Garlic Spaghetti (with recipe!)

in #food6 years ago

This is one of my husband's favorite side dishes. Actually he would eat this as a whole meal! But I like to serve it with a spicy meat dish. I made it last night and thought maybe you might like the recipe?

Garlic Spaghetti_detail_500.jpg

I am lucky that we both like lots of garlic and heat and there is plenty of both here. If you'd like it milder just use less garlic and chili flakes. In fact this recipe is more of a guide, easy to make more or less

Garlic Spaghetti for Two

Ingredients

2 – 3 Tbsp. Olive oil
10 Cloves of garlic, peeled and sliced thin
½ tsp. Dried red chili flakes
1 Tbsp. Fresh lemon juice
1 cup Fresh Italian (flat-leaf) parsley, chopped
6 oz. Thin spaghetti (angelhair or vermicelli) broken in half
Salt to taste
Shredded Parmesan cheese for serving.

Directions

Bring a large pot of water, well-salted, to a boil. Cook the pasta until al dente, about 10 minutes. Drain, reserving about 1 ½ c. of the pasta water.

In a large pan saute the garlic slices in the olive oil. Watch carefully, you want the garlic to turn slightly brown but not burnt. Remove garlic, keeping as much oil in the pan as you can. Drain garlic on a paper towel.

To the reserved oil, add the chili flakes and fresh parsley. Stir until parsley is limp, then add the lemon juice. Add cooked pasta and the fried garlic, reserving 2 Tbsp. of the garlic for garnish. (This is important, it gives a nice crunch.)

Combine well, adding the reserved pasta water as needed to keep the pasta from sticking together. Add salt to taste.

To serve sprinkle some fried garlic on top and add the Parmesan cheese.

Garlic Spaghetti_500.jpg

Come and get it while it's hot!

divider bottom 1.png

I am a member of #ccc by @freedomshift
This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed ? Daily Income ? and Payout ? for Newbies (2.0) ? ? ? in #ccc ? and Follow ? the Honor Code ? - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< _please click to read.

Sort:  

Someday, I will learn how to cook and will do this... 😂

LOL
I basically taught myself to cook by reading cookbooks from the library! My high school cooking class was a disaster! I didn't even know you were supposed to peel an onion before putting it in soup! I just plopped it in whole - skin, roots and all! So seriously, if I can learn anyone can!

Plop onion with skins and roots... 😂 If that's of any consolation, I somehow never thought about and did it that way. 😂

Yes, it is a matter of really putting interest on it. 😊

The recipe said 'one whole onion'. They could have made it a bit more clear.
One of my friends gasped and fished it out with a spoon. Not only was I supposed to take the skin off and cut the roots off, I was also supposed to cut it into little pieces! Who knew? So, yeah, if you already know that the rest is pretty easy.

Oh yes, the recipe could have been clearer! 😂 Good thing you have your friend to save the day... 😊

This looks so delicious, and I do like pasta and garlic. This is a healthy dish that we can eat every week. Thanks for the recipe.

Oh if you like pasta and garlic you will love it!
I like to make extra, it tastes even better the next day. It also freezes well. I make extra of the fried garlic too, for a second serving. But if my husband finds it he will eat just that as a snack!

Looks yummy. I like simple pasta dishes.

The hardest part of this is slicing 10 (or more) cloves of garlic really thin! Takes time. Other than that it's easy to make.

Yes, just like this! I use a knife and don't try to make them paper-thin like this, but that's the basic idea. The thinner the slices the more careful you need to be not to burn them.

So.. there's no other sauce needed? This is really simple @donna-metcalfe 😉 not complicated like "Mie Aceh" or Aceh Noodle. I like garlic too😊

No sauce needed! The pasta water added when you stir it all together keeps the noodles from getting too dry. No reason why you couldn't add more liquid to make a broth, but I'd say try the recipe first and see!

Yummm! Garlic, cheese n spaghetti, all my favourites! And fried garlic always makes a yummy crunchy topping.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Done my friend! 🙂
Good luck!                          ...

Congratulations @donna-metcalfe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99