Boozy Hot Chocolate... Perfect for the cold in SA at the moment - a BraaiBoyTV recipe.

in #food6 years ago (edited)


It gets cold in South Africa?

source unknown
Yes, Yes, most of the world will laugh because we're crying that it was hovering around 0°C (some places in the country even dipping below *gasp*), but you must remember that we're not used to, or geared for, the cold at all. Anything below 10°C and we start performing like we're living on the North Pole.

Our beautiful weather is probably a large reason why we're such a braai-mad nation, and It's not often that you'll see me around the braai without a beer or whiskey in my hand, but this last week saw a lekker little cold-front trek through the country (but a little cold has never stopped us from braaing) so I switched my beer out for another adult beverage... a comforting and warming Boozy Hot Chocolate.



"Adult Beverage"?

Yeah, it's not often that I'm accused of being an adult, so I felt quite sophisticated making and sipping on this one. Red Wine often pairs very well with chocolate, so it seems a no-brainer to mix 'em before the time and enjoy at once.

The recipe is VERY straight forward... In short:

  1. Melt chocolate,
  2. Mix in milk & red wine,
  3. Drink!

Tip: You can get fancy by adding a pinch of cinnamon and/or a dash of vanilla or even topping it off with mini marshmallows.

Now I'm not a big fan of either wine or sweets... but I could easily see myself spending days in a log cabin sipping on these bad boys! For me... that's saying a LOT about how good these are. You have to try them if you haven't already!



Special shout out to Chad-O-Chef (https://www.chad-o-chef.co.za/) for making this episode possible. Please go check them out and support them so that they can continue to support me to bring you more delicious recipes.

What do you think? Willing to give it a try? Hit me up in the comments below... I would love to hear your thoughts.

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool (public high-5's are cool, right?) ;-)


Liked the video/Recipe? Maybe you thought it was crap?

Either way, let me know in the comments below.

UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Sort:  

Really? Choco, milk and red wine???? That works? I have to try it out, I would have thought the milk would curdle.

Yeah... I was gonna use cream, but was afraid of curdling too... I think the mixing chocolate and milk first helped prevent the curdling.

So the "proof" is literally in the pudding?

Hahahah.... net so!

Milk and wine? Really? That seems like a totally crazy idea, but then again, all the best ideas are crazy at first. I will have to try this one day :D

... but it's CHOCOLATE milk :P
hahaha... I was also skeptical at first, thinking it would curdle... but even though I don't drink wine, I could easily out a few of these away... try it, you won't be sorry.

I am more of a beer man myself, and I also love chocolate, I get the feeling one can mess up the chocolate a bit, by adding it to the wine. It looks to me if you used normal baking chocolate, would a more dark chocolate or milk chocolate be the best for it? I notice your bottle of wine has a cork and not a screw cap, thus it should be a bit of a better wine, what type of red wine did you use? How will something like OBS work with dark chocolate?? (Perhaps I should try it)
This is something I could try that my wife would like, I could even impress her with this!!
Nice post!!

Same... I never drink wine... whiskey and beer for me please, but I do use it in potjies and such, and in this recipe it's amazing!

I used baking chocolate because i dont really have too much of a sweet tooth, and I couldn't find plain dark chocolate... orange, mint and every other mix under the sun... but not plain.

Re the wine: I may have mentioned, I dont really do wine, but my girlfriend does, and she bought it... she also drank the rest of the bottle and liked it. There's an old saying when using booze in food: if it's not good enough to drink, then it not good enough to cook ... I'm no expert, but I tend to agree.

It sounds right to me "if it's not good enough to drink, then it not good enough to cook"

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 23.97% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Incubot sent me!
This is a recipe I think needs to be tried at least once.

It's look like action movies hero is cooking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01