Sotanghon | Chinese Vermicelli in Chicken Soup

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180714_202439.jpg

According to Historians, Filipinos have been trading with the Chinese since at least 900. The barangays in Luzon already had a bond of sorts with the Ming Dynasty even before the Spaniards came in the 1500s. Chinese culture is very much present in the Philippines until today, especially in our food.

One of which is the Sotanghon, just one of the many variety of noodles that have become staple dishes in the Filipino kitchen. Since it's now the rainy season in the Philippines, I was able to prepare it again.

What I used
Minced Garlic | Diced Onion | Onion Leeks | Chicken Stock | Atsuete Oil | Carrots | Bell Pepper | Cabbage| Chicken | Chinese Vermicelli | Salt and Pepper

What I do
In a large soup pot, saute garlic and atsuete oil over medium heat. When garlic turns golden brown, add onions and the white part of the onion leaks. When onions become limp, add chick and stir fry until oil from chicken come out. Pour in chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add carrots then cabbage and bell pepper. Set aside. On another pot, boil water then add vermicelli and cook for 5 minutes or until the white noodles have become transparent. Put into a bowl and add the soup. Garnish with the green stalk of the onion leeks. Serve hot.

This is one of the dishes I love to prepare when it's raining. Brings back good memories too.

Photo is mine taken using a Samsung S7 Edge camera phone


footer2.png

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Ooooooh! i was just thinking about making this same exact dish this week. They call this chicken long rice in Hawaii. Sarap nito lalo pag ganitong maulan :)

exactly! I missed this kasi I didn't cook this the whole summer. Masarap lang siya sa ganitong panahon. My grandma's was the best kasi gamit nya native na manok. sobrang malinamnam nung sabaw. =D

I loved to eat sotanghon fo my merienda...especially when its hot... third from my top 5 noodle soup dish..

I can only think of one other pinoy noodle soup dish that I love, Chicken Mami... Di pa din ako nakakatikim ng Ramen or any other Korean soup dish but I bet they're all yummy for the rainy season.

you can buy korean noodles in supermarket.. there are bunch of choices you can try..

I see you are a food lover. Chinese Vermicelli is delicious to make tasty food. It is a good recipe. Thanks for sharing.

you're welcome! And thank you for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78