Cooking Eggplant Salad with @mayasiam in Bangkok

in #food6 years ago (edited)

A couple of months ago, when I was in Bangkok visiting my family, I had the pleasure of meeting @mayasiam and we had a great day together, cooking up a storm. The plan was that she would show me a dish and I would show her a dish. I asked Maya to show me how to make Thai eggplant salad and she asked me how to make tacos.

The link below is the @mayasiam post about our experience making Issan Style Thai/Mex tacos.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@mayasiam/f5nzuvjc


We started out the day by shopping for our ingredients. The local supermarket had just about everything that we needed.
Below, Maya explains to me about some local herbs.


Thai Eggplant salad with Shrimp

Ingredients:

Chicken breast (minced)
Shrimp (steamed)
2 eggplants
3 Duck eggs
4 Garlics
3 Shallots
1 spring onion
1 sprig of coriander
2 limes
2 red chilli

Flavoring Sauce:

2 tablespoons of pickled garlic
4 tablespoons of fish sauce
2 teaspoons of sugar


Method

  • Saute the chicken with a little water to just cook it. Let it cool after.
  • Steam the shrimp and let them cool.
  • Brush the eggplant slices with oil and grill.
  • Boil the duck eggs for 10 minutes for a nice runny yolk. If you use chicken eggs they take around 6 minutes.
  • Toss the chicken with the flavoring sauce, shallots and shrimp.
  • Build your dish by putting down the eggplant. Next add the chicken, shrimp and duck eggs. Garnish with fresh chilies, cilantro and fried garlic chips.

Below are some of the raw ingredients that we used for both of our dishes.

I love this simple charcoal grill that we use in Thailand.

Here Maya is cleaning the shrimp. She is always smiling!

After a long day of cooking we can now enjoy the meal!


I made a short video of our experience. It was such a fun day and I encourage everyone to meet up with your Steemit friends in person.


Just want to say a huge thanks to @mayasiam for teaching me how to make Thai eggplant salad with shrimp. I had such a great time with you in Thailand and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sort:  

Aww, thanks Steve! I feel so happy to meet you and @loveself in real! I hope to cook with you again soon! ;)

Your the best @mayasiam! Take care and I can't wait to meet up again soon!

It's wonderful to meet other Steemians in person - and great for you and Steve to have made this little video. May I have your permission to load it on Viewly - under the @cookwithus channel?

Sure, That is OK to do. Thanks!

Of course! You are very welcome @pandamama! ❤️😊

Ohhhh, I would really like to have a taste of that salad. Love every ingredient that went into it. It looks so tasty and can be a complete meal.

Looks like you and Maya had a lot of fun. One of these days, I'd like to meet her in person as well.

Great video too! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @offoodandart! We did have a lot of fun that day. You should come to Bangkok and we can all cook together. The video was my first... pretty bad! but fun to make. I just asked @waybeyondpadthai to take me on as a video student!! That would be cool!

Yeah, will need to go to Bangkok and meet up with you guys. Should be fun.

Have a wonderful time with @waybeyondpadthai and please say hi from me.

Great detailed post Steve. The food looks top notch as always. Seeing you cooking outside in the beautiful warm South East Asian sunshine.....ahhhhh makes me want to hop the next flight back to Thailand. They have such great food there...meat, produce, ingredients, spices. I just love that country!

My son and his girlfriend are there at the moment - for 3 months and having a wonderful time. My turn next @world-travel-pro - we're missing your recipes on @cookwithus

Hey there Panda. Hope fully I can participate again. I'm now at my cousin's place for a while and will be head chef of the household. Thailand is awesome! I'm sure they'll have a great time!

Thanks Dan,
I am sure missing the tropical warmth, sunshine and incredible foods too!

very tasty and make full to see

Thanks for your supportive comment @dexnurul!

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @yanosh01 to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

It sure looked like a fun day cooking. What a great experience to have been able to meet up with another Steemian and to trade cooking tips together. Nice post!

Thanks @loveself. It is great to meet fellow Steemians!

Thank you to both of you for this salad, never thought of making salad with my favourite egg plant, sounds delicious!

Hi Lizelle! Thank you for reading my post! This salad is so good. You should try it sometime.

Looks delicious, even though we're not a big fan of eggplant, the 'yam' salad looks good with the Thai dressing. :)

Great to see you linked up with @mayasiam! It was great meeting her a few weeks ago during a meet-up on the green lung. :)

Exactly, you can add the dressing part of the salad to any vegetable! Was great to meet up with @mayasiam, Hope to meet you guys too soon!

We were hoping to meet up again for a cooking demonstration like you did with her, but we have nothing else in return. Maybe we'll buy the ingredients and let her cook. Sounds like a fair deal ☺️

Hahaha, that's a good deal! We will meet again and cook together! ;)

Cool it's on! A bit busy at the moment, but will let you know when we're free and see if you are too 😊

I'll contact you when I return to Bangkok. We can all meet up with and cook together. Just to meet in person is enough! You don't have to return anything! Maybe we can make it into an even bigger event and invite BKK Steemians....? Sounds like fun!

We would be down and we know a few other Steemians that would be too! :D

This is a Discord server that we started with @waybeyondpadthai. Invite: https://discord.gg/c8aGn3j It's mainly for chats and meet-ups in Thailand. There's a few Steemians based in Thailand in there, but there is also another Discord group for Thai written content and supporting the Thai community in general. We're in it too, but not active as the communication is mainly in Thai. Here's a link to that community too: https://discord.gg/yyRDMf8

oh god, you just opened my appetite with such a delicious dish

Hi @merryslamb! Thanks for checking out my post today and for your comment!

Looks very good

Thank you @mrandreas for reading my post today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73