Home-made Pesto with a Twist

in #food5 years ago

Recently I experimented with a classic pesto recipe and I decided to use some of the spekboom plants as the base for my trail.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-04 at 18.21.47.jpeg

The spekboom is a great plant with wonderful nutritional as well as medicinal values but above all that it simply tastes great. And seeing that I recently planted a great deal of trees out on the farm I just so happen to have ample stock to spare. So while I was out in my garden nibbling on some spekboom leaves as I went, I thought to myself that their tart leaves would make a wonderful pesto, and I wouldn’t even need to add lemon to give it the zest it needs.

But then I decided to take it one step further, I mean if you are going to make something like this with a natural indigenous plant out of your garden, you might as well try to keep the recipe as close to home grown as you possibly can. So I collected some water chestnuts from some trees growing on the edge of the garden, and after opening them I slow roasted them in the oven until golden brown. Then I sourced some garlic, as well as hand made organic goat-milk parmesan cheese from local farmers. Olive oil and seasoning however was store bought, but hey – you can’t win them all, right?

Here is a list of the ingredients that I used for my Pesto:

  • 2 Cups Freshly Picked Spekboom Leaves.
  • 1 Tbs Olive Oil.
  • 1 Clove Garlic.
  • 150g Hand Made Goat Milk Parmesan.
  • Freshly harvested and roasted Water Chestnut.
  • Seasoning.

I started by taking my ancient food processor out of the cupboard and dusting the oversized technologically disadvantaged machine off, hoping that it would still have one run left in it, then I placed the Spekboom, Garlic, Olive Oil, and finely Grated parmesan into the chopper and let it run until it was all very finely chopped and well mixed together. Then I added the Nuts and pulsed the food processor so that the nuts were finely chopped but still slightly chunky; this was intended to add some texture to the pesto (and it worked wonderfully). Lastly I seasoned the mixture to taste and served it with some wheat crackers.

  

  

Oh wow – the results were mind blowing!

The first bite left my mouth strangely confused, It was completely a foreign taste. It had the beautifully balanced herb taste that you can come to expect of a pesto with a wonderfully rounded texture and a slight lemony tang. It was simply balanced perfectly, and despite the fact that it was completely a new taste experience, I was without a doubt left wanting more.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73