A Witch in the Kitchen: "Papelon or Panela Cake // Where I Come From They Tell You CORTADOS"

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Witches...!

Venezuelan gastronomy, consists mostly of simple preparations and delicious flavors, sample of it is this delicious cake that I set out to prepare today, is ideal to accompany a rich cup of coffee, or a good glass of cold milk, its sweetness and spicy flavor, gives much character and presence to it, so it does not need stronger companions.



I had really wanted to eat this cake for weeks, however I didn't get the main ingredient, the papelón, panela or piloncillo, as it is also known elsewhere, it is this ingredient that gives it its characteristic flavor and color. And let me tell you that I managed to fulfill my desire to eat a piece of this delicacy accompanied by a good piece of llanero cheese jajaja.



Few ingredients and an extremely easy preparation make this one of my favorite recipes, but come with me and I'll show you how to make this delicious cake. Enjoy!

Ingredients







  • 800 g all-purpose wheat flour
  • 1 Panela of paper approx 450 gr
  • 1 Tbsp sodium bicarbonate
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 tsp of aniseed seeds
  • 1 tsp powdered cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. of cloves
  • 600 ml water



Preparation



  • Difficulty level: Low
  • Preparation Time: 15 Minutes
  • Baking time: 35 Minutes
  • Time Total: 50 Minutes
  • Yield: 24 Portions.

To begin, in a pot place the panela paper, which we have previously split into smaller pieces, add the aniseed, cinnamon and cloves, accompanied by 600 ml of water and bring to medium heat until the panela has melted, this will take about 10 minutes. With the melted paper, strain this liquid and let it cool.



Having cold the mixture of paper and spices, we proceed to add whole eggs and beat with the help of a balloon until well integrated, on the other hand, add the sodium bicarbonate to wheat flour and mix, then go adding to the mixture of paper spices and eggs with the help of a sieve, preferably add these dry ingredients in 2 or 3 batches, integrating well between one and the other to avoid lumps.



Once a homogeneous mixture is obtained, proceed to pour into a square mould, previously floured, and place in a preheated oven at 180 °C for about 35 minutes or until it comes out clean when a toothpick is inserted. With the cake still warm, unmold and proceed to cut.



After cutting we let cool and taste this delicious cake, with a good cup of coffee. I like to make it in square or rectangular molds, so that when they are cut like the ones I used to buy in the wineries when it was small, however they can make it in the mold of their preference, there are also those who after cutting them and even warm pass them through granulated sugar and take it to the oven for about 5 minutes, gives them a flavor and a delicious texture.



Personally I like to accompany it with a piece of llanero cheese, my father loves cola soda, my mother with coffee, my brothers eat it alone, and you've tried a cut, with what do you like to accompany it?

Images of my property, taken with the lens of my Ipad 2, and edited in PowerPoint 2013

Thank you for taking the time to read this publication, if you have any questions, criticisms or suggestions, I'd appreciate it if you'd leave it in the comment box, and remember, you can also do magic in the kitchen!





You can also find me in Our Friend's Discord Chat @Repollo
https://discordapp.com/invite/6r8ehUt



You want to find the best culinary content on the net, but don't go hungry, you must go to @Steemkitchen
https://discord.gg/DuUgyKx






Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fmbs25.timeets.com/2018/12/06/a-witch-in-the-kitchen-papelon-or-panela-cake-where-i-come-from-they-tell-you-cortados/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73