to sit back and write up my post of yesterday without anyone disturbing me to maybe do some chores.

Later at about 10am when the rain had stopped, I went out to buy things that we needed for breakfast. On my way, I realized about one-third of my journey will be in water.

Water had flooded and entered all the houses in this area. This is a picture of the main road that I was to take:

The situation is much clearer looking behind me.

I couldn't bare but take a picture which was for the sake of my WhatsApp status but it's not great deal sharing it here!.

PS. check out the logo on my T-shirt. Not Steem but looks Steem! 😃

BTW, I didn't continue my journey and I came back and narrated the story to our neighbours. They all laughed at me and told me I went there very late when the water had lowered. Then they told me a little story about that area:

Little Story

During days of heavy rainfalls in Douala, water that enters these houses goes above their window level and most times it washes away some of the properties of these inhabitants.

Also, Parents buy bags for each their children between the age of 0 to 12 years. When it's rainy and the water levels in their homes start increasing, each child enters his/her and is hung on the wall like a furniture but very close to the roof. The Parents and older children stand on chairs and tables and for houses with ceilings, it's much better as the entire family relocate to the ceiling.

I felt bad knowing this but I felt luck at one point that I wasn't born in this area to experience what these inhabitants are going through because they're humans like me.

I had never seen this before but it's a good experience and one of the many reasons that I like travelling or tourism.

Thank you for your time!

Wish you a great day!

written by @akomoajong with love for Steem.

Thanks to support by @shortcut @bleepcoin @leeuw @jennimorillo

My Affiliate Area

  1. Join this steemit community with over 18,000 members to make friends and get upvotes: Join here

  2. Register and trade your cryptocurrencies with Binance, the number one ranked Cryptocurrency exchange in the world: Visit Website

  3. Seven (7) Coinpot Cryptocurrency Faucets

@akomoajong 13/10/2018

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Douala does have a lot of flood issues. There’s plenty of water aroun the city and I’m not suprised that this happens whe it rains. There’s a need for a proper drainage system in Douala.

Absolutely!, thanks for stopping by . . .

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there my friend. I ivite you to join weku.

Weku is a decentralised social media platfor that uses steemit user interface.

Simply put a steemit clone.

The platform is still new and people are joining everyday so they profit from the early times of weku.

In 2019 their token will release and hopefuly it will be succesful.

We have seen what happened with steem so this can be a good opportunity.

Follow my referral link and lock in your account now.

https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=helamia

It takes less then 2 minutes to sign up.

Stock in traffic at the moment, will check it out later. Thanks for the info my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @helamia I've checked out the site from a review. It looks more a fork of Steemit and there are many of such platforms like whaleshares, scorum and smoke.

Most of the token offered by these platforms including yours above don't yet have any market.

Also, a fork like we all know, Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin gold, Bitcoin diamond etc could've have never been better than bitcoin. In fact, they're all dead!

Posted using Partiko Android

Friend, how are you? In truth it is a sad story that in the rainy season many families are threatened and they may even lose their homes, your shirt looks very good.

Thank you for your support, @leeuw where is it? Hahaha

Thank you too . . .

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, it's Mongolia! I win 1 STEEM please! ha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello, what's up? how are you?

Hi! I noticed you still have steemauto set at the 30 min mark. You should consider changing your settings to 15mins because one of the changes brought by HF20 is reducing the interval for max curation reward to 15mins.

Posted using Partiko Android

It would not make any difference or would it?

Posted using Partiko Android

It should! 😉 I see a lot difference in my curation rewards from autovotes as many haven't changed their settings. It feels good to be having an edge over others, It somehow means a lot to me . . .

Posted using Partiko Android

BTW, I wish you would help me with 0.002Steem so I complete a discord bot registration. I had powered up and never saw this need for steem coming 😞

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks you! 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @akomoajong! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34