A Witch in the Kitchen: "False Macaroni and Cheese || Vegan Recipe"

in #food5 years ago

Hello Dear Witches...!

When I'm home alone with my son I'm really lazy cooking something extra for myself, so I try to prepare something simple and quick for both of us, today was one of those days. My Mathias loves to eat pasta, I think all children are like that, correct me if I'm wrong, so I decided to make a fake macaroni and cheese, it occurred to me to make a vegan version and give color and flavor with the pumpkin that I stay with the pudding I prepared yesterday. The result "a delight".



The truth is that my son loves cheese as much or more than pasta, but I try to avoid putting too much in his meals, because the salt content of these is usually very high. Also continue trying to add vegetables and vegetables in your diet, which is quite difficult for me, because you barely feel the flavor in your mouth, spits it out. I must say that this pasta turned out to be a success, and I even shared it with my brothers and they never realized that these macaroni did not have cheese in them.



A simple recipe, that I get out of a great hurry, because I must confess that I had forgotten to prepare lunch for Mi Mathias, and in just 30 minutes I had it ready, I really loved it. Come with me and I will show you how to prepare it. Enjoy! .

Ingredients


  • 500 gr of Macaroni paste, cooked .
  • 1 Litre of soy milk.
  • 100 gr of cooked pumpkin.
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch flour.
  • 1 Tsp of salt.
  • 1 Pinch of ground nutmeg.
  • 1 Chopped sweet chili .
  • 1/2 Cup chopped chives.
  • 1/4 Cup minced garlic.
  • 2 tbsp sunflower oil


  • Preparation



    .
    • Difficulty level: Low
    • Preparation Time: 10 Minutes
    • Baking time: 15 Minutes
    • Total Time: 25 Minutes
    • Yield: 8 Servings


    • In a large, hot pot, add the oil along with the spring onion, garlic, porro and chili, sauté until the spring onion is crystallized. On the other hand, in a blender, add the soy milk (you can use other vegetable milk, or even cow's milk), cooked pumpkin, salt, nutmeg and cornstarch, and process.



      With the cream already liquefied, pour it into the wave and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until thickened. When we get the desired consistency, pour the macaroni in the sauce and stir, turn off the fire and ready, we have our macaroni and vegan cheese.



      Let's say it's a fake macaroni and cheese, but I can assure you that many will not even notice, the pumpkin gives flavor and color very similar to cheese, is a simple dish, but loaded with plenty of flavor and especially nutritious, my brothers do not like the taste of the pumpkin, I really love it, but this pasta they loved, and after they finished their plate I told them that I had prepared it and they could not believe it.










      Images of my property, taken with the camera of my iPhone 5s and edited with PowerPoint 2013



      .

      Thank you for taking the time to read this publication, if you have any questions, criticisms or suggestions, I would appreciate it in the comments box, and remember, you can also do magic in the kitchen!











      @SM-Spanish Community Discord )




      Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses



      Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses

      @Repollo Discord
      @Templo Discord
      @Steem-ua Discord
      @Steemmonsters Discord


      Sort:  

      Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

      Delicious tasty pasta treat yummy

      They are very good but with homemade pasta they are even better. And if they had tomato sauce with garlic and basil and a little olive oil.
      Thank you for sharing with us!

      The homemade pasta is really delicious, but when it comes to preparing something fast, the commercial version saves my life hahaha.

      This looks great! My wife and I eat without animal and animal byproducts, but she loves mac and cheese. I am going to share this with her for sure! @freedomtowrite

      Looks great. We've been cooking mac and cheese (the real stuff) in a pressure cooker. I wonder if the vegan version would work there. Its got to be healthier than what we cook.

      I would prepare it in a slow cooker, because the problem in this case is that we must constantly stir the cream so that it does not stick, and doing it in a pressure cooker implies a quick cooking, I think the result would not be the best! I should try and I'll tell you!

      I love using pumpkin! We use it for making chili since I cannot have tomatoes. There is something special about those squashes for sure. I will be giving this recipe a try today to see if it will satisfy the pasta craving we have been having lately. My husband is diabetic so we have had to give up the pastas. Thanks so much, it sounds amazing.
      Ren

      You can use red lentil paste and even rice noodles, it looks great!

      Vegan Mac and cheese... That's the holy grail! I'll give this one a try as I'm at a point in my life were I think dairy might be making me sick... But I haven't tested a vegan diet yet.

      It's very complicated 🤣

      Posted using Partiko Android

      I'm not vegan, well not at all, I still eat meats, but really dairy has become an enemy to my digestion, and this option is really great!!!

      Thank you for sharing this information

      Being Dutch AND Cheesehead so gonna try this

      You'll like it!

      Coin Marketplace

      STEEM 0.36
      TRX 0.12
      JST 0.039
      BTC 69965.85
      ETH 3540.49
      USDT 1.00
      SBD 4.71