Healthy Eating | DIY Fruit Rolls from the Bird Nest

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0057 (2).jpg

Traveling during the Holidays? Need healthy snacks for the car or plane? How about a healthy snack before or after your workout?


Holidays are busy travel times but for many of us, our lives are busy all the time!


We spend a lot of time in the car going to and from one activity or another.


Soccer and Tennis filled the Bird family calendar for many years. Every weekend we would pile into the Bird Mobile and travel between Soccer fields and Tennis courts. Both girls were very involved and it wasn’t out of the ordinary to have one parent going one direction and the other going the opposite.


While I have always used my dehydrator to make snacks, I wasn’t as creative or as knowledgeable as I am now.


This is great for you my Steemian friends! I’ll share now just for you and your family!


Fruit roll-ups were a favorite with the girls. However look at the list of ingredients….


Corn Syrup, Dried Corn Syrup, Sugar, Pear Puree Concentrate, Palm Oil. Contains 2% or less of: Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Fruit Pectin, Monoglycerides, Malic Acid, Dextrose, Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), Acetylated Monoglycerides, Natural Flavor, Color (red 40, yellows 5 & 6, blue 1)


I don’t know about you, but those ingredients are frightening! The first three ingredients are Sugar, Sugar, and Sugar! Not fruit!


No Worries! I have a solution, a Healthy solution!


todaysjourney.jpg


Apple/Pear and Cranberry/Carrot Roll-ups


The great thing about these fruit roll-ups? No sugar added! Just fruit and vegetables. Yep, vegetables! The picky eaters…they won’t know!


You’ll Need


Apple/Pear Rollups

  • Organic Apples (2 medium)
  • Organic Pears (2 medium)

So easy! Wash, chop, and juice or blend both until smooth!


DSC_0040 (2).jpg


Cranberry/Carrot Rollups

  • Fresh Cranberry Sauce (1cup)
  • Organic Carrot (1 large)

I juiced the carrot, but you may use a blender. I chose to blend the cranberry sauce with the carrot juice to make sure it was smooth.


DSC_0043 (2).jpg

Pour both juices onto a parchment lined dehydrator trays or baking trays. It should be about 1/4" thickness. I could have used more on each try for this batch.*


DSC_0047 (2).jpg


I dehydrated both trays on the fruit setting (135 degrees) for about 8 hours. If you’re using an oven, bake on the lowest setting for a few hours. Keep your eye on these, don’t want them to burn!


The rollups are ready when the leather is not sticky, feels like leather


DSC_0052 (3).jpg


  • Using a pair of scissors, cut into strips and roll them up! (Leave on the parchment)
    DSC_0054 (2).jpg

Voila! Now how easy is that! Your kids both big and small will love these!


DSC_0061 (2).jpg


Refrigerate them in an airtight container. Not that they will last that long!


DSC_0069 (2).jpg


These Fruit Rolls are a wonderful snack, the veggie and fruit combinations are endless! And remember there is no sugar added!!! Healthy! Healthy!


Thanks for stopping by the Bird nest today! I hope you’ll try these and let me know what you think!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I must get a dehydrater! Just love your fruit rolls, we can buy dried fruit rolls here but they're full of weird sounding ingredients as well!
The Bird's nest sounds just like old times here in our house with our two sons, I really miss those days! We often had to go off in different directions to the various football fields, but it was such fun!

I know, time does fly doesn't it. I hope you can get a dehydrator at some point. You don't have to get the high end machines...I love mine. I just dehydrated cranberries the other day...so helpful with baking ;) thanks so much sweet friend!

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Oh my, thank you @soyrosa! So appreciate the feature. @adsactly is new to me, anxious to get to know the community!

This is so a Mom treat. You aced it again @birdsinparadise. I have never thought to make my own fruit roll ups- you have the best ideas. I can tell you’ve been at this for a few moons :). This is great my friend.

lol, hmmmm so did your mom make these for you????? I hope when you get settled you'll make these. You and @dandays will love them! A great snack to have on a bike ride, after a run, on the beach, on a hike.....right up your alley! Thanks so much friend! So glad you stopped in today :)

You always give me the perfect ideas for pre-made snacks. The protein bites are probably my favorites though. The protein bars, balls, and fruit roll ups are perfect additions to our bike ride picnics. Thanks again.

I gotta look into getting a dehydrator. Space is an issue for me as my kitchen is small.

I know, they can be bulky. I have a simple one...which is all you really need. You would love making these goodies, they're great anytime :) Thanks for stopping by @lymepoet!

Sounds and looks like such a healthy snack far better than the fruit roll ups you buy in stores

I know, I know...and so easy to make @tatoodjay! You would love these on your walks ;) Thanks friend!

Ohh yes, I have bookmarked this one to try :)

heaven't seen fruit leather done like that before 👍

It's so easy to make...imagine what you spend for fruit leather...crazy! And, I know the fruits and vegetables are fresh and organic! :) Thanks for stopping by!

exactly, and fresh is always better 👌no unnec high fruc corn syrup 😂

Really a healthy snack, i like it!

Thank you! So glad you stopped in!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 328 (12/02/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75