ADSactly Food - ๐Ÿ’œ Homemade Granola and The Origin of Breakfast ๐Ÿ’œ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

cover.jpg

Breakfast is known as the most important meal of the day across the world. In this week's Adsactly Foodie Post, I'll explore the origin of breakfast, different variations across the world, and of course, my recipe for my Homemade Honey and Almond Granola.

01.jpg

From Wikipedia:

The Old English word for dinner, disner, means to break a fast, and was the first meal eaten in the day until its meaning shifted in the mid-13th century. It was not until the 15th century that โ€œbreakfastโ€ came into use in written English to describe a morning meal, which literally means to break the fasting period of the prior night; in Old English the term was morgenmete meaning "morning meal."

I personally LOVE breakfast, and really like to cook up different dishes every Sunday. Some of my favourites include creamy scrambled eggs on rye with chives, Eggs Benedict with Salmon, and pancakes with bacon,
strawberries and maple syrup. Those are very much weekend breakfasts
though, and during the week I will stick to my Overnight Oats or this here Granola recipe.


Across Northern Africa, different types of flatbreads are eaten with beans, tahini (Egypt), and baba ganoush (Israel). In places like Senegal and Somalia, spiced teas and coffees are favoured to start the day. I love Shakshuka, a traditional North African breakfast dish, which has its roots in Israel. Eggs baked in a spicy tomato mixture, served with lovely fresh bread.

Shakshuka new 2.jpg

source

In China, steamed buns, pancakes and porridges are served, often accompanied by a noodle soup and tea. I've always wanted to try Congee, a Chinese breakfast porridge, slow cooked, and made from rice, often including a thousand year old egg. I am not entirely sure if I could try the century old egg, but I like to think I will give everything a try at least once!

congee.jpg

source

Then, of course, how could I write a breakfast post without mentioning the good ol' English Breakfast. Beef sausages, bacon, eggs, beans, toast and a fried tomato, and even sometimes fried mushrooms too. Commonly acknowledged as the best hangover cure, the English are known for a proper fry up. I, personally, cannot handle such a huge breakfast, so will choose either bacon and eggs, or beans and eggs. Them English certainly do know how to clog the arteries.

english breakfast.jpg

source

And, how could I even mention breakfast without accolading our American friends? Cornflakes, griddled pancakes with bacon, breakfast burritos, nu-wave Cali smoothie bowls, and New Yorker bagels with lox. We have our friend Dr John Harvey Kellogg to thank for inventing first granola, and then the famed Corn Flakes.

lox bagel.jpg

source

Today I am going to show you how to make my favourite honey and almond granola. It is super simple and tasty AF. I make it every Sunday for the coming week. The cinnamony fragrance wafts through my apartment while I sip my Rooibos tea and read my book, telling me to take it slowly. AAAHHHH, Sundaze.


INGREDIENTS

  • 4 cups oats
  • 3/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/4 cup chopped pumpkin seeds
  • 1 T linseeds
  • 3/4 cup whole almonds
  • 1/4 cup whole pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup coconut shavings
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t salt
  • 3 T butter
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 t vanilla essence

METHOD

Preheat your oven to 325'F/165'C. Lay a greased sheet of baking paper onto a baking tray.
Combine the chopped nuts, seeds, oats, coconut shavings, cinnamon and salt in a large mixing bowl.

02.jpeg

In a small saucepan, heat the butter, honey, oil and sugar until the sugar dissolves and this mixture starts to boil. Add your vanilla essence and give the mixture a stirring.

03.GIF

Add the mixture, bit by bit, and mix evenly, ensuring all dry ingredients are covered with the honey mixture.

04.GIF

Lay the mixture on the baking sheet, spreading it evenly.

05.jpeg

Bake for twenty-five minutes, tossing twice. The mixture will seem wet still when you take it out of the oven, this is the way it is supposed to be - don't be tempted to bake further. It will dry out within half an hour of being removed.

06.jpeg

Once your mixture has rested and is nice and crumbly, you can move it to it's storage jar.

11.jpeg

This granola is so versatile and can be used in a quite a few ways. I serve with plain yoghurt and fruit, or mix with raw oats and cocoa, and a little almond milk. My hubs likes it mixed into his bran flakes.

10.jpeg

๐ŸœHope you enjoyed my post about breakfast. I'd love to hear what you in eat in your country for your morning meal?๐Ÿœ

08.jpeg

๐Ÿ˜ปauthored by the queen of all mewmews - @princessmewmew๐Ÿ˜ป

mewmewfooter.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Sort: ย 

That looks incredible! It even looks kinda healthy, compared to that bagel sandwich. Thanks for the recipe!

Any food post I like to read and read well. You have done so amazing by briefing about different breakfast cultures. That was the part I liked the most and recipe is explained very nicely.

Yes I agree with you. I really love how she gives different breakfast cultures. She really did an amazing job.

Thank you so much. I really love history, and find food history and the exploration of different cultures and their foods to be so fascinating :)

Thank you so much my friend! I have upvoted your comment because of the following reasons

  1. it's not spam
  2. you have read the post)
  3. you have commented accordingly
  4. you are an awesome person and steemian!

Many Mews!๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป

Do you have any cats @princessmewmew? I know this comment is off topic with the post. #LMBO!

Of course! The queen of all mew mews must have her own mews. ๐Ÿ’“

Is this comment for me @Mew ;)

Oh yes . Thanks

It's time we started to move away from meat breakfast even if they are cultural, the healthiest and most filling breakfasts are, things like the lovely granola example.

Anyone interested in understanding why meat is not sustainable take a look at my recent article....

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@celestialcow/why-mc-donald-s-vegan-burger-is-not-vegan-friendly

If you or and anyone else is interested in changing themselves and the world,
please join the FOOD REVOLUTION!
I just joined steemit, follow and I follow back and upvote

As a vegan, I totally agree that I loved the post but meat is on its way out...Our Eco system no longer can withstand the luxury nor can our health care system xx

Nice to know im not the only one!๐ŸŒฑ

@cryptokraze check my Artical about food maybe your liked

U are right

I love learning about new cultures too! Was what made this a fun read for me!

Trying this tonight!!

i am also gonna try...:D

Me too!!!

That is an amazing looking breakfast. Very well done.

Thank you so much x

Fab post - I'm currently travelling in India and will try your granola recipe once I'm back in the UK - of course only after a visit to my local caf for a Full English Fry Up !! ( my mouth is watering thinking about it and seeing your image ...
Below is my Indian Breakfast this morning called Puri Bhaji - was delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹
Will be following you and upvoted you.

IMG_4089.JPG

In Turkey there is similar like this .We are calling it piลŸi.!

sketch-1517062724998.png

Hi, looks very similar - I visited Turkey last year but didn't see this. If I'm lucky to go to visit again soon I will be sure to Try it ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป

Hi,
Where did you come in Turkey?

I have never heard of this before! What does the Puri consist of ?

Food Morning dubvdave!!!
It typical of south India but you can find across India and is made with a few ingredients only - whole wheat flour ( atta) salt and water - Not forgetting Ghee to fry (Indian oil ) which though oily is essential (it's a treat for me while here - twice a week) And I realised 3 puri (poori) is my limit ๐Ÿ˜‹
Stayed tuned as I'm making my way through Indian breakfasts - just done a morning run and not decided as yet what I'll have today ! ๐Ÿค”
Sonic Sonny ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป

Sounds really interesting. Putting it on my list to look out for...looking forward to your future posts Sonic!

I love Puri. Very easy to make them. You mix whole wheat flour, a bit of salt, and 1 tbsp oil. Then form the dough by mixing water slowly and kneading to result in not too dry or soft dough. Then make the small balls from it and roll each one into not too thin circle (around 6 inch in diameter) . And finally deep fry them in oil.

Hello iseektruth - sorry for delay, I've been on the move - there are 4 main ingredients - wheat flour - salt - water and Ghee for frying.
Simple making also just need a little time to prepare :)
๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป Sonic Sonny

Oh ok @sonic-sonny! How's weather where you're at?

Feeling ....Hot Hot Hot ๐ŸŽผ๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽต

Oh wow @sonic-sonny! Are you talking about the #music or your that's #hot? #LMBO! #LOLZ! Sorry I'm too much in the comment section. I have too much energy. #SMH!

Wow! Its looks so tasty, I have every morning, Its awesome.

that looks lovey, especially on a winter's morning!

Hi, looks very similar - I visited Turkey last year but didn't see this. If I'm lucky to go to visit again soon I will be sure to Try it ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป

Wow thanks for the lovely writeup on the history of breakfast , In this age and time , the fastest breakfast meal to prepare is probably the most popular, there is always not enough time for the morning rush and people just want to get out of the house in time.

Great post! Didn't know that dinner used to be breakfast :D You learn something new every day i suppose :)

We learn til we die, and we die if we don't learn. You can quote me on that ๐Ÿ˜‡

Yes i agree becuase everyday is a great opportunity to learn something from our day to day activities. Learning is a continuous process. We just have to explore and discover what life offers us.

absolutely!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Love that quote. And if we're not learning we're not living! You got a new follow. :)

yo particularmente digo aprender, desaprender y reaprender...

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

You really are an amazing personality Mew. Am still very new in this awesome community but you got my attention bea...thumb up!

in Indonesia, our breakfast is fried rice, savory rice, pecal rice, plus a glass of hot tea or coffee. thanks..

that sounds so lovely. I must admit that I am not one for big breakfasts, and i love a simple bowl of granola and seeds

if I eat like you say ..?! big problem for my stomach .. ha..ha

if I eat like you say ..?! big problem for my stomach .. ha..ha

A stunning post! @princessmewmew ! Very, very interesting, I have learnt something new. ๐Ÿ–ค ๐Ÿ˜Š And in brutal honesty, this is the BEST granola I have ever eaten, it truly is yummy! Also very healthy for you! A excellent way to kick start your day!!!

Haha, here we have it kids, straight from the horses mouth - someone who has tasted the granola in REAL LIFE ๐Ÿ’“

Adsactly Bravo, Bravo!! Your post are really Mewtacular!. It inspires me to be a better me. I am learning so much not only from the information on your post, but also about presentation and design. Thank you!

completely 100% upvoted for this amazing comment! LOL @ Mewtacular - I love it! You can inbox me on discord anytime if you would like some tips

Thank you so much! When I wrap my head around some questions I have,being a newbie and all...lol I will inbox you!

You are most welcome to :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73