Ketchup Recipe - Tasty & healthy recipe, great for kids

in #food6 years ago

I love trying new recipes, especially when I learn how to make something at home that we usually have to buy. Since I do my best to keep GMOs out of my family's mouths, we usually end up buying organic, glass bottled ketchup which is quite expensive, try 6.99$ a bottle (350 ml).

So today I finally made ketchup from scratch for the first time. I took a recipe I found in Jessica Seinfeld's (yes, HIS wife! lol!) recipe book and tweaked it a bit to my liking. Her book is called Deceptively Delicious because it's suppose to help you trick your kids into eating healthy foods. At our house, we tend to do this the hard way. We actually put real vegetables on our children's plates and talk about the health benefits of eating them, and with time, this works for us...most of the time. Although I do like being able to add healthier ingredients into common recipes to make meals more nourishing.

fullsizeoutput_7b8.jpeg

Anyway, I really liked that this recipe contains carrots and apple cider vinegar (loaded with gut healing probiotics).

fullsizeoutput_7bd.jpeg

Here is my adaptation of the recipe

fullsizeoutput_7be.jpeg

I recommend using only organic ingredients.

KETCHUP

In a double boiler, steam 3 large peeled and chopped carrots until soft when poked with a fork. If you don't have a double boiler, simply boil them. Save the carrot infused boiling water. Once soft, transfer to bowl or plate and mash them with a fork. This should give you about a 1/2 cup of carrot puree. If you have too much, you can freeze the excess and just add it in when you are making a cake for extra nutrients and a moist taste.

In a small saucepan, combine:

1/2 cup mashed carrots
1 can of tomato paste - 6 ounces (156 ml)
1/4 cup of the carrot infused water
2 tbs apple cider vinegar
3 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced
1 tbsp packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp ground allspice
1/8 tsp chili powder (more if you want a little bit more zing)

Bring to a boil, cover, reduce to low and simmer for about 15 minutes. The mixture should be pretty thick and consistent.

fullsizeoutput_7ba.jpeg

The ketchup will be ready but thick and may have bits of garlic or carrot like mine did. To give it a nicer, even texture, I used my submersible blender and blended it a few seconds until smooth.

fullsizeoutput_7bc.jpeg

Makes about a cup of ketchup.

fullsizeoutput_7bb.jpeg

My whole family tried a dab of it and approved. My son asked me if he could like the spatula.
Yum! The best part is that this recipe probably cost me less than a dollar to make since I refill my spice jars from the bulk bins at the grocery store, buy tomato paste by the case, and buy carrots in bulk to avoid waste.

This ketchup should keep for about 5 days in the refrigerator. Try packing into small mason jars and freeze up to 3 months. Do not overfill your jars or they might crack while freezing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74