Fire & Feast Meat Festival

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Fire & Feast Meat Festival 2018




I was out of the country with last year's (the first) Fire & Feast Meat festival. This year however, Chad-O-Chef (http://www.chad-o-chef.co.za) invited me early in the year already and I'm SO GLAD they did! This 3-day festival of fire & food, is definitely going to become a permanent fixture on my yearly calendar.

Chad-O-Chef #braaitology arena

Chad-O-Chef sponsored the #braaitology arena this year. They had 10 SACA (South African Chef's Association) executive chefs representing their respective hotels and restaurants by giving out "snack-sized" portions to the hungry festival attendees. Each of chefs prepared their dishes on the Chad-O-Chef Hybrid braais, showcasing the versatility of the Hybrid's ability to use either gas, charcoal or wood.


Check this video if you haven't seen or heard of The Hybrid before:

As an ambassador for Chad-O-Chef, I was fortunate enough to be invited to host an interactive braai experience with a few random winners that were chosen from a competition hosted on social media. We did Jimmy Cheesesteaks on the first day, beercan burgers on the second and creamy garlic stuffed T-Bones on the last.




When we weren't doing demos, we were doing our own snacks for the festival attendees.

Treating the staff to a little bit of heaven that is the braai pie.

Unfortunately the Jack Daniel's BBQ marinade proved so popular, I was swamped with people ordering I didn't get a chance to take any pics while they were braaing, and so these are the only snaps I have of the Jack Rump Sosaties :P

Fires & Feasts

Friday, the first day of the festival, was focused on trade partners... and so while most of you guys were toiling away at the office, I managed to squeeze out some time to visit the other stands, and managed to make some awesome new friends. I'll probably get that video out in a week or two, so make sure you keep an eye on my @dtube channel:

Go check out @luckylie 's blog (https://steemit.com/teamsouthafrica/@luckylie/fire-and-feast-meat-festival-2018) for some pics of Chad-O-Chef's Outdoor Kitchen setup.

Throughout the festival SACA chefs hosted demos for the public in the beef, lamb, pork and chicken theatres. When the public weren't checking out the demos, they could visit a variety of stands selling everything from equipment, clothing & spices to raw, cooked and cured meats. The Jack Daniel's Man Cave was a massive hit offering a hair (if you had any) and beard trimming, tattoos, hot promo girls and personlised Gentleman Jack bottles. There's a video of my custom Gentleman Jack coming soon too.... have I mentioned you should follow my @dtube channel (

)? :P



Chilling with my Uncle before the festival

Once the shopping was done inside the Dome, the party was happening outside. In addition to the Chad-O-Chef #braaitology arena, folks were able to taste a host of other food vendors' chow, watch some live music and wash it all down with some lekker #BraaiBoyBeer (ok, ok... there were some other beers, craft gins and of course Jack there too :P).

#BraaiBoyBeer on tap
OC Brewery
The guys brewing my beer for me!

.

Which reminds me... I'm still looking for a name for my beer... and the competition to win a keg of South Africa's Soon-To-Be-Favourite lager ends on Sunday 17th (visit http://braaiboy.co.za/beer/ for all the details).

Well, that's it for now... like I said... please keep an eye on my blog and @dtube channel, there will be a few more Fire & Feast posts and videos in the coming days/weeks... and do yourself a favour, keep an eye out for next year's festival, and make sure you get your ass on over there!

**Update: Check out the first of my Fire & Feast videos here: https://steemit.com/food/@braaiboy/7v5f8i04


UpVotes, ReSteems & Comments are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Play Dice for free and win SBD:

https://steemit.com/@playdice

Connect with me on Social:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/braaiboy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/braaiboy/

Some recent posts that might also interest you:


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica

Sort:  

Looks like I definitely missed out this year @braaiboy. Will have to make and effort to be there next year!

Oh Yeah... for sure! The organisers are already talking about some awesome additions and improvements for next year's fest... sommer put a reminder in your calendar for next year around the same time ;-)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

lekker man :P \m/

Looks like a whole lot of fun @braaiboy, thanks for sharing!

For Sure! Fire, Meat & Beer... a winning combo :P

Looks like you all had heaps of fun eating and washing it down @braaiboy

A tough job, I know... but someone has to do it ;-)

Looks like you had a great time. I was able to visit the Jack Daniel's Distillery in Lynchburg over Spring break and it was awesome. All of the food sounds amazing. Wish I could have been there! Anything related to BBQ is like my heaven. Thanks for sharing!

YEAH... I LOVE my Jack... I'm fortunate enough to go through to the distillery every year (except last year) and compete in the Annual Jack BBQ comp... As International Teams we still have a lot to learn about the American palate when it comes to BBQ... but it's a massive party every time we do, and we come back home having learned something new.

BBQ For Life! \m/

Very cool! I have been following you for a while,but I guess I didn't realize you were a worldwide traveler when it comes to BBQ!! If you haven't already, you should write a post about the difference between the American palate and what you are used to. I am sure you would get a lot of comments that might steer you in the right direction next time you compete over here!

hahaha... AND piss off a lot of my American mates (i.e. I don't agree with what US calls "good BBQ") ... but I love the idea... makes a note for future post

Yeah, might not want to do that. :) I am really curious to hear about it though. We grill, smoke, sear, and indirect cook pretty much everything over here, so I am surprised there is that big of a difference.

Maybe I should clarify: I'm not a big fan of what the US pro-circuit considers "Good BBQ" (even though the judges are just ordinary people).

Had a pro-team friend of mine recently compete in a "backyard" competition, and she did very poorly... and she was consistently in the Top 10 in the pro-comps... so there might be something there :-)

Huh, very interesting. I guess it all depends on taste like you say. There is a place in the town I grew up that won the Memphis in May comp a couple years ago. I have tried their food and it really isn't one of my favorites. They actually have a location just down the road from where I live and I never go there! Thanks for the conversation!

Congratulations @braaiboy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well done and it seems you have it all covered except for a name of your beer! Being a preacher I would name it Moses's Brew, but the name Moses has become so common that many would think a guy by the name of Moses made the beer Lol. Blessings and upvoted!

Hahaha... yeah... and we can't have that now.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 30.83% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Looks and sounds delicious @braaiboy! Reminds me of this t-shirt when I was at Peregrine farm stall in Grabouw 🤣🙈

FB_IMG_1528908746429.jpg

hahaha... I actually know that shirt... love it! :-)

Hahaha! I thought it was great! (Should have bought!) Next time! ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BraaiBoy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80