My kind of date cake - so yummy..

in #food6 years ago

Dates are nutritious, tasty and very handy to cook with. If I can either go without sugar or reduce the amount of sugar in my cooking I do.

I am taking the plunge again to share a favourite tried and tested date cake of mine. I originally found this cake in my The Women's Weekly – Quick-Mix Cakes. So Thank you to the Women’s Weekly. Although I love the original recipe I have changed it dramatically over they years so it is Angie’s Date Cake.

I am not a stylish recipe writer so bear with me. My method of writing a recipe blends the ingredients and process together – just how I cook!

  • Chop 3 cups of dates (organic, fresh or packet; your choice) and place them into a saucepan with 1 cup of water and 4oz (125grams) of butter. Bring the contents to the boil, and let simmer for 5 minutes. Then add 1 teaspoon of bicarbonate soda and 1 cup of sultanas to the mixture and remove from the heat. Let it cool. (Sometimes I do this first part the day before.)

  • Lightly whisk 3 eggs in a bowl and pour into the cool date and sultana mixture. I add a 1/3 or ½ cup of chopped glace ginger and 1 tablespoon or 2 of ginger spice to the mixture. Adding chopped walnuts gives the cake

  • Add 1 cup of SR flour and stir lightly.

  • Pour cake mixture into prepared cake or loaf tin - grease the tin with butter or oil. Line the bottom of the tin with paper.

  • Cook the cake in a slow oven for a couple of hours or more.

I find the date cakes are like fruit cakes – they both like to be cooked slowly. It stops the cake from being crumbly when cut.

(I have not used rice or spelt flour but it is worth a try – I would add a teaspoon of gluten free flour)

__________________________________

Bye

Enjoy reading, comment if you want and upvote if you wish to.

Sort:  

Looks yummy. This is definitely something we need to try. What is Sultana, though?

They are dried grapes - in Australia we have currants, sultanas and raisins. Great for cooking and eating for a snack @mepatriot

Hmmmm...never heard of them before. Do you suppose we could substitute grapes or something?

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

howdy @angiemitchell yes dates are so sweet that you don't need any sugar do ya? This is a great recipe, that date cake would go SO good with a cup of coffee in the morning, breakfast dessert! love it thank you!

Yes, very versatile @janton

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74