Sourdough - Bread like it should be

in #food6 years ago

I am a very enthusiastic Home Cook and the past few years I have started to document my trials and tribulations. I have a very successful Facebook Page ... Colyn Kook ManKos ... ManKos can be translated roughly as Dude Food.

In September 2016 I decided to embark on a Sourdough Mission and being an IT Business Analyst by trade, I spent hours reading and watched lots of videos on the topic.

As I read and watched more it became clear that most writers and publishers tend to shroud many elements in some mystery. My theory is that they are doing it purely to elevate their artisan egos.

In my childhood I watched my grandma make bread and from my recollections there was no magic or mystery involved in the process. I guess she was too busy making sure everybody got fed to embroil herself in Unicorn and Fairytale stories.

Colyn_Sourdough-2044.jpg
The heart of Sourdough - THE STARTER

With this in mind I decided to start at the beginning and that meant that I had to make my own STARTER. In researching this element I found many guides but the thing that made the frown was the high waste factor. To me it made no sense to discard so much flour so I devised my own process. You can read the story here ... Make your own Starter

The making of Sourdough Bread is gaining traction and is growing rapidly in popularity. The main reason for it is the simple fact that it is very healthy option. Another important health factor is the simple truth that you cannot bake Sourdough Bread with bleached flour. This means that you are avoiding the known detrimental additives that is present in bleached flour.

Over the next few weeks I will publish a series of articles on the processes around Sourdough Bread and will strip all the fables and fairy tales out of the process. Since October 2016 we have not bought any bread. I bake twice a week.

Greetings.

Sort:  

@colyncooks, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Thank you very much. I am still trying to find my feet here but hope I can contribute value.

best bread recipe

The recipes will come soon ... I am still trying to find my feet :) here

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Do I have to register fresh on Steemkitchen or does my Steemit Creditentials work there ?

Your steem credentials will work just fine when the website is up and running, for now you are welcome to come join the community on the discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11