Made a Jibarito! - Puerto Rican Plantain Sandwich

in #food6 years ago (edited)

cda1fbce-ae08-4d63-acf3-6cf83a740cac.jpeg

e8c2a1dc-5878-40a1-8660-8b07dc9d9c47.jpeg

f44e58ba-0c73-4391-aa0c-d2ac1f78bbf6.jpeg


I’ve had a craving for one of these for a long time and just decided to make them myself. Instead of using flour buns this sandwich calls for fried plantains to keep it all together.

This was going to be a submission for the Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird but since this was my first go at making a Jibarito this was more of a learning process (I need bigger plantains, hold off on the jokes.)

I used chicken for the meat filling but I believe steak is more traditional. The hardest part of this is frying the plantains. Im not a fan of oil splatter and the clean up process. Shoutout to those Steemians that make food post everyday, if I did that my kitchen would always be spotless (@alphasteem !!!)

Short description from wikipedia:

The jibarito (pronounced hee-bah-REE-toe), is a sandwich made with flattened, fried green plantains instead of bread, garlic-flavored mayonnaise, and a filling that typically includes meat, cheese, lettuce and tomato.[2][3] The original jibarito had a steak filling, and that remains the usual variety, but other ingredients, such as chicken and pork, are common.

Read more of this Iconic Chicago Borinquen Sandwhich from the article on wikipedia:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jibarito

or from this awesome recipe I found:
https://www.thespruceeats.com/plantain-sandwich-recipe-jibarito-2138037


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Wow, It looks Delicious, and very easy to cook. thanks

Puerto Rico, best food ever, great post

Haha! Good job. 👏 I actually gotta clean it up right now. Can't wait to see your dtube cooking video! 🤣

Thanks! Lets Collab! You do all the video and I'll do the voice over 🤣🤣🤣

Only if we can post it from your account! 🤣🤣🤣

It is very interesting to put this recipe into practice.

Rico is all that, the i will try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09