Coconutty Cholatey Chia Seed Treat

in #food5 years ago

chia1.jpg

I want to eat snacks all day every day, mostly candies and chips, but sometimes I try to find alternatives to satisfy my sweet tooth. Today I noticed I had chia seeds in my cabinet and I decided to try and make something good out of them. I googles a bit if there are any great recommendations on how to use chia seeds, and I noticed a ton of pudding recipes. I checked the approximate amount of liquid needed in relation to the seeds, and made my own.

I used coconut milk as the liquid, and a tiny bit of boiling water to dissolve the cocoa powder better, then I chucked in a bit of vanilla and sugar, and a pinch of salt. I let the seeds swell for a few hours in the fridge, until the texture was like frogspawn, delicious.

I cut up some banana to the bottom of the serving glass, then spooned in the chia seed pudding, topped with more bananas, toasted coconut flakes, freeze dried raspberries and a mint leaf as a finishing touch. This turned out to be super delicious and I'll be making more for sure. I can't wait to use different kinds of toppings, and in the summer, fresh berries of course.

chia2.jpg

chia3.jpg

Sort:  

Sweets! Sweets! Give me as many as you can today, healthy or unhealthy it makes no difference! (it is these days of the month!)

Jokes aside, it looks interesting. How do chia seeds taste like?

What days, I want sweets all day every day 😝 The seeds itself don’t really taste like anything, so you can flavour them how ever you like.

Amazing! This looks so delicious. One just wants to dive in right away yumyumyum

I surprised myself on how good it actually was 😁

did the seeds get stuck in your teeth?

Nope, they were well soaked and easy to eat.

I was putting them in smoothies for a while but they were more trouble than they were worth.

Could it be that you didn’t let them soak first?

I must have skipped that part. ;)

It's 5 pm and I just saw your post... What a hunger that came to me!! :-D
I'm forced to take a break! ;)

Beautiful photos as always!

I just made more, wanna share? 😁

Ok! :-) Close your eyes counts up to 10 and when you open them I will be there, in front of you... 1...2.....

Holy fuck it looks delicious :D

Posted using Partiko Android

So very fancy, seems a shame to have eaten it. That wouldn't have held me back any though ;)

Good good, even pretty foods are meant to be eaten!

Ha! Frogspawn and delicious! That's a good one. I'm grossed out and curious at the same time ; )

I’ve been grossed out by the texture of soaked chia seeds too but it’s actually kinda addicting to eat.

You could always grow a Chia pet! I wonder if that's too old a joke or if you had those in Finland?

I had to google those, I don’t think we ever had them in Finland.

Where's da protein in that?

Apparently chia seeds have a lot of protein in them.

True. But you need a shitload to get enough of it.

Yes, easier to eat a steak.

Wooow what clear shots 👍👏👏. Cleaned my eyes 🤩👍👏✌️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had to google Chia up. It's a plant of the mint family with edible seeds native to Southern Mexico and Guatemala.
$rewarding 15% 15 min

I didn't know that, had to google too. The plants remind me of lavender when they are in bloom.

By the way, I like those pictures. Which camera did you use?
$rewarding 15% 15 min

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06