Follows - Why I Don't Follow 1000+ Accounts

in #follows6 years ago


dtube divider small.png

If you've been on social media for a while, then you understand what it means to follow someone. That account will show up in your feed with the latest status updates or blog post that you can interact with. Consider this post my follow philosophy if you will.

What I see on Steem, as I also see on other social sites, is when certain users decide to follow 1,000 or more accounts like it is some sort of race to see who can follow the most accounts in the shortest amount of time. I'll get notified on @ginabot via Discord, that I have a new follower, only to see that this account has followed 10,000+ accounts in the past 3 days.

It is my understanding that many of these accounts only follow other others so that they can get a follow back, therefore boosting their number of followers. I do not agree with this style of following because it isn't genuine and it's almost like these accounts are gaming the system and not actually spending time building real relationships with other users.

I will not subscribe to that follow method because it isn't genuine, but also because I don't want my feed cluttered up with nonsense. By nonsense I mean posts that have no real value or have no purpose behind them.

So the question now is...what is my follow philosophy? I'll tell you.

I like to keep my follower count on the low side. Currently I am following 76 users on Steem which will fluctuate up and down as the months go by. I enjoy building strong relationships with people I follow and it is easier for me to do that with a smaller group.

follow.jpg

I also like that my feed is clean and full of relevant content that I enjoy interacting with. @coruscate, @artbyclark, @hauptmann, @mrchef111, @chrisrice, @steemcafe, @larrymorrison, @ogc, @scottshots, @thehoneys, @eventspeaker, @brettcalloway, and @crypto.talk are examples of accounts that I find value and true friendship in.

Also, if an account has not posted in over 2 months time, then I will unfollow that account because I want to follow people who are committed and consistent. I want to follow people who have heart and who are going to stick around long-term.

A majority of the people I follow on Steem are people whom I have a deep connection with such as the accounts listed above. I met many of those Steemians face to face at the Steem Creators Conference last April and we have been friends ever since.

Am I not following you yet? Please don't take it personally. Like I mentioned, I like to keep my follow list on the small side so that I can really pour into those relationships. Will I some day follow more than a hundred accounts? Most likely.

Keep in mind, this is my follow philosophy, meaning that my approach may or may not line up with yours. I'd like to hear your thoughts below regarding this topic. Do you like to keep your follow count low or do you not even care about that aspect of social media.

After the Toronto Steem event next month, I can almost guarantee that my follow list will grow because I will be coming into direct contact with other like-minded individuals who share the same passion for Steem as I do. Thank you for reading my friend. Hope you have an amazing day :)

kenmelendezdivider.png

kenmelendezgifresized.gif

-Ken

P.S. Meet me in person at the Steem Creators Conference and SMT Summit next month.


Recent Posts You May Enjoy

green.png How Many Words Should I Put In My Blog Posts
green.png Steem - An Endless Stream of Creativity
green.png Coffee and Crypto Show Reveal and Steem Monsters Giveaway
green.png Being Your True Self and Ignoring the Naysayers
green.png SteemAuto - An Easy Way to Automate Your Curation Efforts
green.png DTube Tutorials - Adjust Your Voting Weight with Just a Few Clicks
green.png Epidemic Sound - Enhance Your Video Content with Audio Tracks

Looking to take your Steem experience to the next level? Join other Steemians live for one of the biggest events of the year...Steem Creators Conference and SMT Summit taking place September 5-8, 2018. Grab your spot while you still can.

https://steemcreators.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great info once again Ken! Yeah, the amount of people I follow has always been a struggle for me on social medias. I like to follow people back. As my feed grows, it becomes more difficult to read or watch everything. Been trying to keep it reasonable on steem. Glad I made the cut, haha! I always enjoy your posts too!

Yeah man, I connect with you on a deep level. You are a very down to earth person who truly cares about others. Glad you are my friend 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Ken, glad we met at the creator's conference and that you're my friend as well. Have a great day!

Good day! Getting so many followers is difficult, but it does not matter the quantity but the quality.
Many as you say follow many to have a few followers, and often have no idea who they are, I do not see the logic.

Quality over quantity! Absolutely @anasuleidy 🙌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Following many people has it's advantages. If you follow many people and you support them consistently, you might get many support on your post too. It is not certain though.

I see where you’re coming from @yaanivapeji. I need to protect my time that I’m spending each day as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah it’s a must for social media. if you want to use it to engage and interact with your followers you have to actually have some kind of relationship.

and i know i can’t keep up with 10000 people lol i barely can keep up with my own life.

keep the counts low and interact with those you do follow. can’t beat that game plan!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely! Haha I hear you on that one Jon. And yes, relationship is key 👊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

My philosophy is similar to yours @kenmelendez but I don't mind following people that only post once in a while.


If I like their posts, I'll be there to comment and upvote, even if they are absent for 3 to 6 months.

Right on brother. Your attention is valuable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29