Smacked some sushi

in #food5 years ago

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/conradsuperb-smacked-some-sushi-0tmkwnkr-1557768422495.jpg

The first time I ever had sushi was in Japan. Talk about an authentic way to experience sushi for the first time. The real deal. I was skeptical at first, but I made a deal to myself that I was going to try everything that was put in front of me. In doing so, I ate an array of foods I never thought I’d ever try, ranging from whale to beef tongue, and everything in between.

I fell in love with not only the food, but also the people and cultural experiences like visiting Buddhist and Shinto shrines for prayer and taking traditional baths at Japanese bathhouses (sentos).

I left the US open minded about the whole deal, and I came back with many experiences I will cherish forever. I now eat anything and everything that’s put in front of me. I will not back down from at least trying something.

The only downfall about having sushi (and sashimi) for the first time in Japan is that my standards are so high. Whenever I eat sushi here in the US, I just remember the sushi from Japan, and it simply just does not compare.

I guess that gives me a valid excuse to go back then, huh?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I hear the same very often but have not had the chance to go either! My first was in New York so still a difference!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s just not the same, as I’m sure you can imagine !

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @conradsuperb, I so agree with eating food in different countries. I travelled on Korean Air a few years ago and really enjoyed eating their national food dish. There was the nicest Korean lady with very bright glasses offering advice on how to blend the pepper paste into the food. It is such a lovely memory.

That sure is a nice memory. Was this on the plane ? I can’t remember A time when I cherished an airplane meal lol maybe I will have to fly Korean air next time around

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75