ADSactly Food - 🍣How to Make Sushi with ADSactly🍣

in #food6 years ago

cover sushi file.jpg

Hi ADSactly Foodies! Today's foodie post is a little bit different from my usual recipes. Today I show you how to make your own sushi. Let me tell you from the beginning, that it might seem difficult, but it's actually one of those recipes that once you have the hang of, you are going to want to make it over and over again, just to improve your technique!

Why sushi? I had never made sushi before and felt like a challenge. Let me tell you guys, this most certainly was a challenge!

I am definitely no professional, but I must say that all my years of working in sushi restaurants definitely paid off. I definitely had a good idea of what to do and how to roll the rolls, and had some insider tips up my sleeve.

Three_Fish_Roll_2.gif

source

🍣My Top Tips for Making Sushi 🍣

  • Make sure you have a good recipe for the rice. The rice is the most important ingredient, besides the fish, and having good quality, perfectly cooked rice really makes a difference
  • Make sure your ingredients are fresh. Crisp vegetables, delicious, fresh fish and crackly nori all make for a delicious roll.
  • Keep a bowl of water with a few drops of rice vinegar at your side. This is a sticky business, and keeping your hands and knife wet helps to alleviate any extra mess and difficulty.
  • Be prepared! Have all your veggies, fish and other fillings chopped and ready, your sauces prepared and your rice cooled to room temperature before you even attempt to make your first roll.
  • Use a plastic or glass container for your rice, and a wooden spatula. No metal! The metal could taint the taste of the rice, and react with the vinegar.

IMG_0869.jpg

Let's make sushi!

This recipe will make about nine to ten rolls, enough for three hungry or four peckish people. My main ingredients were salmon, avocado, carrot and cucumber, but you can of course use whatever you like

Use this rad rice calculator here to calculate how much rice you need for your desired amount of rolls

🍣INGREDIENTS 🍣

Rice:

  • 3 Cups of Sushi Rice
  • 3 and 1/2 Cups of Water
  • Half a Cup of Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 2 T Fine White Sugar
  • 2 t Salt

Fillings:

  • 250gr Fresh Salmon
  • 1 Avocado
  • Half a Cucumber, julienne cut
  • 3 Carrots, peeled and julienne cut
  • Bunch Spring Onions, chopped julienne, and into fine rounds

Condiments:

  • Japanese Mayonnaise
  • Chinese 7 Spice (Togoroshi)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Fish Sauce
  • Sesame Seed Oil
  • Chilli Flakes

IMG_0874.jpg

🍣 METHOD: 🍣

You are going to need about 40 minutes to prep everything, and about half an hour to an hour for the rice to cool down, so if you are able to make the rice before hand, you should. An important tip to know, is to not make it the night before as you cannot refrigerate the rice. It will get hard and crusty.

Cooking the Rice:

First, wash the rice. This may seem like a trivial step, but trust me - it's not! Washing the rice gets all the starch out, making the rice perfectly glutinous and glossy. Much like when cooking risotto, this is a vital step. I rinsed my rice six times, until the water ran absolutely clear. Then, leave it to soak in some water for a further half an hour.

Once you have finished soaking the rice, rinse one more time, and place it in a pot with some water. The ratio here should be for every one cup of rice, add one and a quarter cup of water. You just want the rice to covered, as too much water can cause the rice to become dough-like.

Now, place the pot on high heat, and cook for about eight minutes, stirring frequently, until the water boils. Once the water is boiling, leave the pot on the heat, and turn the heat down low, and cover the rice. Check back every few minutes, until there is no more water, and the rice grains are nice and fat. Next, transfer the rice to a bowl. Don't scrape the rice at the bottom of the pot. It is possibly burnt and will add a terrible taste to your rice.

sushi-rice2.jpg

source

Seasoning the Rice:

This is the most important step. Heat up a small pot with the vinegar, sugar and salt, and cook until the sugar and salt have dissolved. Next, add it to the rice bit by bit, mixing the sauce into the rice with cutting motions. This should take about two minutes. Now, wait for the rice to cool to room temperature. As excited as you are to make some sushi, try to be patient and wait until the rice is completely cooled. You can use this time to prep your fillings.

9006-1.gif

source

Once the rice is cooled, you are able to make your rolls. Be creative with your fillings and have some fun!

IMG_0859.jpg

Rolling a Maki Roll:
There are so many variations on sushi rolls, that I thought I would show you, step-by-step, how to make a maki roll. You can also make California rolls, hand rolls, nigiri and even sashimi if you are brave.

Cut a sheet of nori in half, lengthways. Lay your nori on the working space, rough side up. Press a small amount of rice onto the sheet, taking care to not add too much rice. You don't want to be like this guy:

giphy.gif

source

Leave the horizontal edges free of rice - this is where the rolls will close.

IMG_0867.jpg

Lay the ingredients in the centre of the roll, and use your mat to close or roll the first section of rice, closest to you, away from you. By doing this you will almost close the ingredients into the roll. Now, roll it over again, and the edge without rice on will meet the rest of your roll and close. You can roll it freely without the mat on your work surface to ensure it is a perfect shape.

My favourite combination was salmon with avo,spring onion, cucumber, japanese mayo and the spicy togaroshi. MMMM!

IMG_0872.jpg

I would say that it is best to roll all of the rolls you will be making, and set aside until you are ready to eat them. Only then should you cut them into smaller pieces. This will keep them fresh, and keep them firm.

It definitely will take a few tries to get the method, but once you have it, it gets easier. It was my first attempt at making sushi, and I was quite happy with the outcome.

I would definitely advise you to watch a few videos on rolling sushi before you give it a try. I found the following video where the chef has a go pro, giving a unique view. It helped me immensely


source

One Last Thing - My Secret Sauce Recipe:

You can definitely just dip your sushi in ordinary soy sauce, but to take your sushi to another level, try my secret (or not-so-secret now) sauce.

Mix together half a cup of soy sauce, two teaspoons of rice vinegar, one teaspoon of sesame seed oil, a teaspoon of sugar, some chopped spring onions and a few chilli flakes. This is definitely one of those sauces that is made to taste, so experiment with quantities to get exactly the taste you like!

Serve your sushi with japanese mayonnaise, wasabi, pickled ginger and any other condiments you like.

Practise makes perfect, and I definitely want to make this again!

Let me know in the comments if you have made sushi before, and if you have any tips for our readers?

IMG_0876.jpg

footer.jpg

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly


Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

I really love sushi a lot! Great article...

Love sushi too but unfortunately can no longer eat it because of the tapeworm risk. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2768117/Sushi-lover-s-entire-body-left-riddled-tapeworm-parasites-eating-contaminated-sashimi.html
Crazy how easy it is to contract parasites from sushi. With that said does anyone know how to get rid tapeworms and other parasites? I've heard people having success with black walnut tinctures and food grade diatomaceous earth.

According to the EU hygiene of food products regulations is mandatory that all operators that sell raw or undercooked fish must freeze the fish below 20ºC for at least 24 hours to kill possible parasites in the fish, before they can sell it.

Sushi is just simply the best food and its a whole package for a meal, i just love it dude and next is ramen :)

ramen is delicious but i prefer mie aceh than it. check my post for having a look on mie aceh.

HOOOO COME OOOOON!

I'm hungry now. And I only have pasta with salt :|


haha! that does pale a bit in comparison!

Well done, it look truly amazing. Hopefully you make it much more often for those that get to share in this wonderful sushi bounty, wink wink!

cat sushi.gif

If I make it more often can we get a cat like in this awesome GIF??? (angel face)

I love sushi. I never tried to make sushi rolls, looks simple. Food presentation is beautiful. Thanks for the share.

seems need many kind of ingredients, tell me if you make it. or if you you want to compare to mie aceh that i had 1 hour ago and i posted it in my steem account. it is one of favorite food in Indonesia.

OMG!!! This is totally amazing. We are absolutely sushi addicted. We have our favourite spot here in Ottawa and we will get sushi every chance we can. I will often go and grab a big sushi platter and bring in home. The only problem is that our kids love it too and they devour it all. It never seems like you get enough. Lol Just last week we were talking about having make your own sushi party at our house. We have done this once before but it was about 5 years ago. We already own a roller. We want to even have sashimi at home as well. We are totally doing this recipe too. As for the sauce I am a straight up soy with lots of wasabi stirred. Gives it zing!!

I must say that for the cost of the ingredients, the amount of food you actually get is pretty amazing.

I also love wasabi in my soy x

Thanks for your support

Oh my God! Looks delicious :) I love sushi and can eat so much of i. It is healthy and yummy. California rolls are my favorite, but I try every time something new. I am still struggling and learning how to eat with the sticks without doing any mistake lol
Thank you for sharing the recipe. Will try it out :)

IMG-20160717-WA0014 (2).jpg

pleasure! It does take quite a bit of practice to get the chopstick thing down pat.

Yes I have to buy a set and try alone at home. Every time I go to restaurant with friends I create a big mess lol

Thanks a lot for this trick to make a sushi..
My tip for you is sparing use of rice than you think. For nigiri-zushi, the rice should be a bite size not bigger than that. Gorgeous nigiri-zushi is difficult to eat. Also, for maki-zushi (nori-roll), you should put amount of rice sparingly. If not, you can't wrap strip of tuna (or salmon or cucumber) and rice up together completely. If you tired of failure making maki-zushi, try témaki-zushi (pictured). This is a lot easier.

I love sushi, but have never made it myself. I may give it a go after reading this. One quick question, “Can you make sushi with brown rice?” I prefer brown rice plus it’s healthier, but I’ve never seen sushi made with it.

I have seen brown rice sushi before, but I can't imagine it being very tasty or sticking together very well.

I would say treat yourself with the proper white rice and then go for a nice long walk :)

so healthy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10