Love At First Sight - My Visit To A Really Beautiful Small VillagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Selworthy I fell in love with is a very small village and civil parish near Minehead, England where I lived between 2007 and 2010. When I moved to England I found myself in Exmoor National Park in Somerset County. Selworthy is not far from Minehead only 5 km. 

How I ended up in this beauty? Back in 2007 I was learning English in a small college in Minehead, where my English teacher talked about cream tea and especially this cream tea meant to be really good, because it is served with the clotted cream that is made in Somerset. She mentioned Selworthy, where a very nice cream tea was available. Of course I had no idea what a cream tea is as I have never heard about it before. She did not tell us what comes with it and how to drink it. I was surprised when they served it to me. Let's not rush ahead so fast I am going to talk about how I had it later. 

Now let's take a look at our walk to Selworthy from Minehead. Yes that's right we walked that 5 km distance as no public transport was available for us at that time. So what we did, we found a route online, printed it out and followed the path. We did not regret it. The scenery that we walked through was amazingly beautiful. We walked through open fields amongst sheeps and woods. 

We are on our way to Selworthy through this open field.

Then we saw some sheeps.

Continued our trip on our path that lead us into a wood, then finally we found that house what we were looking for. It doesn't look like we are going to get some tea here. 

Let't get closer and have a look inside. Oh yes we were sure now that we finally arrived to our destination and went into the tea room. It was indeed really cosy inside, but we decided to take our place in the back garden as the weather was really nice that day.

So here we are finally took our table and we were served with our cream tea. Here I want to mention that I had no idea what I saw. It was jam, scones, clotted cream and a pot of tea. So how am I suppose to have this? Well I thought it is a cream tea so let's put the clotted cream into the tea and stir it up. Do not laugh out loud! That's what I did and I immediately saw other people are looking at me watching what I was doing. I soon realised I was doing something that I am not supposed to do. At least I did something right tho, I spread the jam onto the scones. Later I told my teacher that we visited the tea room and how I had the cream tea. We were all laughing and she explained to me how it's done properly in Somerset. Yes because it does matter what you put first onto the scone the clotted cream or the jam. It all depends where you are in England. 

Sort:  

What a top spot - love the house. Picture perfect.
All you need now is some decent weather........eg. tropical, too bloody cold where you are!!

I know, I have seen some nice days but still not warm enough for this time of the year.

Posted using Partiko Android

That was a great walk, and I have never figured out how people put on the jam first then the cream or butter on top of a scone. The butter first on a warm scone to soak int and then the jam. Wonderful pictures also. If you would like a new tag to play in since you seem to enjoy walking @tattoodjay manages the #wednesdaywalk tag. No real significant hard rules or anything like that, just a walk and some pictures, and if you leave a link on his Wednesday Walk weekly post for that week, he sometimes picks people at random for an sbi or some free steem. Lots and lots of cool walks and we get to see so many different areas of the world. Just a thought if you decide you like social tags.

Thank you. That is a great info and a very good thing to do. Sure I will check it out. I have been in so many places and got things to share in the travel tag.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to see you posting your own content again, @drippingdrizzles.
I'll resteem with the @newbieresteemday account

Thank you. I think from now on I do more like this. I enjoy it better and it seems people prefer that more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, so complicated! :D I also wouldn't know what I'm supposed to do but since I am not such a fan of anything else in my tea than tea I would probably put it all on my scone. But that's about the preference :)

It's a charming house and I love its roof. It makes me think of roofs in Holland. They were used in the past and now they are coming into 'trend' again..

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely rest of the weekend!

It is charming indeed. In Somerset you see a lot like this. They are old cottages and they try to keep the original features inside as well. The cottages is different colors as well. Thanks for stopping by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, @drippingdrizzles... I just checked your wallet and see you've already got +100SP of your own. Way to go.

goyou.png

You also have another delegation, so it seems. This means you'll be able to get around on your own and I will be retracting my delegation, so I can help other newcomers to get started.

I feel a bit sad to have to let you go, but I'll be sure to keep following you!

Sure! It has been a great help from you and of course we don't say goodbye to each other. Thanks for keep following me. I have so much good things to share with the community. I set the payout to 100% SP so all goes there for now until I get a good amount. Now I have a better understanding how Steemit works. Thanks again for all of your support.

Posted using Partiko Android

You might rethink that 100% SP...
Sometimes it is good to have some liquid Steem in your wallet. Like if you want to sponsor a @steembasicincome share for someone, just to give you an example....
I must admit I don't know what the most beneficial setting is to earn the most, but there are a few reasons why keeping a bit of Steem in your wallet can be important. I found a post that explains wht HERE

Yes I am still figuring it out what would be the best option. What you suggest sounds good. You just have shared a very valueable post with me. Thank you for that. It helps a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha.. so how is the right thing to have this cream tea? It's not about putting the tcream in your tea but something you do with the cream and the cakes or scones right?

What's the important thing about this cream tea? And you made me 😨 no public transportation and you have to walk.. when you went back to your place, can you bring some of the cakes with you too?

There are two different ways to have a cream tea. The only difference is what order you put the cream and the jam onto the scone. I personally like to put the cream first then the jam. But again it depends where you come from. I believe Somerset clotted cream is one of the best creams in the UK. We didn't take any back with us, but the amount they served was enough. Thanks for reading.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @drippingdrizzles! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of @newbieresteemday's top posts for the day!

newbieresteemday.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77