Healthy Treats | Pineapple Energy Bites

in #food5 years ago

DSC_0016 (2).jpg

It’s Sunday, are you prepping for the new week?


Sundays are often a great day for me to organize and prepare food ideas and snacks for the upcoming week.


This past year has been a year experimenting and learning about healthy foods, how they affect our bodies and then sharing with my friends and family! Growing up I was taught that being thin was a necessity! Eating rich, fun foods was a definite no-no! Food became my enemy, not my friend at a pretty young age.


I know, it sounds crazy.


Raising a family I poured all of my energy making sure everyone ate a well balanced diet….but just as most moms, I neglected my own diet!


Now, my goal is to eat well, share what I know and hopefully help others lead healthier lives! Food doesn’t have to be our enemy!


With a little bit of time you can have healthy sweet treats and snacks on hand. Snacks which are high in protein are a great treat to have on hand. I don’t purchase expensive packaged bars at the local market! By making them yourself you know they’re fresh! No preservatives or artificial ingredients! You can use fresh fruits and nuts, how great is that! 10 or 15 minutes and you’re set for the week!


Sound Interesting? How about something with a Tropical flair?


todaysjourney.jpg

Pineapple Energy Bites

All you need…

  • Raw Cashews (1 ½ cups)
  • Unsweetened Organic Coconut (1/2 cup)
  • Medjool Dates (5 pitted)
  • Tahini (2 tbsp.)
  • Fresh Pineapple Juice (3 tbsp.)
  • Sea Salt (dash)
  • Topping: Additional Coconut (1/2 cup)

Juicing…


started the morning off on the right foot! Yes, pineapple was the star, I set about 3 tbsp. juice aside just for this project.
DSC_0005 (2).jpg

Pit the dates


aren’t they beautiful, but not so much if you forget to remove the pits!
DSC_0007 (2).jpg

Now I tossed…


everything into my favorite food processor, Walter. He's a bit banged up but so far hasn’t let me down.
DSC_0009 (2).jpg

Now pulse…


pulse, pulse until you feel everything is well combined. It should be a bit sticky…you’ll need that! See what I mean?
DSC_0011 (2a).jpg

Start rollin…


those sweet little treats in fresh coconut! I think they’re best when chilled, so refrigerate until you’re ready!
DSC_0014 (2).jpg

Enjoy my friends! A little bite of energy from the Tropics!


DSC_0035 (2).jpg


These energy snacks have a great pineapple taste! An awesome snack after a great workout, great in lunches too! I hope you’ll try them. Have a wonderful week my friends!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Little energy bombs I would call them, I am sure they are absolutely delicious but with pineapple, how could they not be? :)

Not too sweet, lots of protein! Just what we need about mid afternoon with a cup of tea! Thanks @zen-art, your're the best! So appreciate you :)

I am not normally a fan of dates but with the other ingredients and how good they look I would have to try these

Dates do definitely have a taste of their own, but with the pineapple added, no date taste ;) Thank you @tattoodjay, you always have a kind word to share :)

Really Ok that makes me want to try these even more ;)

I, on the other hand, love dates. I bet these are delicious. Lovely presentation.

Thank you so much! They are slightly sweet, the tahini adds a rich savory taste. So glad you enjoy them @thesteemengine :)

Yaaayyy.. I put all the dates to my last mung bean soup😁 I think I need to find another thing as a sub😉 I should try this one.. no bake no oven no steamer..Luv it!

Ooooh, in mung bean soup? That sounds amazing Cici, I may have to try that one. Did you post this recipe? I must have missed it :) Thank you my sweet friend! I too love the no bake treats

Not yet @birdinparadise 😂 I'm thinking to create the post, my FIL asked me to cook it yesterday, I have never thought about it before.. It was his Idea!

I am so with you that we should have a healthy relationship with food, not fear it! It's tough in the world today where there are endless fad diets, pills and powders professing all kinds of miraculous benefits, and unrealistic ideals on how women (and men) should look. When you make delicious, whole foods like you do even "treats" are a healthy part of the plan! I think that was a big reason why I really enjoyed going plant-based with my diet--nothing is really off-limits. Of course I don't eat animal products anymore, but there is no restriction or calorie counting. I just make sure to eat a variety of vibrant plant foods in the quantities my body needs. As I was telling someone this morning, you can make just about anything out of plants, so I never miss out! :) These are definitely something I need to try soon because they are definitely on my plan...

Thank you Katie! I really appreciate your caring words. You're so thoughtful! I totally agree with you, our culture does encourage healthy food relationships. Food is too often used as "comfort" instead of nutrition. As a result, many eat the wrong stuff and then head for the latest binge diet. It's really all about listening to your body and yes I eating a plant based diet! No need to calorie count! :) Your clients are so blessed to have someone like you guiding them along the right path! I wish we lived near one another, we would have so much fun! As I have said many times.....I wish I knew then what I know now!!! lol

That looks absolutely healthylicious 🤤❤️

Thank you @joyrobinson! So good to see you today, thanks for stopping by :)

Thank you! They are tasty! Thanks for stopping by :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 417 (03/03/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11