Meal Prep for the Week after Giving Birth

in #food5 years ago

image

I love the way the sun shines through my kitchen windows! My kitchen may look like a mess, but it is actually quite organized.

I'm currently meal prepping for the week or so after Sebastian's birth, something I've meant to do for the last two pregnancies and failed to accomplish. I remember how tiring the first couple weeks can be!

My freezer is already starting to look crammed, and I still have about 8 more meals I want to cook. Thankfully, outside is a natural freezer these days!!

So far, I've stocked up Thanksgiving leftovers like mushroom wild rice, squash, and corn; I've made lentil soup, chili beans (for the chili I'm making today), CBD gummies for the boys, Apple Cider, Turkey Broth, bread, and Broccoli & Cheddar soup.

I plan to make lots more: my favorite "boilermaker" chili (I'm craving chili dogs or "Frito Bandito"), creamy white chili with leftover Thanksgiving turkey and the broth, Wild Rice soup, condiments (like salsa, guac, hummus, and chipotle mayo) for quick sandwiches, lasagna, Winter Squash bread pudding, Winter Squash gnocchi (I have a LOT of winter squash right now ha), and lastly, protein snacks I found online that are great for nursing mama's. That is a lot of food, ya?!

What other meals or snacks could I prepare? What did you crave after going through childbirth or other life changing event? All the ideas are very welcome! My husband asked what I was craving for after giving birth, and I really can't think of any one specific thing other than a cold beer, a Chocolate Raspberry stout to be specific. 🍺

Sort:  

What other meals or snacks could I prepare?

You can take premade ravioli and layer like you would a lasagna. I used to make this ahead of time for my kids when I worked three jobs and they'd come home from junior or senior high and I was working. Easy to reheat and great for next day lunches.

I found casseroles or one-pot dinner were the best. Take chicken breasts, all your seasonings and sauces... put into gallon size ziploc bags and freezer. Take out of freezer and plop into crockpot for easy cooking.

All great ideas! It's been awhile since I've done the ravioli bake too. Thanks for the suggestion. I thought I was busy now, I can't imagine their teen years, 3 hungry boys!!

I used to do the once a month freezer cooking and prep when my kids were at home. SAVED me hours of time in the week plus saved me money in the long run.

And congratulations on the upcoming birth!!

Thank you so much! I appreciate the kind words and advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17