Roasted Radishes with Pork

in #food6 years ago

20181010_204213~2.jpg

Lately, many testimonials extolling the mellow virtues of roasting radishes have impressed my consciousness. Since these ruby ground pearls ripen in merely 28 days after direct sowing, I figured, why not give em a go?

20181010_203032~2.jpg

I plucked a large bunch of eyeball-sized roots, and cleaned/halved them in preparation.

Meanwhile, a bowl of bitesized pork roast nuggets marinated in a mixture of white wine, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, garlic, onion, and fresh picked peppers. Once the cast iron pan melted down a slab of butter on med-hi heat, in went the meat.

20181010_203023~2.jpg

I turned on the oven to preheat to 400F. As the pork seared a bit, I chopped the radishes and washed up garden fresh cherry tomatoes and sweet basil. This time, I added frozen broccoli, but next time, it'll have to be homegrown. Once the meat was ready to go, I poured it, plus the juices, into an oiled roasting pan.

20181010_204213~2.jpg

It all went into the roasting pan to cook up for about 45 minutes all told, stirring twice.

20181010_212829~2.jpg

Spicy fresh salad topping turned perfect starch base for saucy meat...who knew such a transformative flavor could occur? I have only ever eaten radishes raw or lightly pickled!

20181010_213046~2.jpg

Voila, fall garden first harvest. Roasted radishes burst in the mouth with a mellow, tender, turnip like flavor. Even the guys ate them up, @narwhalz0111 going back for seconds. These two men never TOUCH a radish in its standard presentation.

This year has been so auspicious what with the guys willingly eating up their cherry tomatoes and radishes! It must be endtimes, it's like dogs and cats being friends. Mass hysteria!!!!

Cheers, and bon appetit!

Love,cat

@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Looks delicious @creationofcare. I don’t think I’ve ever had roasted radish either 🤔 … it’ll have to be added to my repertoire :) Of course, fresh veggies picked from your very own garden are yum no matter how they are prepared.

It is always so exciting to grow your own food! So fresh and full of vitality :)

I first learned of roasting radishes from this youtuber

. Her garden is majestic and inspiring!

An impressive garden indeed. I seriously can’t wait until we can grow everything. Right now I’m quite ambitious with the thought of avo, lemon, lime, banana trees, pineapple bushes, all the herbs, peppers, and tomatoes… I could go on but the list is lengthy. I’m sure there is mich more work than I’m accounting for to tend to the goods I’ve just listed. We’ll see though, one day…

Your garden is doing great @creationofcare!

It sounds like you certainly have your hands full with that array of fruit trees, etc! It is a constant effort no matter how you slice it

But the end result is so worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06