Leveled Up My Baking Skills. Cinnamon Rolls, Anyone?

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Wohooo! I have just leveled up my baking!

It was my first time to use yeast and I felt like a real baker! LOL!

I have been baking for quite some time, but it has been limited to simple cakes, cupcakes, muffins, cookies and brownies so far. I have not felt brave enough to use yeast.

Last week, I thought about making Cinnamon Rolls! First, I love cinnamon and second, I want to serve something new to my family.

For two days, I made 3 batches. For the first time, as it was just a spur of the moment kind of thing, I did not have complete ingredients and I had to substitute a few of them.

The recipe I found called for butter which I substituted with vegetable oil and olive oil.

For the filling, I did not have brown sugar so I used honey instead.

Though I was happy it really tasted like cinnamon rolls and I actually made bread, I would say it was more on the "fail" side of the scale.

You would notice the dough was gooey- it must be because of the oil. Since I also used honey for the filling, most of it already sipped out on the baking dish while the dough was resting. It got burned during baking and sticked the bottom part of the bread.

Day 2

I am not someone to easily give up. The following day, I bought butter and brown sugar-- these were the actual ingredients which I replaced on the previous trial.

I made 2 batches which were almost similar in outcome- just that I still somehow burned the bottom of the first batch (2nd if you 'll include the previous day's) while the I intently watched my last batch, turning the baking dish and even switched the fire to the top.

This time around, I was anxious that I did not activate the yeast. I thought the kitchen was too cold. I was already into the last batch and this second batch did not seem to double in size!

Eeek! I did something crazy. I helped put a little more warmth to it by putting the baking pan on top of a bowl of hot water. I don't know if it really helped, but yeah, I saw the dough expand after some time. 😆

Notice how perfectly I cut the dough?! I tried the thread technique where you use, yeah, thread or floss to slice it. Uh-huh! I did not think about that during my first try. Although looking back, it may also not work since the dough was too soft.

The Recipe

This is actually a mix of several recipes I found online. I gathered those which looked simple enough for a beginner like me to do, plus those which call for ingredients that I already have at home.

Here it goes... I would welcome your suggestions on how I can make it better next time.

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cup all purpose flour, divided
3 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp salt
1 packet instant yeast (2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast)
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup milk
3 tbsp butter
1 egg

Filling:


1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon powder
raisins (optional)
butter

Frosting:


1/2 cup confectioners sugar
3 tbsp cream cheese

Procedure:

1. Mix together the flour, sugar, salt and yeast in a bowl. Separate 1/2 cup of flour to use while kneading the dough.

2. Heat the milk, water and butter in the microwave. The mixture must be not to hot, for it may kill the yeast nor too cold that the yeast would not activate. It must be blood-warm or around 37°C.

3. Gradually add the mixture and egg to the dry ingredients and knead. It will be sticky. Use the extra flour to keep it from sticking.

You will know the dough is ready when it already detaches from the mixing bowl. The dough should be tacky.

4. Roll the dough until it is flat and let it rest for around 10 minutes.

5. While allowing the dough to rest, prepare the filling. Just mix the sugar, raisin and cinnamon together in a bowl.

6. Brush some melted butter to the dough and sprinkle the filling.

7. Roll the dough into a log.

8. Slice the dough into small pieces and put them into the greased baking dish.

9. Cover slightly with aluminum foil or cling wrap then let rest for 60-90 minutes. You will see it double in size by then.

10. Bake at around 300°C. For around 30-40minutes until slightly brown.

11. While baking, prepare the frosting by mixing together the confectioners sugar and cream cheese.

Last but not the least...

Generously apply the frosting, serve and enjoy!

AP- Almost Perfect

Well, there may be some lapses in between, but I am proud to say that my fam bam loved it. One batch in 1 seating. What can you say? Maybe they were just really hungry?! Lol.

I also shared the final batch I made to my officemates and they said it can already pass for Cinnabon (maybe they just did not want me to feel bad?! Haha) Hubby was also able to bring some to his office.

I am also more confident in handling yeast now and I am ready to try other bread recipes. If you have other tips on how to make perfect cinnamon rolls, would you please share them in the comments?

❤ Arlyn


All photos are mine, taken by Samsung Galaxy Note 3 except those with myself, courtesy of @kennyroy

20180516_002249_0001.png

banner by @enginewitty

Sort:  

I love Cinnamon Rolls, sadly I burned the last that I made. I was trying out my new bought Dutch oven but I think I used to much brikets.

I dont normally follow the cooking time, i intend to check over and over. I think that doesnt help. 😅

In that case the dutch oven got to hot. Next Time I will try it with less Briketts.

Yeah. I think you have to lower your temp...

Wow pwede ka na mag business nyan madam

Malay natin. hehe... Dapat mag-ipon na ng skills para may gagawin pag uwi sa pinas. :D

Way to go for not giving up! It’s a good thing you didn’t because they look delicious! I would like to try my hand in more baking too. I normally just make cookies lol!! Thanks for sharing these yummies with us!!

It’s so good to have you join us over at the Steemitmamas!!! 💓

Thanks for the encouragement @kennyroy!!! 😉

Yeah, true @crosheille. This gave me a little confidence boost to try more...

Im glad to be part of steemitmamas too! 😍

Well done! they're hard to get right, but amazing when you do.

Thanks to @snook, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today' edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Hey! Gorgeous! Bake another one for my office! We will pay SBD! Hahaha... How much?

I will put up a steem bakery. You can pay in steem or sbd. Haha

When can I taste that?

Hopefully soon! 😉😙

Yum, they look nice. Maybe you could make some for the next meet up.
😀

Yup! Why not?! :D

Hi! Looks great.

I’m here from steemitmamas. Happy to have such a persistent baker with us.

Have you figured out how to keep the bottom from burning?

Oh hello @metzli! Thanks for passing by! <3

My oven has 2 fires - bottom and top. I just changed my fire from bottom to top to keep it from burning. hehe

Pahingi... sabi ng buntis. Yummy!

Haha! Come to AUH?! 😍

Practice makes perfect although we have to burn a lot sometimes before perfecting something lol! Good job! That looks delish. I like my cinnamon roll soft and not too sweet.

Yesss!!! To more burning before perfecting. hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78