Healthy Eating | Strawberry-licious Part Deux! Protein Bars!

in #food5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0022 (a).jpg


Salutations my friends!


Hope you’re enjoying a relaxing Sunday! A bit of R&R is always nice, and necessary!


We’re still talking Strawberries today, lol. I promised I would share a tasty protein bar we love using those amazing Strawberries I dehydrated. If you missed my last post feel free to check it out.


The Strawberries!

Using dehydrated fruit takes the level of fruity-ness up a notch. If you’ve used dried fruit in your recipes you know just what I mean. And remember, you don’t have to have a dehydrator! Most can be dehydrated in your oven using the lowest oven setting.


DSC_0022 (a) (2).jpg


These strawberry bars are packed with protein, great as a breakfast bar, workout snack even an afterschool snack!


Strawberry-licious Protein Bars

I Used
  • Gluten Free Oats (2 cups)
  • Medjool dates (pitted) (1 cup)
  • Almond Butter (1/3 cup)
  • Chia Seeds (3 tbsp.)
  • Hemp Seeds (3 tbsp.)
  • Flax Seed (3 tbsp.)
  • Ripe Banana (qty 1)
  • Dried Strawberries (1 cup)
  • Sugar/Dairy free Dark Chocolate Chips (1/3 cup)

  • Place dates, almond butter and banana in your food processor. Blend until the dates are well combined. Now we add 1 cup of the oats along with the hemp, chia and flax seed. Pulse until they have combined with the date mixture.

DSC_0006 (a).jpg


  • Pour everything into a bowl and mix with the remaining Oats and dried strawberries.
    DSC_0024 (2).jpg

  • Now I formed the mixture into 2 bars about ½” thick and placed them on my dehydrator. You can also do this on a parchment lined baking sheet. Dehydrate for 4 hours. If using the oven, bake on lowest setting for about 1 ½ hour. Cut the bars into 2 “ bars and dehydrate for an additional 4 hours or bake for an additional 1 ½ hour. (Watch the oven bars carefully…don’t want them to dry out) The bars should be firm but not dry! Be sure to store these little goodies in the fridge....if they last that long!

DSC_0028 (2).jpg


Oh wait, don’t forget to melt the chocolate and drizzle a bit on top just for good measure!


I mean really, we all like a little strawberries with our chocolate don’t we? Cheers to a great Week my friends!


DSC_0019 (2).jpg


So glad you stopped by today, I hope you’ll give these a try! I would love to hear about it!

And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

These look easy and yummy!! For a second there I thought you were going to leave off the chocolate! I'll have to try these.

hehehe Would not dare leave off the chocolate....love these guys. They're a great healthy in between meal snack. So glad you stopped in, thanks @artemisnorth!

kitchen wizard strikes again!! this is amazing. i am very impressed. would be great for a hike :) XO hope you had a great sunday!

hehehe you are too sweet. I think you might like these guys...of course your dad does :) They're quite handy during those landscaping days! oxoxox thank you sweet @mountainjewel

God you make everything so delicious. These strawberry bars are perfect for a little protein punch or a little sweet tooth craving. Bravo Queen Bee, you’re a rockstar!

hehehe you are toooooooo kind! These would be great in your traveling bag! You're amazing my friend! Thank you

They would be perfect in my travel bag :)

these are absolutely beautiful!!!! and look scrumptious mmmmm I have dehydrated tomatoes in my oven before but never strawberries! these look so perfectly formed too - if you told me you bought them at a specialty store - i would believe you! hahahaha

really really yummy ... mmmm why am i reading all these posts about food right now?!?!?!? LOL

Wow, that is quite a compliment @dreemsteem, thank you! I always think they look too messy....glad you thought otherwise. Yes, you can dehydrate in the oven...just watch them carefully! They don't take as long..maybe a couple of hours! hehe the food posts drive me crazy as well :)

Making magic again my friend, these strawberry bars look absolutely divine! Much better than sugar laden chocolate bars!

Thank you my sweet friend! Have to keep Mr. Bird with healthy snacks! He loves strawberries so these were a great fit!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 363 (01/06/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09