just an American man 🇺🇸 🤷‍♂️ doing American things

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Things like watching the NFL and eating a garbage plate.

But watching football is more about nerding out to fantasy and to gamblinggg, and the plate is vegan.

So things aren't always what they seem, don't judge me 😠

If you don't know what a garbage plate is, that's pretty normal. But if you know, then you know they're legendary.


On Friday I started a mission to make my own plate! and of course to veganize it.

It started by secretly going to Hannaford's, and not blogging about it, to gather my ingredients.

Yesterday I made the mac salad and the "hot sauce", so that it would be a little easier today.

I learned that the garbage plate mac salad is meant to be deliberately simple. A base to absorb all the other flavors, rather than trying to be special or have all the flavors itself. So the recipe I followed was basically just mayo, salt, and some shredded carrot.

(Overnight it sucked up some of the mayo, and I needed to re-apply.)

Standard.

And no I don't have nice, tiled countertops. That's the floor.

Then the home fries.

I googled for a recipe, but I wasn't satisfied with the photo of it, so I decided I'm just gonna cut them up and fry them in oil. Worked.

For the burger, I used a Beyond Burger patty, split in half to form two smaller patties.

And then topped them with Field Roast chao cheese.

Lay them on the home fries and mac salad.

And then topped with the iconic "hot sauce".

And to make it completely authentic, covered with raw onions and mustard.

On the side (not pictured), you should have white bread or Italian bread with butter, and dunk it in the excess grease and drippings on your plate, as you eat thru it.


Tweaking this to be vegan was surprisingly simple, for what's thought of more for being not anything close to vegan.

Beyond Burger for the burgers, a vegan mayo in the mac salad, and Gardein beefless crumbles in the hot sauce. Simple.

The hot sauce is sort of the magic that ties it all together and makes it a plate, and making it was the part I was most curious about.

I followed a meat recipe and switched ground beef for the crumbles. (And I skipped the part about using the blender.) Worked great.

I think the flavors and spice mellowed out a bit by day 2, because I added more water when I re-heated. Obviously, don't do the "night before" thing, or season extra, or don't add so much water on day 2 is the lesson.

Was delicious either way. Had the iconic taste.

Sort:  

This looks absolutely authentic. I would say it looks delicious except I'm strange and don't like mac salad, but I'm going to try to replicate this without it. Glad you found a vegan hot sauce alternative, that seems like the real trick to this.

nice, are you gonna do beans? obv red hot would be easy too, just use whatever vegan hot dog. And ya, the hot sauce was the big thing!!

like I said I skipped the blender part of it, just cooked the crumbles in oil then did the seasoning and simmering part, and tried to break the pieces small in the pan.

today the leftover hot sauce was really good so I do feel like it can be good to make ahead of time, I dunno.

This post makes my mouth water. I love the different layers of scrumptiousness. If it was my meal, i'd add some crunch Claussen dill pickle spears on the side. Thanks for sharing this yummy dish.

yaaaa, I really like pickles with burgers and stuff .. a garbage plate purist probably would not add a pickle! definitely works. I just don't recall ever seeing them 🤔🤔

glad you enjoyed hehe

Hi @full-measure!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.411 which ranks you at #2184 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

We curated this post of yours in our last Algorithmic Curation Round, which included the curation of in total 201 contributions. Unfortunately, your post ranked last, at #201.

Evaluation of your UA score:

:* Some people are already following you, keep going!

  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Unfortunately, your post ranked last, at #201.

that's as bad as it gets!!!

I've pulled my delegation, lol

(obv I don't take it to heart or anything, but consistently being way on the bottom of the "Algorithmic Curation" is curious, and inspired me to do the math, and delegating to you doesn't seem worth it)

seems @mellofello was right

#MelloFelloWasRight

#beeyouwasright

😂😂😂 #HashtagGOAT

😂😂😂❤️❤️

I'm glad you pulled your delegation from Steam UA.

They started out great in the beginning, but their business model is wack now.

I love this. I'm just sitting here drinking a Imperial Stout but now I really want to grab somthing to eat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75