How to grow a pineapple from kitchen scraps

in #food7 years ago


From scraps to kitchen table. There are plenty of foods you can regrow from kitchen scraps, and pineapples are one of them. While it is a very slow growing plant, the method is foolproof. They need very little nutrients, or care and can be planted in nearly every soil type. They even do well in pots if you live in a colder climate or don’t have a garden.

All you actually need is a fresh pineapple and a glass of water. Can’t get any easier, right?

Step #1: Pick a fresh pineapple

The give your pineapple the best chance to grow, you want to buy a pineapple that is ripe, but not overripe. The leaves should still be green, not brown or yellow. You can smell the pineapple to do a quick check; it should have a sweet, heady smell. Also, you could check if he isn’t too ripe by pulling at its leaves, if they come right off, the pineapple is too ripe.

Step #2: Twist the leaves off

Take hold of the body of the pineapple and use your other hand to grab the base of the leaves. Twist the leaves; they should come off easily. Make sure the base stays intact since that is where new roots will sprout.


(Picture from wiki how)


Step #3: Strip off some leaves at the base

This will expose the stem a little bit more, which helps the sprouting process. Strip until a few inches are exposed.


Step #4: Soak the crown

Put the crown in a glass of water with its stem fully submerged. The leaves should stick out of the water. Place in a spot like your windowsill or counter, or any other spot where there is a plenty of natural light and wait for the little roots to sprout. This may take a few days or even a whole week. Make sure it never gets too cold or too hot. Every few days, change the water to prevent mold growth.




Step #5: Plant pineapple when the roots are a few inches long

You can plant it directly into the soil in a sunny spot in the garden if you live in a warm climate, or you can plant the crown in a pot. Keep the plant moist and warm. New leaves will grow after a few weeks. FYI: pineapples don't develop long roots so the pot shouldn't be too big or too deep.

Night temperature outside cannot drop below 65ºF (18ºC). So if you have a cool winter, make sure to take it inside during the colder months. Make sure to place it in a sunny spot. The more sun the better!

Water the soil lightly once a week

Step #6: Flowering plant

As I said, it is a slow grower, but eventually, a red cone should appear in the middle of the plant, which will then develop into a pineapple.

We had a few plants growing in the soil in our previous house.. so here's how they should turn out.

And here's a picture of the pineapple plants of one of the neighbors, who obviously loves pineapples given the amount of plants in his garden....

Also, I found a lovely site, Inside NanaBread's Head, with a beautiful picture of a pineapple growing in a pot! As you can see, totally possible.

Good luck!


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe website Body in Balance here!

Sort:  

I really have tried to plant pineapple when I was little older but failed to do it. I now perfectly know how to plant them because of your post. Thanks.

Ooft, awesome stuff. I will try this!

Keep them indoors though.... cause it's cold in Europe! Good luck!

Oh yeah, the only things we can grow outside are dark thoughts and bitterness!! Lol!

6 more days and winter is coming!!!! Well, we had a cold, rainy day too today. Only 25C... definitely sweater time.

obrigado por partilhar conosco esta idéia

Oh my Gooooodness! Is it for real? I am surely going to grow this in my garden !!!! You got me sooo excited! Do you think it is fine if I grow it at house too? We are entering winter season and the temperature is always below zero and it will take around 6 months to the temperatute to be 18C for nights. Thank you so much!! I am so happy I am following you :)

Yep just keep them in a pot and move them indoors during winter. They don't have long roots, so they don't need big pots. Have fun growing your own. Nothing beats fresh, organic, homegrown foods!

I have several and I think the only thing I do different is that I use big pots. The larger the pot, the more suckers you get after the pineapple fruits and dies. They mainly like warm weather, but I did not bring mine in when we dipped into the 40's in Northern Florida and they did fine. Mine are harder to move as I keep them in pots and they get over 4 feet across sometimes.

FYI, there's a bug with using 5 tags which i don't think has been fixed. Only the first tag works when 5 tags are used. I suggest you drop one tag . :-)
Like if you look at https://steemit.com/created/homegrown , you won't see your this post.

Oh thanks for letting me know. Hope the fix it soon!

Thanks for that information. I have been noticing that only the first tag is working and woundering.

you're welcome. it's still not fix unfortunately.

I just did four and it still only is posting in one.

I'll take a look at your last post and we can work from that.

Wow ................ that's cooooool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
got to try that out.

Homegrown is the best! Good luck!

Super exciting! Thanks for this detailed photo-post!

@amy-goodrich I have 5 of them in my house - indoors
as you can see the two biggest in this post I've always used this method in growing them. These days it's hard to score a good crown they destroyed it on purpose so it won't grow here
sighs... I love pineapple and may I suggest that you use gardening-trail and gardening tags for posts like this again next time

Ohh why would they do that! Preventing people from growing their own food should be a crime! Thanks for the tag tip. I'll keep that in mind for future posts!

@amy-goodrich you're welcome.
That's to prevent it from growing here I suppose, imagine we have a lot here we won't be needing to import sprayed or sulfured pineapples but rather be plucking organic ones right off the stem.

I am sending this to my Grandmother, (she lives with us) and I am pretty sure we'll have a pineapple farm going throughout the house

Hehe... it so easy! My 2 are going in the soil today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62