Sour Dough English Muffins!

in #food5 years ago (edited)

eac33f37-6f2b-407d-8453-28613d6ecc5c.jpeg

90703754-f273-41ae-8e0d-3825668d2e19.jpeg

6f0d838c-104f-4e0c-b268-add8ca2307a1.jpeg

64ff37b3-3688-4b5c-8858-1f3c04fd1b35.jpeg


I made my first batch of sour dough English muffins and they turned out GREAT!

I was surprised to find out that these are actually cooked on the stove top instead of being baked in the oven.

I made a batch and cooked half of them last night, putting the other ones in the fridge overnight. Leaving them overnight is supposed to make the 'sourdough' flavor more pronounced.

The ones that sat in the fridge overnight seem to have risen a lot more than the ones I made last night. They were bigger and fluffier, which seems strange, since normally refrigerating seems to have the opposite effect. At any rate, I call this a success!

Patrick LOVED them and made all kinds of sexual sounds whilst eating them, so I'd say they passed the test ;)

I used this recipe https://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/sourdough-english-muffins-recipe


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

sour dough is bloody awful, and I’m English!

Lol. Maybe being English is part of the problem? :) I've been making various types of sour dough breads, muffins, rolls and cookies for the past month and we LOVE it. Of course I also live on Kombucha daily, which I've heard is an "acquired taste" so maybe my taste buds are just weird! #weirdamericans

I think your hashtag nailed it! :-)

I am definitely a weird one, so I'll take it!

Oh, I love a good muffin

These turned out SO fantastic! They make for a great breakfast sandiwch with ham, eggs, cheese & bacon, too!

Congratulations @byn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

They looks great! Should go well with the roselle jam that I just made!

These look really good, I'm a big fan of these sourdough muffins - although I never knew you cooked them on the hob -how does that even work? And it's interesting to know the refrigerated dough rose better - certainly looks like you nailed the receipe.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

9thanks for the great resteem....now to see if i can get the recipe!! 🤞

I was really confused by the stove top cooking part, too, but you just sprinkly corn meal on the griddle/pan and cook with a vented lid. It worked wonders, although I was pretty doubtful in the beginning! Thanks for the comment!

Mmmm! Sounds like an excellent base for a nutritious breakfast. Could you possibly share your recipe please? I love sour dough must be something about the west! Haha #weirdcanadian

I linked the recipe that I used in the post. It's just a recipe from the King Arthur site. I didn't adapt this one at all, like I normally do, so you can just use it as is!

Awesome! Wonderful! So FUN! ....i am going to make English muffins! Hehe this is so oddly invigorating!! 😂

It really has been for me, too! Making various sour dough things has been fun. I'm making pretzels today!

howdy Byn! oh I love love love sour dough bread and biscuits. The chuck wagon cookes always used to make sour dough biscuits, very filling too! Dang you guys eat well up there!

Way back when we were studying the 'old west' we found a recipe called "Cowboy Hash" where we mixed corn, ranch beans and cooked ground beef. We made it as 'homework' and it has been a family favorite ever since. I bet it would be great with sourdough biscuits, too! :)

We eat a little TOO well up here sometimes!

haha! too well sounds good to me...hey that Cowboy Hash would be fantastic with sourdough biscuits! oh man! good idea.

You'd best get some sour dough starter going. That along with cowboy hash, you can live out one of your historical stories... minus the gun fights, hopefully!

haha! that would make a good food post for sure, thanks for the idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00