Healthy Eating! | The Mung Bean Sprouts are Ready! Asian Spring Rolls!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0081 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian Food Friends! Today I noticed my Mung Bean Sprouts were ready! That meant I needed to whip up something tasty for dinner! Mr. Bird loves Asian food and unfortunately we have not been able to find a good Asian restaurant! So much MSG….no thanks!

That’s okay with me, I prefer making it my way!

todaysjourney.jpg

I’m making Asian Spring Rolls!


For those of you who love Spring rolls, I love to sprout my own Bean Sprouts. It is so easy! I posted about it earlier. In brief I mentioned the nutritional value found in Mung Bean sprouts! Feel free to check out my post for more detailed instructions! You’ll be amazed how easy it is to sprout your own!


What are they?


DSC_0037 (2).jpg


Mung Bean Sprouts are the germinated sprouts from Mung Beans. The starch present in the bean when germinated is converted to more easily digestible protein nutrients. When sprouted the water content and the vitamin content is increased.


More nutrition, much easier to digest for the body!


They contain the richest source of amino acid (for proteins) as well as vitamins A, B, C, D, E and K. Wow, isn’t that incredible! They’re also high in fiber! Knowing this information is a big motivation to use them in salads, soups, sandwiches….or Asian Spring Rolls.


I used

  • Fresh Bean Sprouts
  • Shredded Cabbage
  • Shredded Fresh Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Shitake and Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • Celery
  • Small Red Bell Pepper
  • Red Onion
  • Gluten Free Low Salt Tamari
  • Sesame Oil
  • Olive Oil
  • Pepper
  • Egg Roll Wrappers

Wash and chop mushrooms, celery, onion and peppers. Mince the garlic. One thing to remember, small pieces are best!


DSC_0050 (2).jpg


Sauté the mushrooms, celery, onion, peppers, carrots and garlic in a small amount of Olive Oil for about 7 minutes. Season with Pepper, Tamari and Sesame Oil to taste. Now we add the sprouts and cabbage. Cook for about 2-3 minutes, tossing frequently. You don’t want the cabbage and sprouts to lose their crisp!


Now we wrap! This does take a bit of patience at first but once you get the hang of it’s a piece of cake!Just place an eggroll wrap like this… Place 2 tablespoons (no more!!) of veggies in the middle, fold the bottom of the wrap around the filling, fold in the sides and then roll the wrap up! Seal the edge with a brush of water.


DSC_0056 (2).jpg

  • Place them seam-side down on a plate! Now no judgement, I guess quality control isn’t perfect in the Bird household, lol!
    DSC_0060 (2).jpg

These are wonderful baked or fried! Bake them at 425 for 15 minutes. Fry them 2 minutes each side!
Serve with your favorite Asian Garlic Ginger or I love Sriracha Teriyaki Sauce….both nice and spicy!


Bon Apetite!


DSC_0071 (2).jpg

I hope you’ll try them! They’re great as an appetizer, snack or as we love LUNCH!

DSC_0074 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

And as always blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

So beautiful. I sent a link to my wife to try out since she's the cook in the house. I'm a big fan of sprouts, too. I've read Anne Wigmore and her sprouting book and did that stuff for a long time.

When my kids are a bit older, I'll get into it with them again. For now, thanks for reminding me of that valuable resource in sprouts.

Thank you for your kind comments @digitalfirehose! They are so good for you and we love to throw them in stir fry as well...so many veggie combinations! So glad you stopped by :)

I love spring rolls but have never made my own, these look great

They are pretty easy to make! You should try it @tatoodjay :) You can freeze them for later if you make too many!

Yeah I will have to check and see if I can makes ones that my wife can eat as well, may need to adjust the recipe a little

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 257 (9/14/18)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine! Truly appreciate being featured!

FOR TSE: We used to be able to get decent bean sprouts here. The grocer had them in the produce section in a big terra cotta bowl and you picked out what you wanted with a big pair of tongs. They lasted nearly a week in the fridge.

Now, however, they only sell them in sealed plastic bags -- and they rot by the second day. I've stopped buying them, but I haven't stopped loving them.

Your post reminds me we need to get our own bean sprouter from Amazon one of these days. Your recipe here may be just the incentive to do it. I love egg rolls!! And I love to cook. So it's a match made in heaven.

This is different from @catweasel's definition of "match made in heaven." His is ---> I love to cook; he loves to eat. It's hard to argue with that.

lol, I love it, sounds like Mr. Bird :) He loves that I cook, really looks forward to those meals! I know, I have had the same result with buying sprouts, yuck. I can't imagine buying them loose...they would be fresh and nice. Sprouting your own is so easy, just rinse and wait, rinse and wait.a couple of days and they're done. Just buy the ez sprouter...so simple! 1/2 cup of beans makes a ton of sprouts! Good luck my friend ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-12T22:44:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 817.25/200.00
Total Photos: 129
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94