Grilled Fish in Coconut Moringa Soup | FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Title Steemit Blog Post Photo 2.jpg

"Tutto si sente meglio con una noce di cocco al mio fianco."

Hello guys! I wish you all a good and bountiful day. It's been a while and I'm back here again with one of the typical filipino country dish called "Ginataang Isda". It's pretty simple, very delicate dish and basically all good for lunch. This dish is pretty common in southern part of the country.

This dish is a combination of leafy vegetables and any fish. But this one is pretty different since the fish is grilled and not sautéed which is the common thing to do in a coconut soup. Grilling the fish will produce a unique taste of soup and the smell is just so, so good.

"Hello! Welcome to Cookntell!"

This is recipe #48
Grilled Fish in Coconut Moringa Soup

Pink Dropfont Title with Cookntell Logo.jpg

I grew up with this dish. My mom would always love to make this at lunch with a variety of vegies and spices and of course the coconut milk. We prefer to use the fresh coconut milk. The most interesting part is the making of this delicious and nutritious coconut milk.

We use a particular too which is called in our vernacular language as "Kaguran". This tool has a sharp rugged edge attached to a wooden low bench type shape of thing.

It resembles a four-legged animal where you can sit on this little bench with four legs and you manually scrape the coconut meat using both of your hands.

DSC06638.jpg

When I was a kid, my mom would teach me how to use it. It was so hard for the first time coz you have to be careful to not scratch your hand. So it would take me like long time to finish everything for just 2 sides of coconut shell. But it was very fun and challenging.

The thought of you manually doing it is pretty one thing you're proud of to do. I'd get sweaty all over my face for putting a lot of strength and effort to scrape all the inside of the coconut shell. My mom praised me for being such a hardworker after that. Lol!

DSC06696.jpg

So after scraping all the coconut meat, for you to produce the coconut milk, you have to mix the scraped coconut meat with a cup of clean water and squeeze everything using your hands. Again, it's all manual. Haha! Squeeze back and forth until a lot of milk is released rom squeezing the scraped coconut with water.

My mom would usually divide two doses. The first batch of squeezing is fully milk liquid and the other is mixed with another cup of water squeezed the second time and not too concentrated as the first batch.

DSC06642.jpg

Then the first batch is the one that is used for final mixing before you remove the soup from heat to avoid causing the coconut milk to become oil.

So yah, here we go. This is my very simple version of the dish. I personally make it my own and made it easy to go. Give it a try and of course you'll enjoy the benefit of the coconut milk being the healthiest ingredient in this recipe. Enjoy!

DSC06715.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 whole fish
  • 1 cup moringa leaves
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 1 medium ginger peeled & pounded
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 red onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tie lemongrass
  • 1/2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 scallion
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp chili flakes

# RECIPE PINK.jpg

DIRECTIONS

  1. Grill fish in flamed coals or electric grill. Cooked until tender. Remove from heat and set aside.
  2. In a wok under medium heat, add vegetable oil. Saute onions, garlic, and ginger.
  3. Add water, salt and then add the grilled fish. Let simmer for 3 minutes.
  4. Once boiling, lower heat and pour in coconut milk. Add lemongrass, scallions and red bell pepper. Season or add more salt if desired. Let simmer for another 3 minutes.
  5. Turn off heat. Add moringa leaves and cover for a minute. Serve hot and garnish with bell pepper and tomatoes.

DSC06692.jpg

DSC06671.jpg

DSC06731.jpg

Thanks again for visiting my blog! If you’ve enjoyed and found this post valuable and if you would like to see more of my cookntell posts daily, then your upvote would be much appreciated!
:-)

See you on the next cookntell.

Love,
Jayne

36659272_1985337854810116_5822411623855292416_n.jpg

Guys, English is not my first language so sorry if there're any discrepancies. :-)

FOLLOW@cookntell

For my daily Cookntell food photography follow at my social sites:

Steemit
Instagram
Pinterest
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube

My Featured Steemit Posts

You can view some of my Featured Contents here:
Curie AUTHOR SHOWCASE/Mozzarella Burst Garden Special Buckwheat Pizza
BUILDAWHALE CURATION DIGEST/Cookies & Cream Mousse
OCD NOMINATION OF THE DAY/"Be Awesome Dragonfruit Smoothie
THE DAILY SNEAK/The Ultimate Chocolate Avocado Tart
DAILY HIT PARADE FOR NEWCOMERS/The Famous Filipino-Style Chicken Adobo
DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS: THE TOP 10 TRUFFLES/Chocolate Chunk Cacao Wafers ICE CREAM with Almonds and Walnuts VIDEO
THE BEST FOOD POST/Dark Chocolate Vanilla Cookies
THE BEST FOOD POST BY "RED FISH"/Pomegranate Choco Millet Cookies/VIDEO
DAILY PAYOUT STATS REPORT/Vegan Chocolate Cake

Watch More of My Recipe VIDEOS!

I have to be honest with you guys. I don't really call it vain but I love watching my food videos. It feels like a meditation for me. It is basically the sound and art in the kitchen. The sound of the fork, the spoon, the knife, the cutting board, the water, the mixing, the squeezing, the blending and everything in it sounds like in a grand symphony: a kitchen live music. For me, it is just sooo soothing. It's the reason why I put audio on my videos so you guys can experience a different way to watch too. So I wanna share with you some of videos here:

Mango Coconut Bites "Quick & Easy"
Mango Icebox Cake "Mango Float"
"Mango Float" Creamy Icebox Cake
Vegan Almonds Avolato
Sakura Sweet Rolls
Baked Chicken Parmigiana
Dark Chocolate Vanilla Cookies
Pomegranate Choco Millet Cookies
Mozzarella Burst Garden Special Buckwheat Pizza
The Ultimate Chocolate Avocado Tart "Quick & Easy"
Vegan Chocolate Cake "Guilt Free"
The Famous Filipino Style Chicken Adobo
Chocolate Chunk Cacao Wafers Ice Cream with Almonds & Walnuts

Cookntell Cover Photo.jpg

©Cookntell Photography

All photo contents of cookntell are original photos created by ©Cookntell and cannot be copied or used without the permission of Jayne Alexander. @cookntell

"Thanks for visiting and I'll see you again!!!"

XOXO

Cookntell Tasty & Fun.png

Join us now @steemitbloggers

Sort:  

combination of leafy vegetables and any fish is a healthy one for us. And also looking hot and spicy.

Absolutely! Thanks. Much appreciated. :-)

Looks delicious @cookntell

Thanks for sharing this recipe

Is that a dorada fish? Thanks for your blog

Feel free to visit my page and enjoy my music

Regards

@luciannagy Thank you! Yes it is. :-)Will definitely visit your page. See you around!👍😘

you have trurly impressed me by this photoshots! wow. i was just looking with open mouth! :D i feel that i need to do it once for my guests !

ps which country are you originally from ? :)

@mykitchenlab Thank you! I am from Phiippines but I have part chinese and spanish in my blood. :-)

@cookntell alright! i would never guess spanish roots, this all is a very interesting and most of alll beautiful mixture ! :))

Super Yummy food, @cookntell you're a great cook. You always make me hungry whenever I read your blogs. Keep sharing awesome food recipes.

@zhivot Thank you so much! ;-)

Cookntell you are an outstanding cook as well a photographer too..nice to see you after some days.hope this will be a nice dish to prepare..I will cook fish but in winter unluckily it,s summer here.

Looking so tasty. We try to make this delecious dish.

Thanks fro dropping by! :-) Let me know how it goes.

Nice presentation of the food. :3

This post has received a 65.86 % upvote from @boomerang.

Okay that looks REALLY GOOD! I always love SANTAN(coconut milk) in my food. I love anything that's coconutty. And that hardwork definitely did pay off huh. Just by looking at the photos is making me crave

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85