Healthy Eats | Friday Night Sunchoke Love! Tasty Cakes

in #food5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0047 (2).jpg

Happy Friday my friends!


I have something special to share with you today.


@mountainjewel brought several gifts from her homestead when we celebrated the holiday season. I shared about a few but one of the special gifts made its way into my suitcase….to be treasured at home!


Are you familiar with Jerusalem Artichokes or Sunchokes?


Well, I knew about the flower. I had admired these when we visited. Beautiful isn’t it?


jerusalem-artichoke-3701223_1920.jpg

Pic thanks to Pixabay


But the root…I knew nothing about it! Didn’t know it was edible!


We tasted a bit while we were together. Raw they taste like a potato. After researching I found they're good for you too! High in potassium and iron and they can help lower both cholesterol and blood pressure. . I added them to several of our meals during the holiday but I was excited to bring them home. Check out @mountainjewel’s post to learn even more!


DSC_0053 (2).jpg


todaysjourney.jpg


Let’s make Savory Sunchoke Cakes!


Sunchoke Cakes

  • Sunchokes
  • Fresh Onion (chopped)
  • Shiitake Mushrooms
  • Egg or egg substitute
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Sea Salt/Pepper
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Gluten Free Flour (1/4 cup)
  • Earth Balance Butter
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Monterey Basil Pesto Cheese (shredded)
  • Garnish: Non Dairy Sour Cream

Wash and peel the Sunchokes. Cook covered with water until they’re soft. Drain and mash, salt, pepper and butter as you wish. While the Sunchokes were cooking I sautéed the onion, garlic and shiitake mushrooms. Combine the mashed Sunchokes with the veggies. Let everything cool for a bit, add the egg and flour and mix well.


  • Form into patties and place on a parchment lined baking sheet and top with shredded cheese

DSC_0038 (2).jpg

  • Pop them into the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown.
    DSC_0040 (2).jpg

Times up! It’s Friday Night! Dinner time!


Have a seat my friends, add a side salad and it’s Sunchoke Love!


DSC_0056 (2).jpg


Thanks for stopping in! A big hug and thanks to Wren and Ini, @mountainjewel, a wonderful gift!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Gorgeous food as always, I've never eaten these and did not know they were called Sunchokes, you really are educating us on healthy eating!

Thank you my friend. When my daughter brought these I wasn't sure what I would make. I knew they would be nice in a soup, but it's too hot here for a soup! You know, you have those hot temps right now, lol So tasty cakes along with a cool salad, it was tasty! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 361 (1/04/19)

Thanks @thesteemengine! Appreciate the feature :)

Great recipe! I will be trying this out. I am always looking for ways that will make me love our sunchokes.

I think you would love the sauteed shiitake and onion add. I could have included kale but forgot ;) So easy to make, of course peeling takes a minute or so, lol Let me know what you think if you try them. I would love to hear what you do. Thanks so much @walkerland

Wow now that's a recipe!!! I like them once or twice a year. I find them.quite unendearing. Have some growing... great shade plants.. but never desperate enough to eat. These are very inventive though!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @riverflows, appreciate your kindness :) Well, I like to try the veggies my daughter shares with us. Usually she is right, they taste good. I opted for these tasty cakes, with the shiitakes and onion...topped with cheese, excellent!

Yum. Here's one from my garden lunch...

Kohlrabi and zucc spirals with kale and basil and avacado pesto with toasted pinenuts...And new potato with fennel flowers and pickled garlic scapes and spring onions and marigold.

Posted using Partiko Android

These only look delicious! I love how you introduce me to new stuff :)

They were good! I always like to try the new veggies my daughter shares with me. Usually she is right, they are good! This was pure comfort food, lol Thanks my friend, so glad you stopped by :) Safe travels!

Us daughters have a way of being right 😉.

I have only tried sunchokes once and wasn't totally in love with how they turned out. I think something like this would be more my speed! I'll have to keep an eye out for some and remember these next time I give them a try. I'm sure they are especially wonderful straight from the ground like that!

The Sunchoke is something i had never heard of but sounds so interesting, and as always you have presented the dish so beautiully

Thank you @tatoodjay! I knew I wanted to try them as my daughter loves them. This seemed like a good idea...and it was! :) Happy Saturday!

it's always good to try something new and even better when you like them :) Happy Saturday evening to you

Beautiful food ..gonna try some of those wonderful ingredients...peace

Thanks so much. Glad you stopped in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78