ADSactly Food - ✅ Top Ten Kitchen Essentials ✅

in #food6 years ago

kitchen.jpg

If you are starting out in the kitchen, or perhaps have just moved out from your parent's place, your kitchen may be looking a little bare. Building up a supply of standard kitchen tools and utensils can be costly, but you definitely don't have to purchase everything at once.

Here Are My Top Ten Items to Have in Your Kitchen

1 - KNIVES

Here's where the saying Less is More really comes into play. You don't need a fancy knife set with loads of knives, or one of those wooden blocks with the sets of ten knives, no matter how cool they may look.

In my kitchen, I have just three knives! I have my large chef's knife, a smaller, sharp paring knife, and a serrated edge knife. The chefs knife should be a nice heavy knife, and the handle should be comfortable in your hand. You may want to go ahead and buy a knife sharpener too, in order to keep your knives in tip top shape.

TIP: You don't need to buy the most expensive knife possible, but I would advise spending on the chef's knife, as it is the one you will use most. If you can afford it, Wusthof is a great brand to look at.


A Large Chef's Knife - Source


A Set of Paring Knives - Source


A Serrated Edged Knife - Source

2 - SAUCEPANS

Again, I take a minimal approach to this. I live in an apartment with a teeny weeny kitchen with not enough space to swing a cat. 🤪This has taught me to scale down, and only have the essentials. I don't believe in having ALL the things, and I find that this approach in the kitchen is best.

I would say, a nice large saucepan for dishes like stews and pastas is needed, as well as a smaller saucepan for heating up liquids.

TIP: Both pots should have heavy bases. You don't want to get a thin based pot as your liquids will burn easily.

3 - A GOOD NON-STICK PAN

Trust me when I say, you need this! I use my non-stick pan for everything and anything. Perfectly fried eggs, caramelised onions, fantastic steaks, light and fluffy omelettes and stirfries.

TIP: Look out for a heavy based pan with a metal or oven friendly handle, so that you are able to pop your pan in the oven. This makes a world of difference when cooking dishes like a pork chop, where you will cook the chop in the oven after frying it. Without an oven friendly pan, you'd have to transfer your chop to another pan or tray, wasting time, and dirtying unnecessary dishes.

Berliner Haus is a very inexpensive brand that performs like one of the expensive pans.

4 - CAST IRON CASSEROLE DISH


Source

Now, this is one of the kitchen essentials I use A LOT. Again, like the non-stick frying pan, it is a very versatile piece, going from stove top to oven to table.

TIP: I would suggest splurging a little here. Of course, Le Creuset is the brand that pops into ones mind when thinking of casserole dishes, but I find them very expensive (and totally lust-worthy). There are plenty of brands that are literally a quarter of the price that Le Creuset are, that do the job just as well. In my experience, this is one of those pieces you will buy once, and it will last you a lifetime, so keep that in mind when purchasing your casserole dish.

5 - A PROPER CHOPPING BOARD


Source

PLEASE, please, do not buy a small chopping board. Buy a lovely large one that you can easily chop round vegetables, like carrots on. Smaller boards tend to be unstable.

I, personally, would recommend a wooden chopping board, as it is easy to clean and durable.


Source

TIP: Oil your wooden board every now and then with any vegetable oil to keep it in tip top condition, and avoid leaving it in water for long periods of time.

6 - A GOOD VEGETABLE PEELER


Source

This may seem like a very basic item to list as essential, but trust me, a good vegetable peeler can do so much! In my opinion, there are some terrible, cheap, plasticky ones out on the market. Don't buy these.

Buy a good strong stainless steel vegetable peeler, and you'll be smiling. My personal favourite is the Shogun vegetable peeler, I bought one years ago and use it almost daily.


Source

TIP: Use your vegetable peeler to slice delicate, thin pieces of cheese to make the most epic sandwiches with.

7 - A SCALE


Source

This is one of those handy kitchen gadgets that is much more useful than you would ever think it would be. If you are a baker, you will use this so much.

TIP: Buy a digital scale to ensure your measurements are to the tee. Especially when baking, the smallest err could make the biggest difference in the outcome of your recipe.

8 - ROASTING AND BAKING TRAYS

Roasting and baking trays are also items that you will use weekly, if not daily. Again, you will be able to use them on the stove top and in the oven. They are cheap as chips and form part of every kitchen.

TIP: Buy stainless steel if you can. Some stores have the steel pans with the black coating, which easily can rust. A big no!

9 - A GOOD SET OF MIXING BOWLS


Source

You will use these to mix up cake batters, bread doughs, salad dressings and all kinds of delicious items. I personally prefer a ceramic bowl, as you can serve salads in them (remember less is more, and an item with double use is a winner!)

TIP: Just like baking trays, these are lower priced items that you will use often. Try to buy the best that you can, and they will last you a lifetime.

10 - A FOOD PROCESSOR


Source

This is the only piece I would really recommend splurging on. Buy the best food processor that you can afford, and it will serve you well. You will use it for baking, making sauces and dressings, soups, pestos and much more.

It is one of those pieces that will make your culinary adventure that much easier. Of course, you can do without it, but you may find yourself stuck when it comes to certain dishes likes soups and sauces.

TIP: Buy a food processor with a jug attachment, and you can make smoothies too!


That's my top ten kitchen essentials. Would you add anything to the list? Have I missed your favourite kitchen tool? Let me know in the comments!

footer.png

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

The most important thing is Sharp knives. When someone doesn't have sharp knives in their kitchen, you know they don't put much energy into their food

YES! So true! If I am in someone's kitchen, and there is no good knife, I know they are not culinary minded

I super agree!

Excellent list! I totally agree on having at least one really good knife and a workhorse of a food processor. Definitely get one with shredding and slicing blades to really make the appliance worthy of the space it takes.

I am also a huge fan of the slow cooker. I know you can make the same stuff in a pot on the stove, but dang it makes it easy to just toss it in and forget about it for the day! I'm lucky enough to have space for a bigger one and a smaller one because there have been days when I use both. 😉

thank you very much.

You know - I may say that a slow cooker is more important than a food processor. I use my mine probably twice a month. It is so useful!

Wow, that list and those tips were good, @prince! I'm from buying a lot of things and it always happens that I accumulate useless things. Sometimes I get carried away by the colors, the sizes and in the end the kitchen is full of many things that are not used. I once said that I needed a good knife and for Christmas everyone gave me knives. hahahaha. I still have brand new knives! The only thing I don't have is the weight, but now that I see it in your list, I see the important thing especially if you follow recipes to the letter. My favorite utensil is a Chinese wok sarten where I feel like I have the most delicious meals left. Have no doubts: I will follow your advice and start giving away the things I don't use and I will keep the most useful or those that I can give double use. Thanks for sharing!

Hi @nancybriti ! thank you very much for lovely compliment! I have trained myself to not be like that - my kitchen is so small that I really don't have space for all the different colours and what not, so I end up giving the stuff away most of the time.

I also love my wok, but I don't use it too often .

Any appliance or tool is only worth it if you use it, and, more importantly, it is used with some sort of regularity.

I got rid of my blender because I rarely use it — maybe once a month.

I use my slow cooker a couple times a month, sometimes more.

Actually, I might say that a slow cooker is more important than a blender! Dang, forgot about that! I also use my slow cooker a lot.

There is nothing more interesting than needing the necessary tools to develop an activity and have them at hand, as an example is the case of mechanics, doctors, etc. the kitchen does not escape from this, therefore, cooking and having the utensils available is ideal!

Absolutely! It can get a bit "gadgety" in my opinion, so the more simple the better!

10 items that will make the work in the kitchen easier and more fun!

thank you darling!

Never underestimate the power of a good set of mixing bowls.
Also, for anyone looking to gear up their kitchen on the cheap, I would highly suggest checking out estate sales. I got a $500 set of Wusthofs for $45 at one.

yes! This is a great tip!

Please help a steem newbie
Really thankful

What about a manual TIn opener?:)

ah! also good - but I purposely buy the tins that have the lever to help open them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87