The dentist said that if my children didn't use fluoridated toothpaste they risked tooth damage and multiple dentist visits.

in #fluoride5 years ago (edited)

image.png

I blogged a month or two ago about how my girlfriend took our children to the dentist and was treated rudely and accused of poor parenting because one of them needed a filling. They went back today so my son could get said filling (from a different dentist) and at the end of the procedure, the dentist added some sort of fluoride solution to the tooth in question and this prompted my girlfriend to tell him that we didn't use fluoridated toothpaste.

The dentist responded by telling her that although fluoride was a neurotoxin, the levels in toothpaste were so low that the children were at no risk from it and any possible cons were outweighed by the benefits. He then went on to say that if they didn't start using fluoridated toothpaste they would likely face a lot more trips to the dentist due to weak teeth and might risk losing their adult teeth in the future.

I was unable to attend the appointment but I just received a call in work from my girlfriend asking whether we should reconsider our decision to use fluoride free toothpaste for the sake of the children.

As a result, instead of spending an hour at the allotment this afternoon while my girlfriend is at work I will be scouring the internet to try to convince my girlfriend that our children do not need to be using fluoridated toothpaste (or maybe convincing myself that they do ;-)

I have read quite a bit about fluoride and know about its industrial waste origins and ever since I discovered that it was a neurotoxin linked to lower IQ, I and by extension, my children stopped using it. The water from our taps is not fluoridated and perhaps it is the fact that many people's water supply is and the combination of fluoride in toothpaste along with the water is the problem, but I really don't want to switch back to fluoridated toothpaste.

What do you think?

Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated on this matter

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Dont do it. Did you know teeth can actually repair cavities themselves. Something dentist say is not possible. Your saliva delivers nutrients to your teeth and you can even aid it with more beneficial nutrients and minerals. Check the last item on this list. Its a recipe for remineralizing tooth paste. https://brightside.me/inspiration-health/8-simple-ways-to-naturally-reverse-cavities-and-heal-tooth-decay-444110/

You can also use all natural tooth brushes. Make sure the type of root or twig you use is high in minerals like calcium and other beneficial nutrients. https://www.making-healthy-choices.com/natural-toothbrush.html

I didn't know teeth could repair themselves but I will look into it and also the other links you send. I really appreciate you taking the time to read and reply with such useful info.

This is the best video on this topic I have seen for this kind of circumstance:

You can also search the 1000s of studies at http://fluoridealert.org for more info. :/

Thanks for that. I am going to sit down this weekend and do a bit of research into this and try to include the children. I watched about 15 mins of the video so far and it talked about water fluoridation. Luckily South West Water doesn't add any to my supply which makes me wonder if giving my children fluoridated toothpaste might not be so bad. I don't want to but my girlfriend keeps saying about it.

Thanks for taking the time to reply with such useful info. Much appreciated.

No problem. Fluoride exposure and intoxication is cumulative, meaning that regular low exposure becomes a big problem over time. The fluoride levels in toothpaste and particularly mouthwash are HUGE in comparison to water levels. Fluoride is absorbed through the skin and soft tissues, so any exposure can be an issue. The water board in Essex, where I used to live, informed me that 'we don't add fluoride, so if you find any in there it was added by the government!' - which was their way of getting out of liability for it being in the water. I have a digital water meter that measures fluoride and found the levels there to be higher than the WHO recommended guidelines (which themselves were lowered later and which many scientists say are still too high). In short, we need a lot more awareness of this topic, it is a minefield. Note: the 'fluoride' added to water and toothpate is not actually natural fluoride, it is a toxic by-product of the phosphate mining industry.

Educate, educate, educate. Watch videos and read materials together. Don't tell them what to think, present the evidence. Encourage them to do their own searches. This is a great moment to teach critical thinking.

My eldest son has decided he wants to use fluoride now. He's 14. I let him. The youngest two we don't allow. When they get a bit older they can make their own decision on it. We've watched a lot of vids and they are fully informed on the dark side of sodium fluoride. They also know what popular culture (in North America) thinks of the stuff. Give us more!! LOL!!!

It baffles me that they are even allowed to pour that shit into our water.

Thanks for the great advice Lynds. I've started to look into it a bit myself and this weekend I'm going to get the kids involved. It seems to me that rather than having to put poisons into my kids body to stop their teeth from getting damaged I should be looking at what they are eating. We really don't allow them to eat many sweets or foods that damage the teeth but one thing I have noticed with my son is that when he does eat candy/sweets (do they say candy in Canada?) he keeps them in his mouth for ages which is obviously not a great thing to do for tooth health. I spoke to him about it yesterday so hopefully, he will change his behaviour.

Thanks again for taking the time to read and comment x

Yes, it is candy here. I know no matter what you'll be able to come to a good decision that everyone can be happy with. Love you Jim, it's tough to be awake in this world... :'(

Thanks again Lynds. It really is tough, especially working for a government agency as I do. I am surrounded by believers and some of them don't take too kindly to my views on certain topics. I'm still surprised how offended people get when you insult the Royal family for instance. The brainwashing goes deep !!!

Peace and love x

Would be so frustrating...

Makes me appreciate my little bubble all the more. Yet, I need to get out more and reach the masses. You're doing good work. You are needed. Please, keep that shit up! And then vent to me/us anytime in the truth room!! <3 Or DM me!

Your homestead bubble looks/sounds awesome. I'd love to do the same and perhaps one day in the not too distant future I will find the balls to just take the plunge and do something different instead of sticking to the easy path. Ideally, we'd like to take the kids on an extended travelling trip so they can see for themselves that life/society doesn't have to be the way it is in the UK.

I had quite a good discussion this morning in the tea room this morning with a few colleagues after someone uttered the classic words "Why don't you just forget about it all and get on with your life". I spoke without pause for about 15 mins explaining why I couldn't just "forget about it".

You might regret extending the venting invitation. Be prepared for a wall of text in your DMs in the not too distant future ;-)

Thanks again for your support.

x

The only way, and I mean the only way I've gotten through the last 11 years since 'waking up', is community. I immediately started forming online communities with others interested in the same things as me. We lean on each other. We fucking need each other. Venting? Dude. Let er rip. I can handle it and am pretty much an expert at being cool with righteous rage.

Been there seen it and done it. They gave me a hard time back in Ontario..I said it is ok...I will not argue with you, I will find another dentist. I did not rant and rage. They do not understand. In the end they quietly relented and I stayed with the same dentist. Fortunately Ontario has many natural alternative dentists. However, I did not have to find one. I lucked out on that one. Knowing my dentist well, ranting would not had worked, so I used the soft approach in that instance. ..good luck...you can only prove your point out well, if you stay with the same dentist and they relent and your kids do not have cavities. they you have really won. I say also go armed with data. sadly in Europe fluoride is a carcinogenic. they do we use it.

Please see, The Fluoride deception.

Thanks for taking the time to read/reply. I will check out the video you linked. Currently, I still live in a fluoride free toothpaste house ;-)

Stick to your guns and avoid it at all costs.

Thanks for taking the time to read/reply. Currently, I am sticking to my guns but I am under pressure. Going to look into it all this weekend and include the kids but right now I have no intention of getting my kids to use fluoride toothpaste.

I think I told you on your last post that my dentist advises and I'll quote "not to wash all that lovely fluoride of your teeth" I was back there a couple of weeks ago (nothing to do with not using fluoride lol) and now on the wall is a big sign advising "Do not rinse your mouth after washing with fluoride" WTF!?

I was reading something in a reply to my post about how much fluoride is contained in standard mouthwash/toothpaste compared to the levels they put in the water. The stuff they use in the dentist probably contains even more. Encouraging patients to leave a known neurotoxin and poison in our mouths for as long as possible to get the maximum benefits from it !! Give me a break.

I'm still looking into the subject and have been given a lot of information as a result of my post by those replying, but right now, I have no intention of going back to fluoridated toothpaste but will be keeping a closer eye on what my kids eat and how they eat it (my son has a habit of keeping food in his mouth for ages and when you do it with sweets, obviously it's not good).

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Take it easy

Jim

I think that dentist's I.Q. Has been lowered by the fluoride. Fuck that dentist!

Ha ha. Nice reply. I suspect you might be right. Fuck that dentist indeed !!!

I'm still looking into the topic but right now, fluoride free toothpaste will continue to be used.

Thanks for taking the time.

Wise choice. Do your own research. Never take the word of either side of the argument.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jimbobbill from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)
Relevance: Sharing the truth.

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 10,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72