Healthy Eats | Chocolate Peanut Butter Runarounds

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0025 (2).jpg

Happy Sunday my friends! The weekend is coming to a close and I’m sure many of you are prepping for the busy week ahead.


Girl Scout cookie season is just around the corner. As a young girl I was a proud Girl Scout as were my daughters. We camped, learned quite a few handcrafts, life skills and of course sold cookies each year. Selling cookies was a big deal and I’m sure it still is today.


I have always been a faithful cookie buyer but since I have committed to being mindful about what I eat I’ll just need to make them myself!


How about making a gluten free option which my family will be able to enjoy using almond flour!


I’m busy preparing to head out of town soon and plan to take a few healthy treats with me. Peanut butter is a favorite with the Bird family and as you know, chocolate is too. I think you’ll like them!


todaysjourney.jpg

Chocolate Peanut Butter Runarounds


  • Almond flour (2 cups)
  • Sea Salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Baking Soda (1/4 tsp)
  • Maple Syrup (5 tbsp.)
  • Coconut Oil (3 tbsp.)
  • Vanilla (2 tsp)
  • Organic Peanut Butter (1/3 cup)
  • Dairy/Sugar Free Dark Chocolate Chips (1 cup)

Makes about 24 cookies


First the Cookie!


Mix the Maple Syrup, Coconut Oil and Vanilla together and then combine with the Flour, Sea salt and baking soda. Now press the cookie mixture on parchment and roll to ¼” thickness. You don’t want them too thick! We’re trying to achieve the shortbread effect.


DSC_0004 (2).jpg


Now find a small water glass or cookie cutter and cut small cookie rounds. Place the cookies on a parchment lined pan and into the freezer for about 20 minutes. Then, into the oven @ 350 for 12 minutes….then cool for 10 minutes.


DSC_0009 (2).jpg


Now the Peanut Butter


Place about ½ teaspoon peanut butter on each cookie. Use a knife to swirl the peanut butter all over the top of the cookie. While you are doing this melt the chocolate chips in a double boiler.


DSC_0016 (2).jpg


Finally the Chocolate


When the chocolate has melted pour, dip or spread the chocolate over the cookies. I warn you it will be messy but the end result is worth it. Now place the cookies in the freezer for about 15 minutes to allow the chocolate to harden.


DSC_0021 (2).jpg


Grab one, two or even three! Enjoy!


DSC_0038 (2).jpg

Don’t worry they’re healthy!


DSC_0047 (2).jpg


I hope you enjoy these healthy cookies. They’re gluten free, contain only natural sugars and best of all dark Chocolate! Stay tuned, I’ll be sharing another one of my favorite cookies very soon. Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Wowww these look SO good! And gluetn-free, which is a plus aroundhere!
Thanks for this recipe!!

I know, I try to make as many gluten free recipes as I can. We have gluten intolerant family members...I want to be able to cook for everyone in a healthy way. (I feel better too!) Thanks @squishysquid!

We do too, and the more things I can make gluten-free, the better! Thanks!

Oh this looks is quite good! I might want to give this a try!

My dad has recently been hospitalised from stomach ulcer rupture that lead to internal bleeding in November. Since then we noticed that gluten products like bread will actually cause a lot of gas in his stomach and his digestive system slowed down quite a bit whenever he has something gluten related.

Is it safe to say that this could be a good option for his sweet tooth?

upvoted

I think this would be good to satisfy the sweet tooth. I'm by no means a doctor but this is gluten free! You could use less Maple syrup if you wanted a lower sugar level entirely. I use natural peanut butter with nothing added as well. I too try to stay away from gluten...I just simply feel better when I do so I understand how your dad feels :) You'll have to let me know if you try it and what your dad thinks. Thanks so much @littlenewthings

Another delicious healthy treat my friend, you really are full of innovative ideas! Both hubby and I eat peanut butter by the spoonful every so often, just love this cookie!
And on a serious note, I must try finding gluten free options as hubby battles with a bloated feeling at times despite not being a big eater.
Health products are very expensive here in SA though!

You know, healthy products have always been expensive here too but lately they have started to come down. I think there is more competition around...hopefully that will happen for you. I feel so much better eliminating gluten from baked goods especially so I understand how your hubby feels. We eat a lot of peanut butter too...on apples, celery, bananas and of course a spoonful here and there ;)...its such a wonderful snack. Thank you @lizelle, you're always so inspiring! Hope you have an easy week.

Oh my God, you are the best. Everytime I scroll down my thred to see your posts my jaw drops. These are incredible, such a magician. Thank you for always sharing your expertise with us. These are definitely saved for when I can eat a little sugar again :)

Hey there! I didn't expect to be hearing from you this soon! Now that you've been airlifted into paradise I'm sure you would rather be hiking or beaching! So happy you liked these gems. Take care of yourself and be well :)

Well I have to try and stay in contact with my favorite people 😉. We are actually more business right now but vacation should start soon. Hasta luego!

Oh my, I'm so glad you liked them...they certainly didn't last long. So glad I can share things you enjoy. I hope you are feeling better and settling in nicely. Take care my foodie friend!

What a delicious cookie! I can't wait to give it a try. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Perfect combination of ingredients. I love cookies and I love coconut, peanuts and chocolate. My dogs too, so it's gonna be an ugly fight

Oh my, a real dog fight? lol I'm glad you enjoyed the recipe..they are quite easy to make and if you like peanut butter and chocolate this is the cookie for you! Thanks for stopping by!

Haha. Yes. We made the mistake of allowing them to try some human deserts and now they can smell cookies or chocolate from miles away. They can fight for the wrapper alone and lick it clean until it looks brand new.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 370 (01/14/19)

Thanks for featuring my post in The Daily Whistle Stops! I truly your support @thesteemengine.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Peanutbutter!!!! 😍
Your post even made it to my recipe list, I have to try these cookies they look delicious. peanutbutter and chocolate is a match made in heaven. @brittandjosie look at these!

Aww, thank you @guchtere, I'm glad you enjoyed the recipe. I hope you'll try them and let me know what you think! Thanks for stopping by!

Always love your posts, but this one looks sooooo good. I am not even searching for gluten free, but will likely still try these cookies out.

Awww, thank you @randomwanderings, you are too kind. I have to admit these are pretty dangerous, lol! I hope you'll try them and let me know what you think :)

As a blogger about healthy food and weight loss coach, one of my pet peeves are Girl Scout Cookies. Boy Scout popcorn is also on my list. Both are filled with toxic ingredients no one should ever eat, much less pay outrageous prices for.

I know there are petitions out there to try to get them to clean up their act, but so far, I do not think any changes have been made. Pity the girl scout that tries to sell them to me. I have gone over the ingredient label with them many times. I tell them to throw them out and never to eat another one and then their mom drags them away.

Yours look wonderful and I am sure they taste much better too.

I know, reading the label is so sad...they could easily rework those cookies. Interestingly enough part of the Girl Scout curriculum is about healthy food....although nobody wants to talk about sugar, preservatives, artificial coloring, preservatives... not to mention the cost. These are truly fun to make and even my daughter says they taste better than the real thing, lol (She has to say that right?) Thanks @fitinfunfood!

I'm sure your daughter is telling the truth. Those look amazing.

When I finally lost "half my size" it was all about increasing nutrition and getting all those additives out of my diet. It was a horrible day when I found out about them. I looked in my cabinets and EVERYTHING had those chemicals. I never count calories. I just try to get my nutrition and none of the nasty stuff. I have not worried about my weight for 8 years now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66