FireTravels #9—Ate like a local at Junior Kuppanna, Chennai

in #food6 years ago (edited)

The first thing I did when I landed in Chennai was call up my friend and ask him for some recommendations on where I can get the best local fare in town. I was recommended a few places but "Junior Kuppanna" seemed to be highly recommended.

I reached my hotel ahead of my check-in time but they were swamped and therefore I decided to get some lunch. Booked an Uber and 5 minutes later I was at the nearest Junior Kuppana branch. They have about 10 branches spread across Chennai and I was at one of the better ones.

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.24.29 PM.jpeg

The food was so good and well priced that I went back once again for dinner! It was just amazing. If you are wondering what I ate then it was all of this!

junior-kuppanna.jpg

Egg Veechu Parota w/gravy
Chicken Biryani
Vanjaram Fish Tawa fry
Chicken fry chettinad style.
Also tried Chicken Chukka for lunch earlier!

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.31.15 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.26.45 PM.jpeg

Egg Veechu Parota was an incredible dish! I was crispy and wafer thin and easy to break and eat. In fact my lunch felt so heavy when I ate but I was hungry within a few hours as I had digested the food fairly quickly. You cannot afford to miss eating this if you are in Chennai and visit this restaurant.

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.30.12 PM.jpeg

The next time is the Chicken Fry in Chettinad style. It was a bit on the spicier side but with the condiment (Raitha-Yogurt mixed with Onions) given with the Biryani it was easy to eat. However, it was rich in flavour and was just amazing.

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.28.59 PM.jpeg

Condiments include a small portion of Egg gravy, Chicken curry gravy and Raitha.

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.28.11 PM.jpeg

The famous Chicken Biryani of Junior Kuppanna. This is what I was craving to eat and it met my expectations. I called my friend asking for the best Biryani in town and it was certainly amongst the best! I've travelled to Chennai many times in the past 5 years and the city has never disappointed my taste buds!

Infact it's a paradise for food lovers if you know where to get your favourite grub!

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-13 at 2.25.35 PM.jpeg

The final item was the Chicken Chukka which had a name similar to an item we make here in Mangalore but we called it Chicken Sukka here. However, despite being slightly on the spicier side it was beautifully made. Another item that I missed photographing was the Vanjaram Fish Tawa Fry. It's basically a portion of Seer fish and it was spicy but delicious.

If you haven't realised it yet, food is served traditionally on Banana leaves in various parts of Southern India and therefore Junion Kuppanna prefers to honour this tradition. This is also part of our tradition in the state of Karnataka.

Overall an excellent meal at a good restaurant in town. They also have air conditioning and accept credit cards! If you are in Chennai this place is highly recommended.

Since it's close to the US embassy you will find people of other nationalities here as well as I witnessed during lunch time. There were a few Koreans and Japanese as well owing to the Indian HQ of some auto-manufacturing companies in this city!

It's been a while since I've done any travel and food related blogs but moving forward I will be doing more of these and share experiences from my travels.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. You Can Now Buy Your SteemFest³ Tickets!
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Steem.Chat Contest #43

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Today I am promoting the #Food tag on #Steemit to my twitter followers.

Shared on twitter promoting good quality content on #Steemit. Stephen

#Promo-Steem #steemtalent #JoinSteemit #Steemit

FireTravels #9—Ate like a local at Junior Kuppanna, Chennai. #steemtalent #JoinSteemit #Steemit @Steemit

#food #travel #india #blog #photographer #photography

https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/1040193117352288256

20180913_120134.jpg

That looks like some really delicious food. Very nice

The dishes really look delecious @firepower will definitely try these whenever i make a plan to visit Chennai.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh you must try this! :)

This food is very similar to our national food kebab and lavash denar there includes lavash meat any cucumbers tomato mayez ketchup to taste onion greens and you need to warm lavash and proceed either with a scole or with an acrylic very delicious. Kabab can look on the internet will come out the cooking and even looking at you will run salivating.

That chicken chettinad seems to be staring at me :)

I upvoted your post.

Thank you.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Wao very tasty foods,I like indians food,Very wonderful hotel,Affordable prices of dishes,Chicken biryani is so tasty,All foods looks so yummy,I want to eat this delicious food,Wonderful recipes of indian,thanks for sharing this great post,

Thanks for taking the time to read it. :)

தமிழர் பாரம்பரிய உணவகம் 💓!

Posted using Partiko Android

Unfortunately I don't understand Tamil...

Sorry, I said it's a Tamilar traditional hotel 💓. One of the best in the south.

Posted using Partiko Android

😀biriani is not Tamil food. these guys made Tamil biriyani. fantastically altered tastes to meet the Indian tongue. I dont know what else other food the serving as traditional.

Yea agree about the briyani hope you can get some other traditional food😁

Posted using Partiko Android

This photos making me hungry 😋 I love South Indian food

I love Asian food! The spices are so delicious! My in laws are from Indonesia and I'm spending a week with them eating all my body weight every day, lol.

Did they have any vegan food too?

They had some vegetarian options as well. Pure Vegan options might not be there as there will be some diary product such as Yogurt used in the condiment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16