๐ŸŒผ Wild Wsparagus Gluten Free Burrito Garnished w/ Homegrown Edible Flowers.๐ŸŒผ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

asparagussmaller.jpg

It's Monday again! :)

Which means its time for the lovely @lenasveganliving #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest. I had to share this recipe today because I have been making this gluten free wrap on repeat for days... why? Because its soooo tasty and you can make a whole batch, leave it in the fridge and fry as and when you have the craving!

burriot5.jpg

This one was made with wild asparagus

Unfortunately there's not a lot of wild asparagus left to pick at the moment, well I was kind of too late figuring out where to find it which it turns out were everywhere pretty much with in harms reach of where I live. But the cold wet weather we've been having here was keeping me pretty house bound, I had a hunch when I saw scavengers turn up and walk away with bags of something. That day was raining hard, and I kinda felt depressed that they might of all been picked already. I was kind of right about that, at least tho I was still lucky enough to be able to get the late stragglers.

aspara5.jpg

Dreaming of Burritos

I've raved about how much I love sandwiches but it turns out that I was having a gluten reaction that's been developing over some months now and reached a peak. So I made the decision it was time to cut back altogether.... No more! The dilemma is I just love eating raw veggies in something I can pick up and bite into. Its so easy just to buy bread from the shop, as the bakery I live near is so good! But its time to take action and make my own alternatives. I started to dream about burritos, I just had to give my own version ago.

aspara8.jpg

Wild herbs make all the difference

This is the bunch of wild asparagus, growing steps away from my apartment. They are very thin but tasty, I ate the most purple looking one raw. My gosh it was very fresh and flavorsome. I had seen that the locals like to cook them in an egg type omelette but that's off limits for me. But this well I have to say is far more tasty than that. The rosemary picked by the beach and the wild oregano picked in the mountains took this beauty to the next level.

aspara7.jpg

Edible flowers from my garden

I didn't want to leave these flowers out of the equation either, these little chaps are from the Japanese shoots which can be planted anytime throughout the year, but when they are planted in spring they flower much faster. They are a great choice for a container balcony grow like mine.

asapara.jpg

To make the lentil tortilla

  • is to soak your lentils until they have soft / sprouted first,
  • rinse + drain them
  • then blend them with spring water, Himalaya salt, herbs
  • heat oil of choice in skillet until hot
  • pour in the batter, like a pancake
  • quickly add extra herbs like rosemary, oregano and asparagus
  • flip the tortilla when underside is cooked
  • press down with spatula to make sure asparagus is firmly in the tortilla
  • you might want to flip it a couple of times until its ready

Eat it as it is, or use it for a wrap with chopped vegetables and beans of choice

burrito1.jpg

Yum yum Nom nom, can't wait to have this again for lunch today!

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health, nutrition, spirituality, general rants check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revolution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort: ย 

Super creative! No wonder this is the winning entry. Edible flowers!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

I've been in a serious need of a wrap recipe and this is perfect! Homemade tortillas are so much better than store-bought ones. So easy to make and delicious! Absolutely love it!

Looks so delicious and so fresh :) Definetly resteemeble :D

Yes please, because it looks fantastic!

Oh yum, I'm totally going to have to try that wrap! I love biting into a yummy veggie-packed sandwich, too, but this looks even better. :)

I LIKE YOUR PLATE. CONGRATULATIONS AND GREETINGS

Oh my goodness, this is absolutely amazing.............definitely have to try ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“
1 Collage.jpg

THat's awesome!! I love the recipe and th pictures, too :) I made lentil wrap yesterday, too :) It's so yummy!!

That's awesome! I am very jealous that thereis wild asparagus growing close to where you live! Nice post!

Thank you for the resteembot! :) I'm. Lucky but I have to tell u, its fierce competition for the picking. Luckily they seem to cover all over a woodland area, and more are popping up with the rains!

๐Ÿ˜†

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85