Cedric

in #flying6 years ago (edited)

PiperCWInstalled copy.png

CEDRIC

The first time I flew
a plane I was
five
and yes
there were two
sets of controls
linked together

My parents in the back
us pilots in the front
of this sea plane
landing in the waters
of what would become
our first home

The second time
I flew a plane
I was twenty-four
and it fell into my lap
a trip to the airport
asking questions led
to flying a plane

Cedric took off
and handed it over to me
I flew over Holyrood
along Witless Bay Line
up the Atlantic coastline
to the most easterly point
in North America
Cape Spear
then over Signal Hill
and Cabot Tower

Finally relinquishing
the controls
the power
the dream
to the gracious Cedric
but something had changed
I had reached something of
a dual elevation
that day

Upon landing
I grabbed the wheel
of my 1986 RX-7
and pushed buttons
and flipped switches
like the controls
I still felt in my hands
waiting for the word
from the tower to
take off
home to exerubertantly
proclaim my future

Weeks later
at a party
I latently overheard
a conversation
about an amazing flight
pilots discussing their favourite trips
one relayed a story of a date and time
and how natural this
passenger become pilot
had been
a true natural
were the words he used

He was talking about me
I never felt so proud
I was never so shocked in my life
there was never a doubt in my mind
from that point on
what my passion was to be

But like the Great Auk
the legend that was
I too, never flew again

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM - UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @doghaus

© Doghaus
13 June 2018

I own all rights to the text in this post.

Image https://goo.gl/images/H8YHCp

Honestly,
Doghaus

Sort:  

It is never too late to take it up! I love hot air balloons and gliders. So very peaceful without the sounds of the engine...

I tell my kids that the only exam or test I'll ever do will be my pilots license @cecicastor!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Doghaus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89