British Food

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Learn about traditional British food. When learning a language it is also important to learn about the culture of the country which the language is from. Tell me about the traditional food from your country in the comments.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

British food is pants. It's why the most popular dish in the UK is Chicken Tikka Masala.

Ha ha. Yes, the British like Indian food, but Chicken Tikka Masala isn't the most popular dish. The British like food from all over the world.

Indeed, I think that survey was a bit out of date. Here's a more recent one.

As you can see, even the British don't like British food. I very rarely see British cuisine in Asia, it's mostly Italian or French.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/britains-favourite-takeaway-been-revealed-9935762

Screenshot_20180513-105519__01.jpg

The British love British food. Those figures are for takeaway. Chinese food is convenient for takeaway. No one wants a roast beef takeaway. Don't get me wrong, I don't think British food is the best in the world. French or Italian food is way better and everyone knows it, but British food still tastes great.

There weren't any Indians sailing half way around the world searching for British spices. And they couldn't even do that right. Ended up in America

Lived in the UK for more than 30 years, no one ever says let's go for an "English" or "British".

There are many good things about Britain today, but British food isn't one of them in my view.

Time to go and get my Sunday roast ;)

You should go to the pub for some British food and a pint.

The small brewery movement in UK is promising.

Your voice sounds so professional and the video so well made we have to check it out further and found your English Chit Chat page, very cool blog and idea, a lot of effort has gone into your work.

Back to the topic at hand, I was shocked to see normal sausages as pork, that was just plain weird. In Australia if you buy sausages, mainly they are beef, I mean you can get all types but beef are the norm. I didn't even like pork back then and had told my employer that I loved sausages, I was a live in nanny so she had stocked the freezer and cooked me some my first night. Besides that everything else was fine. You make good tea too. And I do love a good scone which I am attributing to the UK.

Thank you. English Chit Chat started with a student book, then I started with the videos. Unfortunately my Youtube channel isn't monetised at the moment, because I don't have enough subscribers, but I should get up to 1,000 soon. I don't make the videos to make money, but it was a help with my motivation.

I remember having venison sausages in Margaret River which were delicious. Now I live in Korea and the sausages here are awful :(

Margaret River is awesome, we generally, there was just a murder suicide the worse one since only ever mass shooting in Tassie. Seven dead. Crazy... To close to home.

I can't imagine that the sausages in Korea would be great. What took you to WA? And why are you in Korea now?

I'm sorry to hear that. Korea might not have decent sausages, but it doesn't have gun violence.

I spent a year in Australia on a working holiday about 12 years ago. Mostly Perth, but I drove across to Sydney before flying out. I had a great time. Haven't had the chance to go back yet. I came to Korea because I liked to travel, but it was time to earn some money. I teach English in a university. I like it here, but I'm trying to make plans to get back to England.

Nice, we dont have gun violence either which is why its so so shocking. It was a grandfather that killed his whole family we just found out. We live in Perth. Its the best state so no matter that you spent most your time here. Im glad you enjoy your job and hope you find your way back to the UK soon.

Absolutely amazing video. You are set to move from D-tube to an international audience (in my humble opinion).

Furthermore, many of the British foods you have featured here, could very easily fit onto my favourites' list.

Thank you for your positive review. My videos are also on Youtube and I have viewers all over the world. But I haven't been making many new videos recently, because I spend most of time on Steemit now :)

Indeed, a very polished presentation and the experience is evident. I will be sure to look up some of your videos on YouTube. Same name?

I've come a long way from my first video. Here's a link to my channel. Thanks for the interest. https://www.youtube.com/c/EnglishChitChat

Awesome, got it! I watched the first on "daily routines." There was some value in it even for me! I will be watching the complete series.

That's one of my favourite videos. I always learn something myself when I make these videos.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations @engchitchat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10