How to prepare catfish pepper soup with plantain(Dad's recipe)

in #food6 years ago

Hello Steemians
Good day to all who are experiencing day light,
Today I travelled from port Harcourt to ELELE a small town in Rivers state where my family lives, went to see my parents and I met a surprise package.
My dad was preparing to cook his special (Lols), which is catfish pepper soup and plantain(unripe).



I arrived to ELELE by 9:00am and my younger ones have gone to school and my mom off to work(a nurse) so my dad was the only one available, he left his shop to surprise us this eve but it was unfortunate I met the surprise before it even got started.
So we did the cooking together and it was kinda funny cause we were out of gas and we used the normal kerosene stove which was annoying from the starting to the end, so here are the ingredients and procedures on how we made the catfish pepper soup with plantain(unripe)



Firstly the ingredients


  • One cat fish(or two depending on the crowd)
  • Some plantains
  • Scent leaf
  • Cray fish
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Seasoning cubes


  • PROCEDURES


  • Firstly we had to kill the fish and immeresed/wash in hot water
  • Then we got the kerosene stove lighted up, added water to the pot then close
  • Thirdly we brought out the plantains and sliced then horizontally (about 2-3cm) and washed and into the pot they went. :-)
  • Then we sliced our onion, pounded the peppers and crayfish, sliced the scent leaf
  • Next, we checked if the plantain was half cooked, then we added the catfish which turned the whole thing white. (still surprised)
  • Then we pour in the whole ingredients including salt and seasoning cubes but the sliced scent leaf was left behind
  • We left it to boil for some minutes and then we added the scent leaf did the testing and brought the thing down And lastly, eating time.... ^_^


  • 2017-11-09-12-23-01-849.jpg

    Had to eat small cause I already had my breakfast at port Harcourt ;-)



    sorry there were no pictures during the procedures
    It was a cooking with my dad
    And he hates gadgets in the kitchen




    Sort:  

    Knowing fully well that guys are H-ing, you still decided to do this.. Guy why??

    Haha.. 😂
    Happy H-ing

    You do not want to face the wrath of my bunghole!!

    Haha..... 😂

    that is easy to make and it looks yummy, want some

    Yea
    Very easy
    10sbd per spoon.. :-D

    Awww, I'm drooling already! :)

    Lols
    Thanks for commenting

    You're most welcome!

    errrrm..... So when are you cooking mine for me?

    November 33rd......😂😂
    Anticipate

    I've done cat fish peppery soup but I use rice or agidi as we call it here made from wet maize flour (what ever the english name is though). But the sight of this one is really tempting, is the plantain riped one or black one . That should be scent leaves, you dad must be good in the kitchen.

    Thanks for sharing your dad's recipe hope he is aware you did 😁

    what ever the english name is though

    😂😂😂😂
    Not sure it has one
    The plantain is unripe
    And my dad is indeed a master class chef. 😂

    Well my food science lecturer woukd say

    ofe akwu is ofe akwu, don't change it to English let the white people try and pronounce it afterall we try to pronounce all the grammar they bring.

    Well your dad should get ready to compete with my uncle ooo. My dad was good too though. Shout out to all men that makes wave in the kitchen... their wives have this secret joy in it but they will not tell you ( it is between us oo... don't let anyone know)🙈🙈🙈

    Haha.. 😂
    Alright

    camzy, im taking this one and putting it in my archives, thanks!

    Lols
    Thanks

    Belle don dey pain me...

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64275.05
    ETH 3147.49
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.29