Sunday Dinner

in #food5 years ago

Since I've made the conscious effort to partake in a more healthy lifestyle, I'm changing the way I eat. It's not going to be an easy task because I love to eat. Most of my favorite dishes are not the healthiest choice. So from my previous post I've started fasting on a more regular basis. I will also commit to exercising more often. I've been participating in @nathanmars seven77 pushup challenge also going to the gym more often.

With the change in my diet I'll be eating more veggies, salad, and fruit. I already only drink water no soda or juices. I also boil cinnamon sticks in water and refrigerate it, my cinnamon iced tea. I will also reduce my meat intake to about 2-3 times a week maybe less. I look forward to challenging myself, and to see and feel the results.

Tonight I made Ackee and Saltfish for dinner. This is a traditional Jamaican 🇯🇲🇯🇲 dishes typically eaten for breakfast, with breadfruit, fried dumplings, or boiled dumplings, yam, and banana. I put a little twist on it by adding portobello mushrooms, I find them to be pretty meat like in texture. Ackee is considered a fruit so it definitely a healthy choice. The saltfish is cod which is a better choice than chicken, pork, or beef.

Ingredients

  • 1 can of ackee
  • 1 bag of saltfish
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 garlic clocks
  • 2 portobello mushrooms
  • 1 tomatoe
  • Olive oil
  • Thyme

Intructions

  • Boil saltfish in a pot to rid it of some of the salt. Depending on how salty do this once or twice.
  • Cut up onions, garlic, tomatoe, mushrooms and add it to a skillet with olive oil and saute.
  • Add saltfish let cook for a minute or two on high heat
  • Rinse ackee from can and then add to skillet, add time reduce heat and let cook for 10-15 minutes
  • You can garnish with some black pepper.

I didn't want any extra carbs with this meal so I ate it with an avocado. This turned out to be a delicious and healthy meal. I'll continue to share some of my meals along my journey. Thank you

Promotion

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/babarakas43, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Instagram @assaffagroomingco

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you, it definitely was.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84