Breakfast in Minutes! Green Bananas and Healthy Chocolate Walnut Doughnuts!

in #food6 years ago

IMG_8180 (2).JPG

Good day my Steemian friends! I posted a few days ago about making flour from green Bananas! Who would have thought, right? It is true, and using Banana flour has potential health benefits for some!


For those of you who enjoy cooking without gluten or have gluten allergies or intolerance banana flour is a great substitute! >I have been trying recipes using banana flour instead of other gluten free options and found it to substitute well. By the way, it does not taste like bananas!


I am visiting my daughter who is gluten and dairy intolerant. She is a new mom and needs quick and healthy ideas for breakfast. I remember when I was a new parent was focused on preparing great breakfast for the family while working full time. Mornings were crazy! And being able to make something quick was essential!


todaysjourney.jpg


Healthy Chocolate Walnut Doughnuts!

This recipe brings back fond memories of my daughters when they were young. My oldest daughter hated doughnuts. (She has always been a healthy eater…even from a very young age) Every time she had a party at school, sleepover or get together she would come home disappointed. I always asked what treats were served, she would grimace and state “doughnuts!” So, doughnuts were not served at our house! I wish I knew then what I know now because I know she would love these doughnuts!


I used

  • 1 ½ cups banana flour

  • 1/2 cup Oat flour

  • 1/4 cup organic cocoa

  • 10 medjool dates (pitted) or ½ cup Organic Maple syrup

  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil (melted)

  • 1 cup Almond Milk

  • 1/2 cup Juice Pulp or shredded Carrots

  • 1/3 cup chopped Walnuts

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • If using dates, blend dates with ½ cup water to form paste. Mix with almond milk. (If you choose to use Maple syrup just blend syrup with milk!). Add coconut Oil and mix.

    IMG_8160 (2).JPG

  • In medium bowl, mix all dry ingredients. Add to almond/date mixture and blend well.

  • Add Juice Pulp or shredded carrots and mix.

  • Add chopped walnuts.
    IMG_8172 (2).JPG
  • Pour into doughnut molds. Place in oven and bake for 15-18 minutes.

    IMG_8177 (2).JPG

  • Pop them out and enjoy!

    IMG_8185 (2).JPG

  • They are also great with your favorite fruit compote! Strawberry, blueberry its a tasty addition!

    IMG_8188 (2).JPG

I hope you'll try them, they're quick and healthy and I think your family will love them!

Thanks for stopping by!
And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

wow! did erin like them??

I wish I knew then what I know now because I know she would love these doughnuts!

bold statement Mama Bird!! haha ;) they do look healthy though and what a cute little donut silicone cooking tray! lol never seen that before, so handy!

hmmm are you thinking I was talking about you? Perhaps? lol No, I made them at home...didn't bring the trays, sigh. Thinking of you! ox

I would not think of this in a million years. What an amazing idea. Healthy and delicious donuts 💚😊💚

Thank you, I know when I first found the banana flour and started trying options I was so happy with the results, then to find I could make it myself...well even better! (And you know I like to make good use of the veggies :) ) Thank you dear friend, you are so kind! Now you can make them for those darling grandsons! They will love it!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-11T02:31:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 511.75/200.00
Total Photos: 82
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.97 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

te diré que es muy rica

The account @poritoza has downvoted this post. This account is not related to my identity. I have countered his downvote by upvoting this post, already. Please, do not try to reach me about this subject since @poritoza is fake and is not related to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76