The Food I Ate in Krakow Will Make You Drool

in #food5 years ago (edited)

For me, the best thing about visiting a new place is getting to know its cuisine. Yes, the history is interesting, and the unfamiliar language is fun, but ... when's lunch time?! I took home a lot of memories from SteemFest, but some of the best were from the street food stands and little family-run restaurants of Krakow.

Polish Pizza

The craziest thing I ate was Zapiekanka, also referred to as "Polish Pizza". I liked it so much, I ate it twice! I initially made the mistake of referring to these as "Hot Dogs", due to their bread form, but they're more like sandwiches, with tons of toppings to choose from: meat, cheese, peppers, onions, sauces. Basically, if you can think of it, it's available as a topping. Zapiekanka is great after a night out of drinking, and the highest density of stands is at the New Square, inside a beautiful round building.

Pierogi

Another highlight was the Pierogi, which is probably the most famous Polish dish. These dumplings are traditionally filled with potato or duck, but there are many variations. They can even be eaten as a dessert, filled with strawberries or blueberries, and topped with cream. The best pierogi I had was with fellow Steemian @hallmann , shortly before I returned to Valencia... firm, cheese-filled delights, which I'm still dreaming about.

Goulash and Potato Pancakes

And then there was a dish I would never have been able to imagine: potato pancakes with goulash. We have potato pancakes in Germany, but these are usually sweet, topped with apple sauce. So the idea of topping them with goulash made my stomach turn. But then I tried them, and now I'm a believer.

Lagos Fried

Let's finish this culinary excursion to Krakow with something sweet. In the New Square, where all the Zapiekanka stands are, you'll also find one making Langos. This is similar to funnel cake, but here they throw the dough into hot oil and deep fry it. We ordered two: one covered with powdered sugar and the other with a layer of Nutella.

After returning home, I continued researching Polish food, and discovered so many other great dishes which I didn't have the chance to try. Just another reason to go back!

Sloppy Krakow Leftovers

Krakow Food

Footer_for91days

Travel Blog

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Sort:  

also @guchtere looks so excited for his hot dog haha

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=for91days
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-food-i-ate-in-krakow-will-make-you-drool


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

No doubt that the pierogi and langos were delicious! I find them in here at the Polish shops, but I can only imagine that in Poland they are even better! Did you try the sourkraut saussages?

Hi, @for91days!

You just got a 14.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Love your close-up photography @for91days... Wish I could pull off these type of shots.

Also, it's 9.30pm and I've eaten, but I'm now hungry again!

Great choices! Zapiekanki and pierogi are the best. Did you try pierogi with sour cabbage and mushrooms? These are my favourite. And langos is hungagrian though!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah we actually talked with the owners and @goodwithtravels actually knew langos are not from Poland. I had pierogi with mushrooms with @hallmann and they were the best! But I need to go back, there are so man dishes I didn't get to try.

For some reason I could just tell from the word langos that it didn't seem to fit with the Polish style of language What I can say is that they are delicious.. I actually went back on my own two days later! Embarrassing or what?

I do love Polish food generally though; hearty and delicious.

Dear @for91days,

Thank you for supporting our tag #archisteem. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Do drop by and take a look :)

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Zapiekanka is now officially one of my favorite street foods.
Too bad I couldn't try all varieties.

There were just too many kinds! Only got to try two for myself!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 11.66% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Hi @for91days!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.793 which ranks you at #1374 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79