Life with the Birds | Fireworks and Chocolate Chip (Nice) Cream Sandwiches

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8076 (2).JPG

Happy 4th of July Steemians! There will be lots of fireworks and celebrating tonight. This will be the second year we have not joined in the traffic heading to the shores to watch fireworks.


We’ve always had family around during this holiday…for the last 30+ years. Mr. Bird has always made the trek to the fireworks outlet to buy way too many noisy fireworks, he said just this morning how strange it was to not participate.


But! That doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate! As I said, it’s hot and we often have ice cream for the 4th! I always made the homemade ice cream packed with sugar, heavy cream… yes I did! But after discovering “nice” cream several years ago, I make it whenever I want AND I don’t feel guilty! No preservatives, no additives!!!

You know I like chocolate….So let’s get to it! I promise you, kids both big and small will love you for it!


todaysjourney.jpg

Chocolate Chip (N)Ice Cream Sandwiches!


I used

For the Cookie!

  • 1 ½ cups gluten free rolled oats
  • 3 Tablespoons Maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil (melted)

(N)ice Cream!

  • 1 cup sugar/dairy/soy free dark chocolate chips
  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 1 cup cashews (soaked overnight and rinsed)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 tablespoons fresh strawberry jam

Preparation

  • Blend oats until smooth flour. Add Maple syrup and coconut oil. Blend until dough forms.
    IMG_7963 (1).JPG
  • Line 9”x9” baking dish with parchment or saran (Makes removal easy!). Press ½ cookie dough evenly in the bottom of the pan.
  • Blend cashews until smooth, add bananas and vanilla and blend. You may need to add a tablespoon or two of water to achieve a smooth consistency. Fold in chocolate chips. Spread over cookie base in baking dish.

IMG_7970 (2).JPG

  • Drizzle strawberry jam over top and lightly swirl with a knife to incorporate strawberries. Place in freezer until almost solid. (About 2 hours)
    IMG_7972 (2).JPG
  • Press remaining cookie topping over ice cream. Note: You may want to cut squares now, will make removal easier later
    IMG_7983 (2).JPG

Voila!!

Remove about 20 minutes before you want to serve! And remember, it's a sandwich! Don't need a fork to enjoy!

IMG_8065 (2).JPG

Enjoy my friends! I can tell you, Mr. Bird is certainly pleased! He'll feel like he is celebrating with these gems!

And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg
echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

Looks like a perfect summer dessert! We're going two miles away to watch some fireworks in a nearby neighborhood. No traffic, no crowds, and takes about 5 minutes to get home. That's about the only way I'll go! ;)

Sounds wonderful! We can see a few from our back lanai....I think that is where we will land. lol Hope you're feeling better now and able to run.

Ooh, no driving--even better! The body is back to feeling well, thanks! Now if only I could get used to running in the humidity...

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

May I please move in with you ;)

Why would anyone want to eat real ice cream when you can eat "nice" cream. They really taste the same and this is without guilt. Wonderful recipe as always!

lol you always say such sweet things, thank you! I know I wish I had realized you could make this years and years ago...crazy isn't it? I love experimenting with new ingredients and I have a willing and happy test taster :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75