Puto | A Simple But Delicious Filipino Snack

in #food6 years ago

puto.jpg

Puto is a steamed rice-cake. Its texture is spongy, and depending on how you cook it, may also be fluffy. It is a staple Filipino snack and I've been eating puto as far back as I can remember. It's usually something my mother would buy from the market during the weekends, and I remember how I paired it with Ovaltine for breakfast back then. I would slice the puto with my spoon then dip it into my warm drink. How I loved it.

I learned how to make Puto in one of our Home Economics classes in high school, and since today is Friday, I'll share the recipe I have.

My Ingredients

  • All-purpose flour
  • Baking Powder
  • Milk Powder
  • Sugar
  • Melted Butter
  • Water
  • Grated Cheese

What I do

Put the flour (sifted), baking powder, milk powder, and sugar, together in a large bowl. Mix well. Add the melted butter. Add water. Mix until smooth. Pour into molds. Be sure to leave some space and not fill it to the brim. Top each with grated cheese. Steam for 10 minutes. Serve warm.


This post was created in support of @steemph.davao's Foodie Fridays. Since today is Friday, SteemPH Davao Daily will feature posts under the niche Food. The posts could be a dining experience, a restaurant review, or a recipe that you would like to share.

Photo is mine taken using a Samsung S7 Edge camera phone



footer2.png

footer.jpg

Sort:  

ang sarap niyan.. the best puto in negros nasa manapla 1 hours and 30 minutes away from my city.. tsaka perfect to eat sa umaga habang mainit-init pa..

Napakaraming dahilan kung bakit gusto kong bisitahin ang Negros. Idadagdag ko sa aking listahan ang puto ng Manapala. =D

you must try it.. promise d ka mag sisisi.. d kasi siya gaya nung ibang puto na yung consistency niya umiiba habang tumatagall.. kahit ilagay mu pa sa ref.. soft at fluffy parin.. hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76